Sociology - Research Guide: Journals and Articles

Indexing (since 1861) and abstracting (since 1980) for doctoral-level dissertations completed at North American universities. Page images or fulltext of all available dissertations - including Penn dissertations - from 1997 to present, with some earlier dissertations. Dissertations from selected European universities are also listed. Selected master's theses are included since 1988.

Lists scholarly publications that use GSS data. The GSS, conducted periodically since 1972, is the single best survey data source for U.S. social attitudes, behaviors, and attributes trend data. This began as Annotated Bibliography of Papers Using the General Social Surveys (ICPSR 101, last updated 1990).

Lists journal articles and other research publications using data from all cohorts of the NLS, the most important longterm study of the labor market activities and other significant life events of several groups of U.S. men and women followed over up to four decades.

Lists journal articles, presentations, unpublished manuscripts, books, book chapters and dissertations by researchers using National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health data. Add Health studies how social environments and behaviors in adolescence are linked to health and achievement outcomes in young adulthood.

Journal articles, books, working papers, and other publications that use data held in the ICPSR archive. Searchable by document title and other bibliographic information, and also by ICPSR study. Web pages for individual ICPSR studies will also display study-specific bibliography.

A list of research articles, 1980-present, that use data from the Roper Center. Some cite information on overall responses obtained from iPOLL; some are based on individual-level analyses of datasets held by the Roper Center, and others use the Roper Center's Presidential approval series or other indexes constructed from Roper Center data.

1952 to the present. The comprehensive bibliographic database for research in sociology and related disciplines worldwide. Provides citations, subject indexing, and abstracts of all articles in more than 240 core sociology journals and relevant articles in more than 2200 journals in related fields, books and chapters in collective volumes, and dissertations; an excellent source for book reviews on social issues. SocAbs recently absorbed Social Services Abstracts, expanding its coverage to social work and social policy.

1951-present. Excellent source for searching the international literature. Citations and subject indexing for the international journal article and book literature in sociology, as well as anthropology, economics, political science. Formerly produced by British Library of Political and Economic Science, London School of Economics and Political Science, with the support and assistance of International Committee for Social Science Information and Documentation and UNESCO. Preceded by A London bibliography of the social sciences (1931-1982).

Covers 1907-1984. Indexing the major scholarly journals in many disciplines, this was the standard finding tool (alongside the London Bibliography) for the sociological journal literature before SocAbs and IBSS.

Gray literature database with fulltext. Covers IGOs and NGOs, thinktanks, and local governments. Current modules include : Global ThinkTanks, North American City Reports, World Cities, and Public Health & Social Care.

"The world's largest policy and grey literature database." Post-search filters for cites/mentions of institutions, source sector/organization type/function/location, document type, topics (including Sustainable Development Goals and UN COFOG, Classification of the Functions of Government), and cited sources.

Economics working papers from research organizations, academic departments, and publishers worldwide. Part of the RePEc bibliographic suite.

Working papers from organizations and individual scholars on many topics. Generally preferred by US business school faculty over EconPapers. Offers email notification newsletters for its subject- and organization-focused "journals".

The American Psychological Association's comprehensive bibliographic database to the psychology research literature. APA PsycInfo will cover social psychology and organizational psychology.

A combined database, assembled from two library catalogs that also include journal articles: Anthropological Literature (Tozzer Library, Harvard University) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute).

The Human Relations Area Files, started in 1949, presents fulltext ethnographic texts on individual cultures worldwide. Each text is coded for cultural attributes at the paragraph level using the Outline of Cultural Materials. eHRAF expands HRAF's traditional coverage to include North American regional, ethnic, and diaspora cultures (e.g., Cuban Americans, Italian Americans, North American Hmong).

Abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and related fields.

The American Economic Association's bibliographic database covering the journal, book, and working paper literature on economics and related topics.
HINT! EconLit uses JEL Codes as its subject terms. JEL Codes are listed, with examples, on the AEA website.

Indexes scholarly journals and trade magazines on criminology and criminal justice. Includes fulltext for many items.

Fulltext legal research database organized into collections. In addition to core collections such as Law Journal Library, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, and Subject Compilations of State Laws, special-focus collections include : Criminal Justice & Criminology, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, History of Capital Punishment, and World Trials Library.
HINT! For law review articles, it's easier to search Index to Legal Periodicals (Current & Retrospective) and follow that database's PennText links than to plow into HeinOnline's fulltext.

An excellent tool for tackling the enormous law review, legal yearbook, bar association, and government legal publications literature from the U.S., Canada, U.K., Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand. For foreign legal research, consider using Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (1985- ).

NCJRS includes abstracts of over 140,000 research reports, journal articles, and government documents relating to crime, law enforcement, and the justice system.

The US National Library of Medicine's comprehensive bibliographic database of medical research. MEDLINE is congruent with PubMed, but MEDLINE's "Map term to subject heading" and MeSH "explode" function provide powerful search tools.

The World Health Organization's medical research bibliographic database, with some fulltext content. Combines databases from its regional offices : AIM (Africa), IMEMR (Eastern Mediterranean), IMSEAR (Southeast Asia), LILACS (Latin America and Caribbean), and WPRO (Far East and Oceania). Covers gaps in MEDLINE's international coverage.