Philosophy Collection: Background Information

Premier encyclopedia of philosophy, with signed articles by prominent philosophers and regular updates.

Online peer reviewed encyclopedia similar in scope and concept to the Stanford Encyclopedia.

State of the art encyclopedia of philosophy from its initial publication in 1967 until online encyclopedias became available. Still important because of its focus on topics of interest in the mid-twentieth century such as logical positivism.

Enormous encyclopedia of a wide range of concepts, from human rights to perception, rational choice, genetics and justice. Great starting point for research in interdisciplinary topics bearing on Philosophy.

Premier and seminal encyclopedia of bioethics.

Collection of over a dozen thematic, wide-ranging encyclopedic works about topics from Ancient Philosophy to Philosophy in the 21st century. Articles by prominent philosophers in their areas of study. Extensive bibliographies.

Provides peer-reviewed summaries of current topical and significant research across the entire philosophy discipline, on a monthly basis. The journal covers a wide variety of topics, including epistemology, ethics, logic and language, metaphysics, the history of philosophy, the philosophy of science, religion, and legal and political philosophy.

A very good entry point to the research of a wide range of topics. Separate entries on major concepts such as "philosophy of language" list seminal works that usually dominate thought on the topic.