Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music reference sources
Analecta hymnica medii aevi digitalia
The Analecta hymnica medii aevi contains texts of hymns of the Catholic Church, 500-1400. This complete digital edition allows for searching the full text of the hymns, including the bibliographic references to manuscripts and prints.
A-R Music Anthology
A database of music scores containing representative vocal and instrumental compositions from antiquity through the nineteenth century.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Each volume contains an overview of a geographic region, a survey of its musical heritage, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instruments, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies.
Index of Printed Music: Collections & Series (IPM)
Combines the Index Database, the Bibliography Database and the Names Database into the only electronic title for finding individual pieces of music printed in standard scholarly editions. It provides access for scholars, performers, teachers, and other researchers.
MGG Online (Musik Geschichte und Gegenwart)
A general encyclopedia of music, offering in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts.
RISM: International Inventory of Musical Sources
Annotated index and guide to manuscripts produced after 1600.
RISM: OPAC Search
RISM is an international, non-profit joint venture with the aim of comprehensively documenting the sources of music handed down worldwide.
Oxford music reference sources
Encyclopedia of Popular Music (Oxford Reference Online)
This encyclopedia's 30,000 entries cover all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music.
Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd ed.
The largest, most comprehensive reference publication on American Music. Articles of the dictionary range from small definitions of dance styles and musical terms to mid-length biographies of important performers, composers and music patrons, to longer examinations of larger subjects such as the history of jazz, musical instruments, music education in the United States, and the American history of the orchestra.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Music
Combines the best features of a high-level encyclopedia and a traditional bibliography in a style tailored to meet the needs of today’s online researchers. Each article is rich with citations and annotations, expert recommendations, and narrative pathways to the most important works for virtually all areas of music.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Music
A network of reference articles on current scholarship in all areas of music research including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, pedagogy, dance, and technology.
Oxford History of Western Music
Offers an account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin.
Oxford Music Online (Grove Music Online)
A gateway offering users the ability to search multiple music reference resources in one location, including the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and full text articles on Oxford Reference.