It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Includes over 7,000 albums from the a variety of labels, including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from the Middle Ages to the present, including many contemporary composers.
Music from America's past. Includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
American Song is an eclectic collection of music from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life, from America's past and present. The songs are by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. They touch topics as varied as Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. And the range of genres includes country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others.
Labels include Rounder Records, Appleseed Recordings, Stax, Specialty Records, Testament Records, McNeil Music, Native Ground Music, Rebel Records, County Records, Smithsonian Folkways, Document Records, and more.
As of June, 2009, all the music from the former African American Music collection (no longer offered) is now here in American Song. The music of all Americans, including African Americans, is now consolidated in the expanded American Song.
Includes the catalog of the nonprofit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label as well as the archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, and Paredon labels, among others.
Feature film, documentaries, news footage, newsreels, and a range of primary source content. Includes film from the Criterion Collection, PBS, BBC, and Academy, Emmy, Peabody award winners. Subject areas include anthropology, business, health, and history.
This is a collection from indie film distributors—Milestone, Zeitgeist, Pragda, and Oscilloscope. These films support disciplines such as cultural history, psychology, gender studies, anthropology, African-American studies, and more.
Streaming video of full length documentary and educational films. Some films include Study Guides with many of the titles and filmmaker bios and interviews. Browse by geography and cultural group or highlight sections of a map to find result sets. Searchable transcripts scroll with the films. From Alexander Street Press.
The Electronic Arts Intermix collection spans the mid-1960s to the present and includes works by pioneering figures such as Nam June Paik, Bruce Nauman, Martha Rosler and Joan Jonas, as well as new digital works by emerging artists, including Seth Price, Paper Rad, Cory Arcangel and Takeshi Murata. The Educational Streaming Site offers access to selected titles from the full collection.
"With its first appearance on American motion picture screens in February 1935, The March of Time startled journalists, filmmakers, and audiences alike with its controversial topics and unique approach to newsreels. The issues, as the newsreels were called, were a blend of confrontational journalism and docudrama, often using actors to stage events that had not been photographed on newsreel cameras. The series began with brief segments in the 1930s and eventually grew in length and scope to television programs of in-depth coverage of a single topic. Though extremely popular worldwide, the series eventually ceded viewers to the popularity of television programming, ending movie theatre presentations in 1951 and airing its last television segment in 1967."
Established in 1994 to collect and preserve the testimonies of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust, the USC Shoah Foundation Institute maintains one of the largest video digital libraries in the world: nearly 52,000 video testimonies in 32 languages and from 56 countries. The Institute's mission is to overcome prejudice, intolerance, and bigotry through the educational use of the Institutes visual history testimonies.
Genealogical collection covering the United States and the United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas. The Ancestry Library Edition collection has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps; American Genealogical Biographical Index (over 200 volumes); Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes); The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630; Social Security Death Index (updated monthly); WWI Draft Registration Cards; Federal Slave Narratives; and a strong Civil War collection.