This is the "Overview" page of the "Music Resources in the Penn Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
 *  Choose a Library * Ask Us/Get Help * Site Guide * Penn

Music Resources in the Penn Libraries   Tags: 0type research guide  

A guide to music resources and collections in the University of Pennsylvania Libraries.
Last Updated: Mar 24, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.upenn.edu/music Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Franklin Search

Other Links

  • Music Exhibits
    See what exhibits are available for viewing, in person and on the web.
 

Overview

This guide covers the resources and collections related to the study of music at the University of Pennsylvania.

Background Resources

Background sources give you a broad overview of a topic and suggest possible ways to refine a topic. They also include bibliographies for further reading that can be valuable as you build a bibliography of sources to read and consult during your research.

  • Oxford Music Online
    The electronic version of the 29-volume New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the most comprehensive and authoritative encyclopedia of music in English.
  • Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
    Online version of the ten-volume encyclopedia of music from around the world. The content consists of article-length chapters rather than topical entries.

Finding Materials: Books

  • New Franklin
    Use to find books held in Penn's collections
  • WorldCat
    Contains the holdings of hundreds of libraries in the United States, Europe, and Austrailia. This is a good source to find books on your topic that aren't held by Penn. You can then request them through BorrowDirect+ or Interlibrary Loan.
  • BorrowDirect+
    Use to request books not held by Penn--or checked out to another user

Finding Materials: Articles

  • International Index to Music Periodicals
    Includes periodical literature only. Offers quite a bit of full text, both as HTML and PDFs.
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
    Includes scholarly journal literature as well as books, dissertations, and collections of essays.
  • JSTOR
    Full text of scholarly journals across all disciplines. JSTOR will also include music-related articles in non-music journals.
  • EBSCO Megafile
    A general article database that includes some full text.
  • Google Scholar
    A convenient way to search for articles and books on your topic. Be sure to use this link, which will associate your search results with Penn resources.
  • Rock's back pages
    An online archive of music journalism, sourced from freelance contributions to the music and mainstream press from the 1950s to the present day. The articles are full text and searchable, and all are reproduced with the permission of the copyright holders.
  • Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
    An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.

Music Liaison Librarian/Italian Bibliographer

Profile Image
Richard Griscom
Contact Info
215/898-3450
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Italian
Free text:
griscom@upenn.edu

Citation managers and Copyright

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip