It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Extensive website that covers a variety of species and offers weekly podcasts, animal health videos and information about general pet care and health, emergency care, animal welfare and how to find a veterinarian.
Provides numerous services for small animals as well as horses including information about poison control and disaster preparedness, a virtual pet behaviorist and a database of toxic and non-toxic plants.
This website identifies diseases that can spread from Pets to People. Sections include kinds of pets that may transmit germs, diseases that can be spread from pets to people, and specific groups of people that may be more susceptible to disease transmission.
Divided into sections by species, this manual describes the normal anatomy and physiology of specific animals and also provides sections on selecting and providing a home for the animal, routine care and feeding, behavior, and diseases and disorders. Online illustrations and audio and video material are also included.
This website offers best practices for protecting pets from parasitic infections and reducing the transmission of parasites from pets to humans. A valuable feature is the interactive parasite prevalence map of the United States which enables you to discover the types of parasites in your state or county.
Provides health information from the veterinarians and experts of the Veterinary Information Network (VIN), which is the world’s first and largest online veterinary database and online community. Covers topics such as medications, nutrition, therapies, surgery, behavior and safety for a variety of species.
Interactive website designed specifically for dog and cat owners that covers general pet health information. It also includes a Pet Health Community discussion forum that is moderated by American Veterinary Medical Association veterinarians and questions are labeled when answered by an expert.
Offers a variety of articles and brochures that answer specific feline health topics as well as frequently asked questions on general subjects such as feeding, health hazards and medication. Videos that demonstrate how to groom, medicate, and care for your cat are also provided.
This comprehensive website offers information on feeding and nutrition, boarding and traveling with your dog, dental care, grooming and first aid. It also offers training and socialization resources as well as resources on breeding and registration.
Website devoted to snakes, lizards, turtles and tortoises and frogs and amphibians. Provides information written by reptile experts and veterinarians about keeping and breeding reptiles and amphibians, veterinary issues, the latest news in the herpetological world and stories from the field.
Written for owners and managers of any breed or discipline and overseen by a board of the American Association of Equine Veterinarians (AAEP), this website provides practical information on equine health, care, management, and welfare. Also includes videos, a horse health glossary and weekly podcasts.
Veterinarians and animal owners may search the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) site to find studies that might be relevant to their patient or pet, either for a particular condition or even to provide health data or a sample from a normal animal. Animal owners interested in participating in such studies are encouraged to discuss their eligibility for any relevant study with their veterinarian.