Guides: Psychology: Databases

Databases

Psychology Databases | Multidisciplinary Databases | Keeping Current on Recent Psychological Research | Locating Relevant Journals

Psychology Databases

APA PsycInfo
The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for professional and scholarly literature in the fields of psychological and behavioral sciences. *Please note, the search filter for 'anywhere' does not include a search of the full-text. It only includes a search of the item's descriptive details/ metadata fields.

APA PsycNet
A database designed specifically to deliver APA content. It includes options to search all the APA databases including: PsycBOOKS, PsycARTICLES, PsycTESTS, PsycCRITIQUES, and PsycTHERAPY

MEDLINE (complete file)
Premier database for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. Ovid Interface
PubMed
NLM's public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature.
PsychiatryOnline
PsychiatryOnline provides online access to the DSM-5®, The American Journal of Psychiatry, and other psychiatric references.
Online access to DSM-IV-TR, as well as American Psychiatric Publishing textbooks, journals, and the DSM archives. Includes:
DSM Library
- DSM-IV-TRB.
- DSM-IV-TRB. Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
- DSM-IV-TRB. Casebook and its Treatment Companion complete DSM archives (I-IV)
American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines
Textbooks:
- The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry
- What Your Patients Need to Know About Psychiatric Medications
- Essentials of Clinical Psychopharmacology
- Manual of Clinical Psychopharmacology
- Gabbard's Treatments of Psychiatric Disorders
- The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Substance Abuse Treatment
Journals (current content):
- American Journal of Psychiatry
- Psychiatric Services
- Academic Psychiatry
- Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences
- Psychosomatics
- Psychiatric News
CogNet
A "central repository for the most current and topical electronic resources" in cognitive science and its six core areas: philosophy of mind, computational intelligence, cognitive psychology, linguistics, neuroscience, and cognitive anthropology.
Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing Archive (PEP Web)
PEP Web provides access to the PEP Web archive, which contains both books and journal articles. The book archive includes the full text of the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud, Freud's letters to his major collaborators and the full text of the major works by Wilfred Bion, Melanie Klein and Donald Winnicott along with other major psychoanalytic authors. The journals in the archive presently include the full text many premier English-language journals in psychoanalysis.
Cochrane Library
Regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases.
EMBASE
Covers biomedical literature. Includes coverage of over 1,800 biomedical titles not offered by Medline/PubMed.
APA PsycExtra
The American Psychological Association's "extensive archive of gray literature documenting psychology's development. Features hundreds of thousands of records that are not indexed in any other APA database, with new information added on a bi-weekly basis. Coverage: 1889 - current." --resource intro
PTSDPubs (formerly PILOTS : Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress)
A bibliographic database produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. Provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder or PTSD and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. Covers stressors, affected persons, effects, assessment, treatment, scientific research, policy issues, and literary formats.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Web of Science
A multidisciplinary index to articles and proceedings from some of the top-ranked scholarly journals.
EBSCO MegaFILE
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.

Annual Reviews
Provides access to an extensive range of literature reviews with the ability to narrow by a specific subject area.

Scopus
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.

Keeping Current on Recent Psychological Research

There are thousands of journals related to various aspects of psychology. Here's a mix of "current awareness" magazines and journals to help you keep on top of recent psychological research.

Highlights in Psychological Research
"Curated content from APA Publishing, featuring scholarly works on current issues, summaries of research, interviews with authors and editors, and more." Includes services such as:
· Article Spotlight
· Particularly Exciting Experiments in Psychology
APS Observer
Association for Psychological Science. The APS's monthly bulletin, with articles on interesting research and professional matters. Some content restricted to APS members only.
Monitor on Psychology
American Psychological Association. Timely, lively, and informative articles on recent psychological research. THe APA's popular magazine.
Psychology Today
Psychology for the layperson. Fulltext via EBSCO Academic Search Premier, 1992-present.
Current Directions in Psychological Science
Association for Psychological Science. Reviews by leading experts covering all of scientific psychology and its applications. These articles are also written to be accessible to non-experts. (SAGE, 2001-present)
Psychological Science in the Public Interest
Association for Psychological Science. Reviews of issues that are of direct relevance to the general public, presenting "the most scientifically prudent reading of the total corpus of relevant data." Written as impartial white papers by teams of authors. (SAGE, 2000-present)
Perspectives on Psychological Science
Association for Psychological Science. Broad research reviews, overviews of research programs, meta-analyses and much more. (SAGE, 2006-present)
Psychological Bulletin
American Psychological Association. The high impact-factor APA journal, publishing evaluative and integrative research reviews. (PsycARTICLES, 1904-present)

Whither PsycCRITIQUES?

PsycCRITIQUES was a book review database published by the American Psychological Association (APA) until it ceased in 2017. It contained full-text book and film reviews from the APA journal Contemporary Psychology, which ran from 1956-2004 before transitioning into the online format with PsycCRITIQUES. New reviews continued to be published in the database regularly until 2017. There is no true replacement for PsycCRITIQUES, but those wishing to peruse its archives will find that the entirety of the database is freely available, courtesy of the University of Akron in partnership with APA.

Locating Relevant Journals

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
Journal Citation Reports provides journal comparison by accumulating and tabulating citation and article counts. It includes the JCR Science edition,and the JCR Social Sciences edition. Allows searching for Citation and Article Counts, Impact Factor, Immediacy Index, Cited Half-Life, Citing Half-Life, Source Data Listing, Citing Journal Listing, Cited Journal Listing, Subject Categories, Publisher Information and Journal Title Changes