Skip to Main Content

Sociology - Research Guide: Overview

A selective guide to reference works in Sociology that goes beyond the basics. Includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guides to the literature, bibliographies, finding books, using indexes, annual reviews, style guides, and other resources.

Related Guides

Course Guides

Welcome

This guide introduces major resources in sociology.

See Getting Started for useful reference works, including encyclopedias, handbooks, and bibliographies that aid in understanding a topic.
See Books and Journals and Articles for how to search Penn's catalog and relevant article databases.
Research Tools lists style guides, writing manuals, research methods handbooks, and citation management tools.

Top resources

Sociological Abstracts
Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs.

Annual Review of Sociology
Review chapters on significant developments in the field of sociology.
SAGE Research Methods
Methods Map visualization tool and searchable fulltext for more than 900 SAGE Publications ebooks, including:
• Little Green Books.
• Little Blue Books.
• SAGE Applied Social Research Methods.
• Introducting Qualitative Research.
• The Survey Kit (second edition).
• Qualitative Research Kit.

Recent publications from Penn Sociology

Librarian & Coordinator of Social Sciences Collections

Email Me

Contact:

University of Pennsylvania Libraries
203 Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center
University of Pennsylvania
3420 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206
U.S.A.

215-898-0119

Subjects: African Studies, Aging Studies, Communication, Criminology, Data & GIS, Economics, Food Studies, Health & Societies, Immigration, Linguistics, Philadelphia Studies, Population Studies & Demography, Social Sciences, Sociology, Urban Studies

Last Updated: Oct 15, 2024 11:23 PM
URL: https://guides.library.upenn.edu/sociology
Print Page

Subjects: Social Policy & Practice, Social Sciences, Sociology

Tags: research methods, sas, sociology, top-92908

3420 Walnut Street,
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206

Penn Libraries Home Search the Catalog

(215) 898-7555