Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Doctoral dissertations are book-length works of original research. (Some dissertations, typically in economics and demography, are collections of article-length research reports.) Dissertations are particularly useful for several reasons:
- They may cover current events, or they may address very recent scholarship practices, more quickly than journal articles or books.
- They may provide very detailed primary-source material (interview transcripts, text reproductions, expanded statistical treatments), methodological descriptions (questionnaires, interview protocols, event recording templates), and other useful supporting information typically omitted from journal articles or books.
- They include chapter-length literature reviews, as doctoral candidates are expected to situate their dissertation topic within the larger research community.
Penn Sociology & Demography dissertations
Penn doctoral dissertations, print and fulltext, are discoverable through Franklin Catalog
, using the subject heading pattern, "Penn dissertations--[department]"
. Publicly-accessible Penn dissertations are available in Scholarly Commons
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (aka UMI)
The comprehensive database of U.S. doctoral dissertations, recently expanded to cover foreign dissertations. For 1997-present, fulltext is often available. For older dissertations, fulltext is scarce - use ILL:Request Book
when fulltext is not available.HINT!
Search PQDT using "Anywhere except full text - ALL". PQDT is a fulltext database, and dissertations are book-length works. "ALL" will search titles and abstracts only.
Open-access collection of doctoral dissertations from Penn and other schools deriving from the Malawi Longitudinal Study of Families and Health. Contributed to Scholarly Commons by the Graduate Group in Demography and the Population Studies Center's Demography Library.
Sociology Ebook Collections
The Penn Libraries acquire ebooks as single-title purchases, as series or bundles based upon publisher or general topic, and as subscription packages. These are some useful collections of Penn Libraries ebooks for sociological research.
All Penn Libraries ebooks are represented by individual records in Franklin Catalog.
More than 4,500 ebooks published by SAGE and its imprints, including CQ Press, Pine Forge, and Corwin, 1976-2018. Strongest subject areas are sociology, education, business & management, health & social care.
Russell Sage Foundation ebooks
More than 300 ebooks from this important social research publisher, 1990s to present. We try to purchase ebook versions of every new title from RSF, but you can see our print holdings by unchecking the "Access > Online" filter for this Franklin Catalog search result.
More than 6.25 million digitized books in the public domain, available for fulltext searching and for PDF download through the Penn Libraries membership. A great resource for older works and also for U.S. government documents.
Books at Penn Libraries
Franklin, the Penn Library's online catalog, lists the millions of books, journal titles, and other materials contained in campus libraries. Note: The Biddle Law Library has its own completely separate catalog, LOLA.
You can search Franklin by author, title, journal title, subject, or keyword. For information on searching, consult Franklin Search Help.
Keyword Expert: Use keyword expert searching to combine concepts (X AND Y)and to search for particular words or phrases that might appear in titles or notes or subjects:
Author Keyword: Try corporate bodies such as: United States Dept. of Justice
Subject: Library of Congress subject headings describe books, periodicals, and other items held by Penn Libraries. Some useful headings are listed below, with links to Franklin searches.
Library of Congress subject subheadings are useful for narrowing subject searches in Franklin.
These subjects can be combined with geographic terms (e.g. Philadelphia) or form to narrow your search. Listed below are relevant forms.
Books Beyond Penn
Although the Penn Libraries' collection is large, there are still many reasons you might seek materials elsewhere. Listed below are options for finding books at other libraries.
A catalog similar to Franklin, except that it searches across libraries all over the world.
BorrowDirect/EZBorrow & Interlibrary Loan
These services allow you to request items held elsewhere, delivered to the Penn Library of your choice.