This guide contains the list of books and journals recommended as study materials for the American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care (ACVECC) examination.
Residents are responsible for ensuring they are using the correct edition of a book for their exam.
Please ask your librarian, mentor, or specialty board examination comittee if questions arise.
From the ACVECC Knowledge List 2021:
"The following list of references contain the material that residents/ fellows are expected to learn with retention and comprehension during their training. To facilitate this, a recent edition of appropriate resources from each section must be provided on site at each Residency Training Facility. Computer access to the common veterinary and human medical databases must also be available on site at each Residency Training Facility.
Large Animal Candidates sitting the examination in September 2021 are responsible for journal articles from the calendar year 2016-2020, and book titles published during or before 2020, and the Large Animal Additional article list.
Small Animal Candidates sitting the examination in September 2021 are responsible for journal articles from calendar years 2018-2020, and book titles published during or before 2020, and the Small Animal Additional article list.
Both Large Animal (LA) and Small Animal (SA) candidates sitting the General MCQ examination in September 2021 are responsible for journal articles from calendar years 2018-2020, and the journal articles that appear in both the Small Animal and Large Animal additional article lists.
Source: ACVECC Recommended Reading Lists, American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care
This resource updated: 2/3/2022
Source reading list updated by specialty board: 2021
"Articles germane to the field of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care for the appropriate species should be reviewed from the following journals. Relevant articles from the required journal list are considered testable material for the ACVECC board examination. The supplemental article list provides candidates with a list of other publications in which useful articles may be published. Articles from the supplemental article list are not considered required knowledge for the board examination unless specifically listed separately on the Additional Article List."
* *Note: Frontiers in Veterinary Science will be added to the required journal list for candidates taking taking the board examination in 2022 and onward.
*Note: Frontiers in Veterinary Science will be moved to the required journal list for candidates taking taking the board examination in 2022 and onward.
Please note that expected knowledge is duplicated in many of these references: it is not necessary or expected that residents will be familiar with every text listed. However, several suitable texts are listed to ensure that residents have access to all pertinent information. For each knowledge category in the Required Reading List, at least one edition of a textbook that covers the appropriate species of interest and is published within the last 10 years should be available for study and reference.
(LA – Large animal, SA – Small animal, LA/SA – All species, Human – Human beings). Titles with asterisks have been newly added to the list.
Anesthesia | Cardiovascular | Clinical Pathology | Emergency/Critical Care | Fluid Therapy, Acid-Base, Electrolyte | Hematology and Transfusion Medicine | Imaging | Infectious Disease | Internal Medicine | Mechanical Ventilation | Medical Physiology | Neurology | Nutrition | Oncology | Ophthalmology | Pediatrics | Pharmacology | Surgery | Toxicology
Equine Anesthesia: Monitoring and Emergency Therapy (print) by 
Handbook of Veterinary Anesthesia by 
Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia (print) by 
Veterinary Anesthetic and Monitoring Equipment by 
Cardiovascular Disease in Small Animal Medicine by 
Cardiology of the Horse by 
Manual of Canine and Feline Cardiology (print) by 
Duncan and Prasse's Veterinary Laboratory Medicine: Clinical Pathology (print) by 
Fundamentals of Veterinary Clinical Pathology (print) by 
Small Animal Clinical Diagnosis by Laboratory Methods (print) by 
Marino's the ICU Book (print) by 
Critical Care Medicine by 
Textbook of Critical Care by 
The Equine Hospital Manual by 
Equine Emergency and Critical Care Medicine (print) by 
Equine Emergencies: Treatment and Procedures (print) by 
Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care (ebook) by 
Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care Procedures by 
Manual of Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care Medicine by 
Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care Manual by 
Small Animal Critical Care Medicine (print) by 
Fluid, Electrolyte, and Acid-Base Physiology: A Problem-Based Approach (print) by 
Clinical Physiology of Acid-Base and Electrolyte Disorders by 
Fluid, Electrolyte, and Acid-Base Disorders in Small Animal Practice (print) by 
Equine Fluid Therapy by 
Manual of Veterinary Transfusion Medicine and Blood Banking by 
Textbook of Veterinary Diagnostic Radiology (print) by 
Focused Ultrasound Techniques for the Small Animal Practitioner (print) by 
Equine Infectious Diseases (print) by 
Infectious Diseases of the Horse: Diagnosis, Pathology, Management, and Public Health by 
Canine and Feline Infectious Diseases by 
Infectious Diseases of the Dog and Cat by 
Equine Internal Medicine by 
Large Animal Internal Medicine by 
Textbook of Veterinary Internal Medicine by 
Clinical Canine and Feline Respiratory Medicine by 
Textbook of Respiratory Disease in Dogs and Cats by 
Canine and Feline Gastroenterology by 
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Endocrinology by 
Robinson's Current Therapy in Equine Medicine (print) by 
Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation by 
Mechanical Ventilation by 
Principles and Practice of Mechanical Ventilation (print) by 
Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology (print) by 
Medical Physiology: A cellular and molecular approach by 
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology (print) by 
Berne and Levy Physiology (print) by 
Cunningham's Textbook of Veterinary Physiology by 
de Lahunta's veterinary neuroanatomy and clinical neurology (print) by 
Handbook of Veterinary Neurology by 
Practical Guide to Canine and Feline Neurology (print) by 
Small Animal Neurological Emergencies by 
Nutritional Management of Hospitalized Small Animals by 
Withrow and MacEwen's Small Animal Clinical Oncology (print) by 
Essentials of Veterinary Ophthalmology by 
Slatter's Fundamentals of Veterinary Ophthalmology by 
Equine Ophthalmology by 
Small Animal Pediatrics: The First 12 Months of Life (print) by 
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Reproduction and Neonatology by 
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Neurology by 
Canine Reproduction and Neonatology: A Practical Guide for Veterinarians, Veterinary Staff, and Breeders by 
Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics by 
Small Animal Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics by 
Small Animal Clinical Pharmacology (print) by 
Equine Surgery (print) by 
Small Animal Surgery (print) by 
Small Animal Surgical Emergencies by 
Veterinary Surgery: Small Animal by 
Veterinary Toxicology: Basic and Clinical Principles (print) by 
Clinical Veterinary Toxicology (print) by 
Small Animal Toxicology by LA = Large animal, SA = Small animal, LA/SA = All species, Human = Human beings
Anesthesia | Cardiovascular | Coagulation | Emergency/Critical Care | Fluid Therapy, Acid-Base, Electrolyte | Imaging | Infectious Disease | Internal Medicine | Mechanical Ventilation | Medical Physiology | Neurology | Pharmacology | Surgery
Handbook of Veterinary Pain Management (print) by 
Small Animal Anesthesia Techniques (print) by 
Small Animal Regional Anesthesia and Analgesia (print) by 
Veterinary Anaesthesia: Principles to Practice (print) by 
Canine and Feline Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease (print) by 
Cardiovascular Physiology, Ninth Edition (online) by 
Feline Cardiology by 
Small Animal ECGs: An Introductory Guide (print) by 
ECG Interpretation in the Critically Ill Dog and Cat by 
Hemostasis and Thrombosis: Basic Principles and Clinical Practice (print) by Small Animal Critical Care Medicine (print) by 
Critical Care by 
Handbook of Canine and Feline Emergency Protocols (print) by 
Plumer's Principles and Practice of Infusion Therapy (online) by 
Atlas of Small Animal Ultrasonography (print) by 
Antimicrobial Therapy in Veterinary Medicine (online) by 
Renal Physiology (print) by 
Renal Pathophysiology (print) by 
Brenner and Rector's the Kidney (online) by 
Kirk's Current Veterinary Therapy XIV (online) by 
Kirk's Current Veterinary Therapy XV (online) by 
Saunders Solutions in Veterinary Practice: Small Animal Gastroenterology by 
Small Animal Gastroenterology (print) by BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Endocrinology (print) by 
Management of the Mechanically Ventilated Patient by 
Rapid Interpretation of Ventilator Waveforms by 
Nunn and Lumb's Applied Respiratory Physiology (online) by 
West's Pulmonary Pathophysiology: The Essentials (online) by 
West's Respiratory Physiology (print) by 
Review of Veterinary Physiology by 
De Lahunta's Veterinary Neuroanatomy and Clinical Neurology (print) by 
Fundamentals of Veterinary Clinical Neurology by 
Opie's Cardiovascular Drugs: a Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease (online) by 
Equine Clinical Pharmacology (print) by 
Textbook of Small Animal Surgery by 
Complications in Small Animal Surgery (print) by "This list contains articles 3-10 years old from core journals and articles within the last 12 years from non-core journals and is designed to bridge a perceived gap in the recommended reading between recent journal articles, non-core journals and textbooks. It contains articles the committee deems likely to inform and impact the practice of veterinary ECC. We aim to keep this list to <100 articles and will review and update it annually."
See list of all Small Animal articles that are indexed in PubMed (without Penn Text links) for download or browsing. Use LibKey Nomad to obtain PDFs.
Acid-Base/Fluid/Electrolytes | Cardiovascular | Coagulation/Transfusion Medicine |Endocrine | Environmental/Toxic | Gastrointestinal/Exocrine Pancreas | Hepatobiliary | Immunology/Hemolymphatic | Integument | Neurology/Special Senses |Nutrition |Renal/Urinary | Reproductive | Respiratory | Sepsis/SIRS/MODS | Shock/Ischemia/CPR|Trauma |
1. Sen A, Keener CM, Sileanu FE, et al. Chloride Content of Fluids Used for Large-Volume Resuscitation Is Associated With Reduced Survival. Crit Care Med. Feb 2017;45(2):e146-e153. PubMed PDF
2. Valverde A, Hatcher ME, Staempfli HR. Effects of fluid therapy on total protein and its influence on calculated unmeasured anions in the anesthetized dog. Journal of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care. Oct 2008;18(5):480-487. PDF
3. Semler MW, Self WH, Wanderer JP, et al. Balanced crystalloids versus saline in critically ill adults. New England Journal of Medicine. 2018;378(9):829-839. PubMed PDF
4. Jaber S, Paugam C, Futier E, et al. Sodium bicarbonate therapy for patients with severe metabolic acidaemia in the intensive care unit (BICAR-ICU): a multicentre, open-label, randomised controlled, phase 3 trial. Lancet. Jul 7 2018;392(10141):31-40. PubMed PDF
5. Sano H, Seo J, Wightman P, et al. Evaluation of pulse pressure variation and pleth variability index to predict fluid responsiveness in mechanically ventilated isoflurane-anesthetized dogs. J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). Jul 2018;28(4):301-309. PubMed PDF
6. Tag TL, Day TK. Electrocardiographic assessment of hyperkalemia in dogs and cats. Journal of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care. Feb 2008;18(1):61-67. PDF
7. Langhorn R, Willesen JL. Cardiac Troponins in Dogs and Cats. J Vet Intern Med. Jan-Feb 2016;30(1):36-50. PubMed PDF
8. Winter RL, Budke CM. Multicenter evaluation of signalment and comorbid conditions associated with aortic thrombotic disease in dogs. J Am Vet Med Assoc. Aug 15 2017;251(4):438-442. PubMed PDF
9. Boswood A, Gordon SG, Haggstrom J, et al. Longitudinal Analysis of Quality of Life, Clinical, Radiographic, Echocardiographic, and Laboratory Variables in Dogs with Preclinical Myxomatous Mitral Valve Disease Receiving Pimobendan or Placebo: The EPIC Study. J Vet Intern Med. Jan 2018;32(1):72-85. PubMed PDF
10. Cooper DJ, McQuilten ZK, Nichol A, et al. Age of Red Cells for Transfusion and Outcomes in Critically Ill Adults. N Engl J Med. Nov 9 2017;377(19):1858-1867. PubMed PDF
11. Consensus on the Rational Use of Antithrombotics in Veterinary Critical Care (CURATIVE). J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). Jan 2019;29(1) PubMed (without Penn Text links) PDF
12. Goggs R, Mastrocco A, Brooks MB. Retrospective evaluation of 4 methods for outcome prediction in overt disseminated intravascular coagulation in dogs (2009-2014): 804 cases. J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). Nov 2018;28(6):541-550. PubMed PDF
13. Ueda Y, Li RHL, Nguyen N, et al. A genetic polymorphism in P2RY1 impacts response to clopidogrel in cats with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. Sci Rep. Jun 15 2021;11(1):12522. PubMed PDF
14. Holst LB, Haase N, Wetterslev J, et al. Lower versus higher hemoglobin threshold for transfusion in septic shock. N Engl J Med. Oct 9 2014;371(15):1381-91. PubMed PDF
15. Creedon JM. Controversies surrounding critical illness-related corticosteroid insufficiency in animals. J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). Jan-Feb 2015;25(1):107-12. PubMed PDF
16. Bruchim Y, Horowitz M, Aroch I. Pathophysiology of heatstroke in dogs - revisited. Temperature (Austin). 2017/10/02 2017;4(4):356-370. PubMed PDF
17. Marks SL, Rankin SC, Byrne BA, Weese JS. Enteropathogenic bacteria in dogs and cats: diagnosis, epidemiology, treatment, and control. J Vet Intern Med. Nov-Dec 2011;25(6):1195-208. PubMed PDF
18. Lidbury JA, Cook AK, Steiner JM. Hepatic encephalopathy in dogs and cats. J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). Jul 2016;26(4):471-87. PubMed PDF
19. IMHA Diagnosis and Treatment Consensus Statements J Vet Intern Med. Mar 2019;33
Garden OA, Kidd L, Mexas AM, et al. ACVIM consensus statement on the diagnosis of immune-mediated hemolytic anemia in dogs and cats. J Vet Intern Med. Mar 2019;33(2):313-334. PubMed PDF
Swann JW, Garden OA, Fellman CL, et al. ACVIM consensus statement on the treatment of immune-mediated hemolytic anemia in dogs. J Vet Intern Med. May 2019;33(3):1141-1172. PubMed PDF
20. O'Marra SK, Delaforcade AM, Shaw SP. Treatment and predictors of outcome in dogs with immune-mediated thrombocytopenia. J Am Vet Med Assoc. Feb 1 2011;238(3):346-52. PubMed PDF
21. Hillier A, Lloyd DH, Weese JS, et al. Guidelines for the diagnosis and antimicrobial therapy of canine superficial bacterial folliculitis (Antimicrobial Guidelines Working Group of the International Society for Companion Animal Infectious Diseases). Vet Dermatol. Jun 2014;25(3):163-e43. PubMed PDF
22. Brauer C, Jambroszyk M, Tipold A. Metabolic and toxic causes of canine seizure disorders: A retrospective study of 96 cases. Vet J. Feb 2011;187(2):272-5. PubMed PDF
23. Charalambous M, Bhatti SFM, Van Ham L, et al. Intranasal Midazolam versus Rectal Diazepam for the Management of Canine Status Epilepticus: A Multicenter Randomized Parallel-Group Clinical Trial. J Vet Intern Med. Jul 2017;31(4):1149-1158. PubMed PDF
24. Podell M, Volk HA, Berendt M, et al. 2015 ACVIM Small Animal Consensus Statement on Seizure Management in Dogs. J Vet Intern Med. Mar-Apr 2016;30(2):477-90. PubMed PDF
25. Harvey SE, Parrott F, Harrison DA, et al. Trial of the route of early nutritional support in critically ill adults. N Engl J Med. Oct 30 2014;371(18):1673-84. PubMed PDF
26. Brown N, Segev G, Francey T, Kass P, Cowgill LD. Glomerular filtration rate, urine production, and fractional clearance of electrolytes in acute kidney injury in dogs and their association with survival. J Vet Intern Med. Jan 2015;29(1):28-34. PubMed PDF
27. Cooper ES. Controversies in the management of feline urethral obstruction. J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). Jan-Feb 2015;25(1):130-7. PubMed PDF
28. Harison E, Langston C, Palma D, Lamb K. Acute azotemia as a predictor of mortality in dogs and cats. J Vet Intern Med. Sep-Oct 2012;26(5):1093-8. PubMed PDF
29. Keir I, Kellum JA. Acute kidney injury in severe sepsis: pathophysiology, diagnosis, and treatment recommendations. J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). Mar-Apr 2015;25(2):200-9. PubMed PDF
30. Sigrist NE, Kalin N, Dreyfus A. Effects of Hydroxyethyl Starch 130/0.4 on Serum Creatinine Concentration and Development of Acute Kidney Injury in Nonazotemic Cats. J Vet Intern Med. Nov 2017;31(6):1749-1756. PubMed PDF
31. Sykes JE, Hartmann K, Lunn KF, Moore GE, Stoddard RA, Goldstein RE. 2010 ACVIM small animal consensus statement on leptospirosis: diagnosis, epidemiology, treatment, and prevention. J Vet Intern Med. Jan-Feb 2011;25(1):1-13. PubMed PDF
32. Weese JS, Blondeau JM, Boothe D, et al. Antimicrobial use guidelines for treatment of urinary tract disease in dogs and cats: antimicrobial guidelines working group of the international society for companion animal infectious diseases. Vet Med Int. 2011;2011:263768. PubMed PDF
33. Whittemore JC, Marcum BA, Mawby DI, Coleman MV, Hacket TB, Lappin MR. Associations among albuminuria, C-reactive protein concentrations, survival predictor index scores, and survival in 78 critically ill dogs. J Vet Intern Med. Jul-Aug 2011;25(4):818-24. PubMed PDF
34. Pretzer SD. Medical management of canine and feline dystocia. Theriogenology. Aug 2008;70(3):332-6. PubMed PDF
35. Traas AM. Resuscitation of canine and feline neonates. Theriogenology. Aug 2008;70(3):343-8. PubMed PDF
36. Traas AM. Surgical management of canine and feline dystocia. Theriogenology. Aug 2008;70(3):337-42. PubMed PDF
37. Veronesi MC, Panzani S, Faustini M, Rota A. An Apgar scoring system for routine assessment of newborn puppy viability and short-term survival prognosis. Theriogenology. Aug 2009;72(3):401-7. PubMed PDF
38. Hung GC, Gaunt MC, Rubin JE, Starrak GS, Sakals SA. Quantification and characterization of pleural fluid in healthy dogs with thoracostomy tubes. Am J Vet Res. Dec 2016;77(12):1387-1391. PubMed PDF
39. Pang D, Hethey J, Caulkett NA, Duke T. Partial pressure of end-tidal CO2sampled via an intranasal catheter as a substitute for partial pressure of arterial CO2in dogs. Journal of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care. 2007/06 2007;17(2):143-148. PubMed PDF
40. National Heart L, Blood Institute PCTN, Moss M, et al. Early Neuromuscular Blockade in the Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome. N Engl J Med. May 23 2019;380(21):1997-2008. PubMed PDF
41. Swinbourne F, Baines EA, Baines SJ, Halfacree ZJ. Computed tomographic findings in canine pyothorax and correlation with findings at exploratory thoracotomy. J Small Anim Pract. Apr 2011;52(4):203-8. PubMed PDF
42. Thompson BT, Chambers RC, Liu KD. Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome. N Engl J Med. Aug 10 2017;377(6):562-572. PubMed PDF
43. Aggarwal NR, Brower RG, Hager DN, et al. Oxygen Exposure Resulting in Arterial Oxygen Tensions Above the Protocol Goal Was Associated With Worse Clinical Outcomes in Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome. Crit Care Med. Apr 2018;46(4):517-524. PubMed PDF
44. De Monte V, Bufalari A, Grasso S, et al. Respiratory effects of low versus high tidal volume with or without positive end-expiratory pressure in anesthetized dogs with healthy lungs. Am J Vet Res. May 2018;79(5):496-504. PubMed PDF
45. Lappin MR, Blondeau J, Boothe D, et al. Antimicrobial use Guidelines for Treatment of Respiratory Tract Disease in Dogs and Cats: Antimicrobial Guidelines Working Group of the International Society for Companion Animal Infectious Diseases. J Vet Intern Med. Mar 2017;31(2):279-294. PubMed PDF
46. Baron EJ, Miller JM, Weinstein MP, et al. A guide to utilization of the microbiology laboratory for diagnosis of infectious diseases: 2013 recommendations by the Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA) and the American Society for Microbiology (ASM)(a). Clin Infect Dis. Aug 2013;57(4):e22-e121. PubMed PDF
47. Drewry AM, Ablordeppey EA, Murray ET, et al. Antipyretic Therapy in Critically Ill Septic Patients: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis. Crit Care Med. May 2017;45(5):806-813. PubMed PDF
48. Duffy AL, Butler AL, Radecki SV, Campbell VL. Comparison of continuous arterial pressure waveform analysis with the lithium dilution technique to monitor cardiac output in conscious dogs with systemic inflammatory response syndrome. Am J Vet Res. Nov 2009;70(11):1365-73. PubMed PDF
49. Henning DJ, Carey JR, Oedorf K, et al. The Absence of Fever Is Associated With Higher Mortality and Decreased Antibiotic and IV Fluid Administration in Emergency Department Patients With Suspected Septic Shock. Crit Care Med. Jun 2017;45(6):e575-e582. PubMed PDF
50. Koenig A, Verlander LL. Usefulness of whole blood, plasma, peritoneal fluid, and peritoneal fluid supernatant glucose concentrations obtained by a veterinary point-of-care glucometer to identify septic peritonitis in dogs with peritoneal effusion. J Am Vet Med Assoc. Nov 1 2015;247(9):1027-32. PubMed PDF
51. Levy MM, Evans LE, Rhodes A. The Surviving Sepsis Campaign Bundle: 2018 update. Intensive Care Med. Jun 2018;44(6):925-928. PubMed PDF
52. Khanna A, English SW, Wang XS, et al. Angiotensin II for the treatment of vasodilatory shock. New England Journal of Medicine. 2017;377(5):419-430. PubMed PDF
53. Klainbart S, Agi L, Bdolah-Abram T, Kelmer E, Aroch I. Clinical, laboratory, and hemostatic findings in cats with naturally occurring sepsis. J Am Vet Med Assoc. Nov 1 2017;251(9):1025-1034. PubMed PDF
54. Marik PE, Khangoora V, Rivera R, Hooper MH, Catravas J. Hydrocortisone, Vitamin C, and Thiamine for the Treatment of Severe Sepsis and Septic Shock: A Retrospective Before-After Study. Chest. Jun 2017;151(6):1229-1238. PubMed PDF
55. Oostdijk EA, de Smet AM, Kesecioglu J, Bonten MJ, Dutch SODSDDTG. The role of intestinal colonization with gram-negative bacteria as a source for intensive care unit-acquired bacteremia. Crit Care Med. May 2011;39(5):961-6. PubMed PDF
56. PRISM Investigators, Rowan KM, Angus DC, et al. Early, Goal-Directed Therapy for Septic Shock - A Patient-Level Meta-Analysis. N Engl J Med. Jun 8 2017;376(23):2223-2234. PubMed PDF
57. Rhodes A, Evans LE, Alhazzani W, et al. Surviving Sepsis Campaign: International Guidelines for Management of Sepsis and Septic Shock: 2016. Critical Care Medicine. 2017;45(3):486-552. PubMed PDF
58. Seymour CW, Gesten F, Prescott HC, et al. Time to Treatment and Mortality during Mandated Emergency Care for Sepsis. N Engl J Med. Jun 8 2017;376(23):2235-2244. PubMed PDF
59. Silverstein DC, Beer KA. Controversies regarding choice of vasopressor therapy for management of septic shock in animals. J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). Jan-Feb 2015;25(1):48-54. PubMed PDF
60. Singer M, Deutschman CS, Seymour CW, et al. The Third International Consensus Definitions for Sepsis and Septic Shock (Sepsis-3). JAMA. Feb 23 2016;315(8):801-10. PubMed PDF
61. Suetrong B, Walley KR. Lactic Acidosis in Sepsis: It's Not All Anaerobic: Implications for Diagnosis and Management. Chest. Jan 2016;149(1):252-61. PubMed PDF
62. Sunden-Cullberg J, Rylance R, Svefors J, Norrby-Teglund A, Bjork J, Inghammar M. Fever in the Emergency Department Predicts Survival of Patients With Severe Sepsis and Septic Shock Admitted to the ICU. Crit Care Med. Apr 2017;45(4):591-599. PubMed PDF
63. Weese JS, Giguere S, Guardabassi L, et al. ACVIM consensus statement on therapeutic antimicrobial use in animals and antimicrobial resistance. J Vet Intern Med. Mar-Apr 2015;29(2):487-98. PubMed PDF
64 Zahar JR, Timsit JF, Garrouste-Orgeas M, et al. Outcomes in severe sepsis and patients with septic shock: pathogen species and infection sites are not associated with mortality. Crit Care Med. Aug 2011;39(8):1886-95. PubMed PDF
65. Bucci M, Rabozzi R, Guglielmini C, Franci P. Respiratory variation in aortic blood peak velocity and caudal vena cava diameter can predict fluid responsiveness in anaesthetised and mechanically ventilated dogs. Vet J. Sep 2017;227:30-35. PubMed PDF
66. Cecconi M, De Backer D, Antonelli M, et al. Consensus on circulatory shock and hemodynamic monitoring. Task force of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine. Intensive Care Med. Dec 2014;40(12):1795-815. PubMed PDF
67. Cannon JW. Hemorrhagic Shock. N Engl J Med. Jan 25 2018;378(4):370-379. PubMed PDF
68. McMurray J, Boysen S, Chalhoub S. Focused assessment with sonography in nontraumatized dogs and cats in the emergency and critical care setting. J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). Jan-Feb 2016;26(1):64-73. PubMed PDF
69. Shih A, Giguere S, Vigani A, Shih R, Thuramalla N, Bandt C. Determination of cardiac output by ultrasound velocity dilution in normovolemia and hypovolemia in dogs. Vet Anaesth Analg. Jul 2011;38(4):279-85. PubMed PDF
70. Special Issue: Reassessment Campaign on Veterinary Resuscitation (RECOVER): Evidence and Knowledge Gap Analysis on Veterinary CPR. J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). Jun 2012;22 Suppl 1(s1):S4-131. PubMed [without PennText links] PDF
71. Rosenstein PG, Tennent-Brown BS, Hughes D. Clinical use of plasma lactate concentration. Part 1: Physiology, pathophysiology, and measurement. J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). Mar 2018;28(2):85-105. PubMed PDF
72. Rosenstein PG, Tennent-Brown BS, Hughes D. Clinical use of plasma lactate concentration. Part 2: Prognostic and diagnostic utility and the clinical management of hyperlactatemia. J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). Mar 2018;28(2):106-121. PubMed PDF
"This list contains articles 3-10 years old from core journals and articles within the last 12 years from non-core journals and is designed to bridge a perceived gap in the recommended reading between recent journal articles, non-core journals and textbooks. It contains article the committee deems likely to inform and impact the practice of veterinary ECC. We aim to keep this list to <100 articles and will review and update it annually."
See list of all Large Animal articles that are indexed in PubMed (without Penn Text links) for download or browsing. Use LibKey Nomad to obtain PDFs.
Acid-Base/Fluid/Electrolytes | Cardiovascular | Coagulation/Transfusion Medicine | Endocrine | Gastrointestinal/Exocrine Pancreas | Immunology/Hemolymphatic | Neonatalogy | Nutrition | Renal/Urinary | Respiratory | Sepsis/SIRS/MODS | Shock/Ischemia/CPCR| Trauma
1. Marik PE. Fluid Responsiveness and the Six Guiding Principles of Fluid Resuscitation. Crit Care Med. Oct 2016;44(10):1920-2. PubMed PDF
2. McKenzie EC, Esser MM, McNitt SE, Payton ME. Effect of infusion of equine plasma or 6% hydroxyethyl starch (600/0.75) solution on plasma colloid osmotic pressure in healthy horses. Am J Vet Res. Jul 2016;77(7):708-14. PubMed PDF
3. Semler MW, Self WH, Wanderer JP, et al. Balanced crystalloids versus saline in critically ill adults. New England Journal of Medicine. 2018;378(9):829-839. PubMed PDF
4. Sen A, Keener CM, Sileanu FE, et al. Chloride Content of Fluids Used for Large-Volume Resuscitation Is Associated With Reduced Survival. Crit Care Med. Feb 2017;45(2):e146-e153. PubMed PDF
5. Viu J, Armengou L, Rios J, Munoz A, Jose-Cunilleras E. Simplified strong ion difference approach to acid-base balance in healthy foals. J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). Jul 2016;26(4):549-58. PubMed PDF
6. Broux B, De Clercq D, Decloedt A, et al. Pharmacokinetics of intravenously and orally administered sotalol hydrochloride in horses and effects on surface electrocardiogram and left ventricular systolic function. Vet J. Feb 2016;208:60-4. PubMed PDF
7. Ellison DH, Felker GM. Diuretic Treatment in Heart Failure. N Engl J Med. Nov 16 2017;377(20):1964-1975. PubMed PDF
8. Navas de Solis C, Reef VB, Slack J, Jose-Cunilleras E. Evaluation of coagulation and fibrinolysis in horses with atrial fibrillation. J Am Vet Med Assoc. Jan 15 2016;248(2):201-6. PubMed PDF
9. Afonso T, Giguere S, Rapoport G, Barton MH, Coleman AE. Cardiovascular effects of pimobendan in healthy mature horses. Equine Vet J. May 2016;48(3):352-6. PubMed PDF
10. Cooper DJ, McQuilten ZK, Nichol A, et al. Age of Red Cells for Transfusion and Outcomes in Critically Ill Adults. N Engl J Med. Nov 9 2017;377(19):1858-1867. PubMed PDF
11. Holst LB, Haase N, Wetterslev J, et al. Lower versus higher hemoglobin threshold for transfusion in septic shock. N Engl J Med. Oct 9 2014;371(15):1381-91. PubMed PDF
12. Scruggs JL, Flatland B, McCormick KA, Reed A. Biological variation of thromboelastrography variables in 10 clinically healthy horses. J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). Jan-Feb 2016;26(1):80-4. PubMed PDF
13. Creedon JM. Controversies surrounding critical illness-related corticosteroid insufficiency in animals. J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). Jan-Feb 2015;25(1):107-12. PubMed PDF
14. Daniel AJ, Leise BS, Burgess BA, Morley PS, Cloninger M, Hassel DM. Concentrations of serum amyloid A and plasma fibrinogen in horses undergoing emergency abdominal surgery. J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). May 2016;26(3):344-51. PubMed PDF
15. Kilcoyne I, Dechant JE, Nieto JE. Comparison of clinical findings and short-term survival between horses with intestinal entrapment in the gastrosplenic ligament and horses with intestinal entrapment in the epiploic foramen. J Am Vet Med Assoc. Sep 15 2016;249(6):660-7. PubMed PDF
16. McConachie E, Giguere S, Barton MH. Scoring System for Multiple Organ Dysfunction in Adult Horses with Acute Surgical Gastrointestinal Disease. J Vet Intern Med. Jul 2016;30(4):1276-83. PubMed PDF
17. Morley PS, Anderson ME, Burgess BA, et al. Report of the third Havemeyer workshop on infection control in equine populations. Equine Vet J. Mar 2013;45(2):131-6. PubMed PDF
18. Pihl TH, Scheepers E, Sanz M, et al. Acute-phase proteins as diagnostic markers in horses with colic. J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). Sep 2016;26(5):664-74. PubMed PDF
19. Westerman TL, Foster CM, Tornquist SJ, Poulsen KP. Evaluation of serum amyloid A and haptoglobin concentrations as prognostic indicators for horses with colic. J Am Vet Med Assoc. Apr 15 2016;248(8):935-40. PubMed PDF
20. Lambert JL, Fernandez NJ, Roy MF. Association of Presence of Band Cells and Toxic Neutrophils with Systemic Inflammatory Response Syndrome and Outcome in Horses with Acute Disease. J Vet Intern Med. Jul 2016;30(4):1284-92. PubMed PDF
21. Sheahan BJ, Wilkins PA, Lascola KM, Martin V, Po E. The area under the curve of L-lactate in neonatal foals from birth to 14 days of age. J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). Mar-Apr 2016;26(2):305-9. PubMed PDF
22. Harvey SE, Parrott F, Harrison DA, et al. Trial of the route of early nutritional support in critically ill adults. N Engl J Med. Oct 30 2014;371(18):1673-84. PubMed PDF
23. Keir I, Kellum JA. Acute kidney injury in severe sepsis: pathophysiology, diagnosis, and treatment recommendations. J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). Mar-Apr 2015;25(2):200-9. PubMed PDF
24. Papazian L, Forel JM, Gacouin A, et al. Neuromuscular blockers in early acute respiratory distress syndrome. N Engl J Med. Sep 16 2010;363(12):1107-16. PubMed PDF
25. Thompson BT, Chambers RC, Liu KD. Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome. N Engl J Med. Aug 10 2017;377(6):562-572. PubMed PDF
26. ARISE Investigators , ANZICS Clinical Trials Group, Peake SL, et al. Goal-directed resuscitation for patients with early septic shock. N Engl J Med. Oct 16 2014;371(16):1496-506. PubMed PDF
27. Drewry AM, Ablordeppey EA, Murray ET, et al. Antipyretic Therapy in Critically Ill Septic Patients: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis. Crit Care Med. May 2017;45(5):806-813. PubMed PDF
28. Henning DJ, Carey JR, Oedorf K, et al. The Absence of Fever Is Associated With Higher Mortality and Decreased Antibiotic and IV Fluid Administration in Emergency Department Patients With Suspected Septic Shock. Crit Care Med. Jun 2017;45(6):e575-e582. PubMed PDF
29. Levy MM, Evans LE, Rhodes A. The Surviving Sepsis Campaign Bundle: 2018 update. Intensive Care Med. Jun 2018;44(6):925-928. PubMed PDF
30. Khanna A, English SW, Wang XS, et al. Angiotensin II for the treatment of vasodilatory shock. New England Journal of Medicine. 2017;377(5):419-430. PubMed PDF
31. Marik PE, Khangoora V, Rivera R, Hooper MH, Catravas J. Hydrocortisone, Vitamin C, and Thiamine for the Treatment of Severe Sepsis and Septic Shock: A Retrospective Before-After Study. Chest. Jun 2017;151(6):1229-1238. PubMed PDF
32. Rhodes A, Evans LE, Alhazzani W, et al. Surviving Sepsis Campaign: International Guidelines for Management of Sepsis and Septic Shock: 2016. Critical Care Medicine. 2017;45(3):486-552. PubMed PDF
33. Seymour CW, Gesten F, Prescott HC, et al. Time to Treatment and Mortality during Mandated Emergency Care for Sepsis. N Engl J Med. Jun 8 2017;376(23):2235-2244. PubMed PDF
34. Silverstein DC, Beer KA. Controversies regarding choice of vasopressor therapy for management of septic shock in animals. J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). Jan-Feb 2015;25(1):48-54. PubMed PDF
35. Singer M, Deutschman CS, Seymour CW, et al. The Third International Consensus Definitions for Sepsis and Septic Shock (Sepsis-3). JAMA. Feb 23 2016;315(8):801-10. PubMed PDF
36. Suetrong B, Walley KR. Lactic Acidosis in Sepsis: It's Not All Anaerobic: Implications for Diagnosis and Management. Chest. Jan 2016;149(1):252-61. PubMed PDF
37. Sunden-Cullberg J, Rylance R, Svefors J, Norrby-Teglund A, Bjork J, Inghammar M. Fever in the Emergency Department Predicts Survival of Patients With Severe Sepsis and Septic Shock Admitted to the ICU. Crit Care Med. Apr 2017;45(4):591-599. PubMed PDF
38. Whiles BB, Deis AS, Simpson SQ. Increased Time to Initial Antimicrobial Administration Is Associated With Progression to Septic Shock in Severe Sepsis Patients. Crit Care Med. Apr 2017;45(4):623-629. PubMed PDF
39 Zahar JR, Timsit JF, Garrouste-Orgeas M, et al. Outcomes in severe sepsis and patients with septic shock: pathogen species and infection sites are not associated with mortality. Crit Care Med. Aug 2011;39(8):1886-95. PubMed PDF
40. Cecconi M, De Backer D, Antonelli M, et al. Consensus on circulatory shock and hemodynamic monitoring. Task force of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine. Intensive Care Med. Dec 2014;40(12):1795-815. PubMed PDF
41. Special Issue: Reassessment Campaign on Veterinary Resuscitation (RECOVER): Evidence and Knowledge Gap Analysis on Veterinary CPR. J Vet Emerg Crit Care (San Antonio). Jun 2012;22 Suppl 1(s1):S4-131. PubMed [without PennText links] PDF
