Guides: Music Resources in the Penn Libraries: Streaming music audio & video, public domain content

Streaming audio & video

Naxos Music Library
Includes mostly classical music, but also a few popular music labels.
Naxos Video Library
Streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries.
Music & Performing Arts (Alexander Street Press)
Combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles
Classical Music Library
Includes over 7,000 albums from the a variety of labels, including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from the Middle Ages to the present, including many contemporary composers.
Opera in Video
Contains five hundred hours of important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
medici.tv
A selection of 1,800 video-on-demand programmes including concerts, operas, recitals, documentaries, master-classes, artist's portraits and archive material.

mediti.tv

Met Opera on Demand
Access to more than 700 full-length Met performances.
Smithsonian Global Sound
Includes the catalog of the nonprofit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label as well as the archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, and Paredon labels, among others.
Contemporary World Music
Contains the sounds from every continent, including reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
Over 2,000 hours of previously unpublished historic field recordings from around the world.
Jazz Music Library
A collection of over 1,000 albums.
Qwest TV
A global hub for music and culture by Quincy Jones offering access to 1,300+ concerts, interviews, archival gems and documentaries. Spanning jazz, soul, funk, blues, hip-hop, global sounds, electronic and classical” genres.

Jazz Music Library

Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings
Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.
American Music
A suite of online audio recordings to support the teaching of American musical traditions including country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B and shape note singing.
Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM)
Contemporary classical music
Routledge Performance Archive
Streamed video and audio footage from performance practitioners past and present paired with relevant critical commentary.
More performing arts streaming services

Public Domain & Creative Commons

Public Domain Logo Public Domain: "A work of authorship is in the 'public domain' if it is no longer under copyright protection or if it failed to meet the requirements for copyright protection. Works in the public domain may be used freely without the permission of the former copyright owner." - Copyright.gov

Creative Commons License Symbol Creative Commons: "CC licenses allow that material to be shared and reused under terms that are flexible and legally sound. Creative Commons offers a core suite of six copyright licenses. Because there is no single “Creative Commons license,” it is important to identify which of the six licenses...has been applied to material that you intend to use." - CreativeCommons.org

Music Resources in the Penn Libraries: Streaming music audio & video, public domain content

Streaming audio & video

Public Domain & Creative Commons

Introduction to Naxos Music Library

About Met Opera on Demand [32 seconds]