Guides: Circulation: Courtesy Borrowing

Questions?

Email Us:

For library account concerns or questions about building and database access, please e-mail us at: vpcircdk@pobox.upenn.edu

Call Us:
215-898-7566

Alumni

Annual Fee: $200 cash, credit card or check* payable to the Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania

Application Process: Present your Alumni PennCard at the Van Pelt Circulation Desk.

Includes:

Four week borrowing of normally circulating print materials (limit of 20 items at one time)
No Recalls permitted.
Weekend/evening/holiday access to all Penn Libraries except Biddle Law Library.

Excludes:

Restricted databases
InterLibrary Loan and Borrow Direct
Access to and borrowing privileges at Biddle Law Library

Other: Privileges are non-transferrable.

Retired Penn Staff

Annual Fee: none

Application Process: Present your Retired Staff PennCard at the Van Pelt Circulation Desk.

Includes:

Four week borrowing of normally circulating print materials (limit of 20 items at one time)
No Recalls permitted
Weekend/evening/holiday access to all Penn Libraries except Biddle Law Library.

Excludes:

Restricted databases.
InterLibrary Loan and Borrow Direct.
Access to and borrowing privileges at Biddle Law Library.

Other: Privileges are non-transferrable.

**Please note: Retired Faculty is now covered under lending policy for faculty.

Reading Days and Final Exam Periods

Access to the library is restricted to Penn faculty, staff, and students during Reading Days and Final Exams. For Spring 2024, the library will be closed to visitors May 2-14. Reciprocal borrowing and on-site access agreements will still be in place.

Courtesy Borrowers

What is courtesy borrowing?

Visitors who are interested in borrowing books may apply for courtesy borrowing privileges for a fee. The Library's Courtesy Card carries with it borrowing privileges and evening/weekend/holiday access to all libraries except the Biddle Law Library. Please see detailed information for access policies and hours.

How does courtesy borrowing work?

Registered courtesy borrowers must show their Courtesy Card and valid photo ID to enter. Please see individual library access policies for further details.

There is an annual charge for these privileges in order to partially recover the costs of services to non-Penn borrowers.

Privileges are not granted automatically. The Library reserves the right to withhold privileges, or to withdraw them, if they are abused. With the exception of the Corporate Courtesy Card described below, courtesy privileges are granted to individuals and are not transferable.

Interlibrary Loan services and most electronic resources are not available to courtesy borrowers.

Potential patrons interested in more information about obtaining Corporate Courtesy Privileges and Reciprocal Borrowing/Agreements, please contact Access Services at vpcircdk@pobox.upenn.edu.

Renewal Limit: Courtesy borrowers may renew books online for up to one year (12 renewals).

Borrowing Limits: Courtesy borrowers are limited to 20 books total, from all libraries, at a time.

See more information about your courtesy borrowing group below.

Library Delivery Services

Corporate Courtesy

Annual Fee: $800 cash, credit card or check* payable to the Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania

Application Process: Contact Erin Sharwell, Head of Circulation Services, 215-898-9767.

Includes:

Four week borrowing of normally circulating print materials (limit of 20 items at one time)
No Recalls permitted
Weekend/evening/holiday access to all Penn Libraries except Biddle Law Library.

Excludes:

Restricted databases
InterLibrary Loan, BorrowDirect, E-ZBorrow
Access to and borrowing privileges at Biddle Law Library

Policy:

One contact person is responsible for privileges which may be shared by up to 10 individuals.
Names of all the users must be submitted
Borrowing limit is collectively 20 books per corporate account.
one library account per corporate entity.

Individual Courtesy

Annual Fee: $400 cash, credit card or check* payable to the Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania.

Application Process: Come into the Van Pelt circulation desk.

Includes:

Four week borrowing of normally circulating print materials (limit of 20 items at one time)
No Recalls permitted
Weekend/evening/holiday access to all Penn Libraries except Biddle Law Library.

Excludes:

Restricted databases
InterLibrary Loan and Borrow Direct
Access to and borrowing privileges at Biddle Law Library

Other: Privileges are non-transferrable.