Skip to main content

Veterinary Medicine - Alumni Resources: Copy Service

Pilot Project - Penn Vet Alumni Copy Service

To help Penn Vet alumni with their ongoing information needs, Penn's Veterinary library offers a fee-based copy service for any journal article within the Penn Veterinary or New Bolton Library collections.

Cost and delivery:   $4.00 per article for Web-Delivery.

  • Invoices are included with delivery of article.
  • Payment is due immediately upon receipt of the article. Currently, there is no "deposit account" option.
  • Payment is by check only, payable to the Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania.

Registration Required:

First register with the Veterinary Library. You will receive a Registration Number to be used when submitting requests.

Who may use this service:

  • Penn Vet Alumni
  • Penn Vet Residents who have left the University
  • Retired Penn Vet Faculty
     

Turn-around time:

Most articles are provided within two working days, with every effort made to supply the article within one week.  Customer comments

Submit article request:

Submit individual requests using our Article Request Form.

 

How to Know if Penn Vet has the Article:

  • Search Franklin (online catalog for Penn Libraries) by journal title to view our holdings.
  • Show links to Penn's holdings (PennText) from your database searches in PubMed and GoogleScholar. Detailed instructions below.

PubMed

Even if you no longer have access to PennText, you can still view Penn's subscriptions and holdings information directly from PubMed records. 

Quick fix:  when looking at a PubMed abstract, add ?otool=upennlib to the web address to show the PennText link, e.g.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23445288?otool=upennlib

Long term:  set up a MyNCBI account with Penn's Outside Tool designation on your personal computer.

  1. In the upper right corner of PubMed's main search page, click on Sign Into MyNCBI. (Register and sign in if you haven't already.)
  2. Click on MyNCBI, then NCBI Site Preferences.
  3. Under PubMed Preferences, click on Outside Tool.
  4. Browse through the list of institutions (or use your browser's Find function to search) and select University of Pennsylvania Library.
  5. Click the gray Save button at the top or bottom of the page.
  6. Sign out, then on the NCBI Sign In page, check the box next to Keep me signed in.  However you get to PubMed, you'll see the PennText links

The PennText icon should now appear in the abstract display of your PubMed search results.  Click the icon to find out where the full text is located in the University of Pennsylvania Libraries.  You may then use the Alumni Copy Service or alumni walk-in services to gain access to the full text.  You can also use MyNCBI to customize PubMed, save searches, save and share collections of citations, and manage your NIH bibliography.

A brief video tutorial is also available.

Google Scholar

You can set up Google Scholar to show library access links to Penn Libraries, and to download citations directly to Refworks or EndNote.

  1. From the main search page for Google Scholar (scholar.google.com), click on the cog icon in the upper right and select Scholar preferences.
  2. In the field marked Library Links, enter University of Pennsylvania and then click Find Library.
  3. A checkbox marked "University of Pennsylvania - Penn Text" will appear belwo the search field. select this box.
  4. In the area marked Bibliography Manager, select the button marked Show links to import citations into: and select your citation manager of the choice (e.g. RefWorks, EndNote) from the drop-down menu.
  5. Click the button marked Save Preferences.

Now when you perform a search in Google Scholar, the search results will display links to Penn's holdings, and to download the citations into your preferred citation management software.

Copy Service through Veterinary Association Membership

Texas A&M provides electronic delivery of articles and book chapters at no cost for members of AABP, AAEP,AAEVT, AASRP, AASV, ACVECC, and ACVIM.

First time users - click “MSL Affiliate Login” and then “First Time Users”.