Access to Information Resources - Veterinary Medicine - Alumni Resources

Options for obtaining articles

FULL TEXT FROM PENN ALUMNI DATABASES

While some full-text veterinary and medical articles are available in the Penn Alumni database subscriptions databases, these may have a one-year embargo for full-text access. The most veterinary content is found in the EBSCOhost alumni databases.

OPEN ACCESS ARTICLES

Simplify finding open access versions of articles by installing the Google Scholar Button or Unpaywall app. They search institutional repositories and author websites, as well as open access and hybrid journals.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN AND DATABASES THROUGH PUBLIC LIBRARIES

Public libraries often offer databases from vendors like EBSCO and Gale that cover some of the veterinary literature and offer very limited full text, usually embargoed several years.
They may also offer interlibrary loan options to obtain copies of articles.

Find your local public library

AUTHOR REQUESTS

If other options fail, you can try to request a copy of the article from the corresponding author. Databases will indicate which of the authors is designated as the corresponding author - they may be willing and legally entitled to send you a copy of the article.

COPY SERVICE THROUGH UC DAVIS

Subscribers to the Veterinary Information Network and others can order copies of articles in their journal database through an arrangement with UC Davis.

OTHER COMMERCIAL DOCUMENT DELIVERY SERVICES

Several companies will obtain articles for a fee.

Open Access Databases

These information resources are available without a subscription.

Agricola
Agricola is a database of agricultural literature maintained by the USDA National Agriculture Library. The database provides free access to citations indexed in the NAL catalog. Covers agriculture, agronomy, animal science, breeding, dairy science, farm management, food and nutrition, and zoology.
Best BETS for Vets
Simple reviews of current best evidence to answer specific clinical questions
more...less...
A BET is a simple review of the current best evidence available to answer very common and specific clinical questions from the University of Nottingham Centre for Evidence Based Veterinary Medicine
Consultant
Consultant is freely available from Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine and it is designed to provide assistance to trained veterinarians similar to that provided by a textbook or diagnostic test. It is a diagnostic support system that suggests possible diagnosis or causes for clinical signs and symptoms and provides a synopsis of the diagnosis/cause and recent literature references.
Evidence summaries from USP Drug Info Monographs
Evidence tables from USP Drug Information Veterinary Drug Monographs, searchable by drug/species/indication, from Kansas State.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Publications
FAO is a branch of the United Nations charged with overseeing agricultural matters. FAO's mandate is to raise levels of nutrition, improve agricultural productivity, better the lives of rural populations and contribute to the growth of the world economy.
Google Scholar
HABRI Central
Database on human-animal interaction
more...less...
A joint effort of Purdue University's College of Veterinary Medicine and University Libraries, HABRI Central provides a database of references, a full-text repository, community-driven discussion areas, blogs, and user groups for experts, professionals, and others involved in the study of human-animal interaction.
IVIS - International Veterinary Information Service
IVIS requires free registration and includes access to proceedings, a drug database, calendar, newsletters, Veterinary Focus (formerly Waltham Focus), online courses, and full-text books. It also provides quick links to recent article citations with abstracts in PubMed through pre-defined searches for a specific journal and a specific animal type.
PubMed - Central
NIH/NLM-affiliated free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
PubMed
Primary database for biomedical sciences.
VetSRev
A database of citations for systematic reviews produced by the Centre for Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine (CEVM) at the University of Nottingham.

Information Resources Available Through a Subscription

Individual journals are available by subscription. Below are some other subscription-based resources of interest to veterinary practitioners.

RCVS Knowledge Library
The Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons offers fee-based e-access to many important journals. Access requires a subscription to the RCVS Library. Subscriptions are limited to veterinarians and veterinary technicians. Contact the RCVS Library for the most up-to-date fees and restrictions.
- Membership Terms & Conditions
- List of titles accessible with membership
VIN - Veterinary Information Network
Online forums, drug information, online texts, journal abstracts, conference proceedings, anatomy resources, client education resources. Free access for students and faculty, and residents and interns at academic institutions.
VetMed Resource
Version of CAB Abstracts limited to veterinary topics.
DeepDyve
Multi-publisher online read-only access to journal articles. Read articles online with no downloads and very limited printing for annual subscription: Free trial subscription available but unless canceled before the expiration date you'll be automatically billed. Content availability may be delayed for some months.
EBVMA Database access
Membership in the Evidence Based Veterinary Medicine Association (free for students, $50 for others) provides free access to VetLexicon and VetMed Resource

On-Campus Alumni Access to Penn Libraries Electronic Resources

On-Campus Access at Penn Libraries

To use computers in the Vet Library or other Penn Libraries, alumni must have (1) an Alumni PennCard and (2) a 'Credential' for logging in. The Credential must be requested at Van Pelt Library on the same day access is required. Credentials are given on request each day to the first 10 alumni and provide single-day access to the public computers and the library's collection of e-resources.

For more information about library resources for alumni at all Penn Libraries see our general Alumni Services page.

Resources Penn Libraries Subscribes to for Alumni

Adam Matthew Databases for Alumni
links to a list of Adam Matthew databases available to Penn alumni
EBSCOhost Academic Search Alumni Edition
This resource offers the latest scholarly, full-text information in many areas of academic study to meet virtually any researcher's needs. Designed for the academic-based research needs of the post-college professional, this database provides full text for thousands of peer-reviewed journals—as well as thousands of peer-reviewed indexed and abstracted journals (see title list).
EBSCOhost Business Source Alumni Edition
This resource offers access to a substantial number of business magazines and journals in nearly every area of business. Full-text sources range from general periodicals to trade publications and top management journals, including country economic reports, industry reports, company profiles and more. Searching this database will also expose citations for peer-reviewed indexed and abstracted journals for which no full text provided (see product description and title list). Please note that full text to the Harvard Business Review titles are not included in this product.
Gale databases
links to a list of Gale databases available to Penn Alumni
Hein Online: Law Journal Library Law Journal Library containing fulltext documents (PDF) from more 2,000 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date.
Hoover's
Company directory database from Dun & Bradstreet. Offers ability to view public and private company profiles and news, as well as build a list of companies that meet specified criteria.
JSTOR (ejournal content only) JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database.
Project Muse (ebooks and ejournals) Project Muse provides full text access to articles from over 300 scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, social sciences and sciences. Coverage begins in 1995 or more recently and in most cases continues to the present. Issues are available both as images and as text; searching is possible both within each title and across the whole database.
Proquest Alt-Press Watch Provides full text for U.S. alternative and independent newspapers, weeklies, magazines, and journals. Topics include the arts, media and popular culture, business and labor, literature and criticism, politics, government and public policy.
Proquest Ethnic NewsWatch Full text, comprehensive archival database providing access to more than 400,000 articles in nearly 200 ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines, and journals. Full text archive of Philadelphia Tribune, Jewish Exponent , and nearly 200 other ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines, and journals -- both English and Spanish.
Proquest GenderWatch GenderWatch, formerly titled Women 'R', contains 40,000 articles from more than 100 journals, magazines, newsletters, special reports, unpublished papers and conference proceedings devoted to gender and women's issues.
RefWorks RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files, online databases and other sources. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography.
more...less...
In order to participate in the Alumni programs, users are urged to switch "Type of User" to "Alumni" in their account settings This can be done by going to "Tools > Update User Information.
Sage Business Cases SAGE Business Cases is a digital collection of business cases providing users with access to more than 3,000 authoritative cases from over 100 countries. SAGE curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.
Sage Data (Data Planet) Sage Data provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are over 185+ billion data points available in charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables in the Data Planet repository. SageDate offers powerful capabilities to compare & contrast multiple data series, perform statistical calculations on the data, and customize output views. Note: In February 2021, Sage released a full redesign and integrated Sage stats and U.S. political stats into Data planet; the Sage stats and U.S. political stats platforms were retired on July 31, 2021.
Sage Journals E-journal collections in communication, criminology, politics and international relations, sociology, and management and organization studies published by Sage and participating learned and professional societies.
Sage Knowledge SAGE Knowledge is a social sciences digital library platform and home to SAGE eBooks and eReference content. The platform hosts than 5,000 titles and includes a wide range of content including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles. Videos are not included in our collection.
Sage Research Methods Online Sage Research Methods Online is a web resrouce and methods library containing over 900 ebooks to support research at all levels. it uses SAGE Publication’s 40-year legacy of methods publishing to guide users at all levels through every step of the social science research process. Cases and Videos are not included in our collection.
Statista Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

RefWorks

RefWorks Citation Manager Alumni Program
RefWorks is a web-based program that can store and manage your citation information. Your Penn Alumni status provides you with free access to RefWorks for as long as Penn Libraries subscribes to the service. In order to participate in the Alumni programs, users are urged to switch "Type of User" from "Student" to "Alumni" in their account settings This can be done by going to "Tools > Update User Information.

Subject Guide

Rae Thudium

Veterinary Medicine - Alumni Resources: Access to Information Resources

Information Resources Post-Graduation