Skip to main content

Music Resources in the Penn Libraries: Music articles, full text

A guide to music resources and collections in the University of Pennsylvania Libraries.

Full text articles: Music

Rock's Backpages Podcast

Multidisciplinary (including music)

Explore music journals and magazines

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. Resources include Billboard Magazine archive, Back Stage, Musical Express, The Reggae & African Beat, and more.

Music Magazine Archive

A series of digital collections focused on 20th and 21st century genres such as Rock, Folk, and Hip-Hop & Rap. Each genre-based collection unites every page and every issue of a diverse and influential group of magazines.

Music Periodicals Database

A music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.

Music Index Online

Contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry. In addition to journal articles, it provides citations for book reviews, obituaries and news articles.

RIPM Jazz Periodicals

A fully digitized collection of 105 American (U.S) full-text jazz journals and magazines published from 1914 to roughly the year 2000.

RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (1800-1950)

Published under the auspices of the International Musicological Society and the International Association of Music Libraries, Archives and Documentation Centres, this database provides detailed analyses of writings on musical history and culture between 1760 and 1966.

Rock's Backpages

An extensive archive of the major rock music magazines published in the USA and the UK since the early 1960s.