Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using Franklin Catalog

What's in the Franklin Catalog?

Franklin Catalog contains:

Searchable, descriptive records of the holdings of all the Penn Libraries, excluding the Biddle Law Library, which has a separate Catalog called LOLA.  Types of content includes

  • books
  • ebooks
  • journals by journal title
  • newspapers by newspaper name
  • videos (both DVDs and streaming)
  • sound recordings
  • subscription databases
  • manuscripts
  • datafiles
  • and other resources owned and/or subscribed to by the Penn Libraries.
  • HathiTrust public domain records are also included.

Location information for print works and links to available full-text are provided. The catalog includes materials that have been order or received, but not yet cataloged.


Franklin Catalog does not contain:

  • Individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. To search for individual articles, use Franklin Articles+ and other databases available through the Penn Libraries.
  • Individual chapters, essays, and papers within edited works, collections of essays, and conference proceedings.

Access to E-Resources

Franklin Catalog contains records to many full-text e-resources, including journals, ebooks, government publications, streaming videos, newspapers, and much more.

For detailed information about accessing full-text works, see the separate guide called Using E-Resources.

If you are encountering a problem accessing an electronic resource, the following information may assist you: 

If you continue to experience problems, please complete this E-Resource Problem Report Form.