Skip to main content

Finding Physical Properties of Chemical Substances: Electronic Databases Containing Physical/Chemical Properties

This guide presents key resources for finding physical properties and spectra of chemicals using both the electronic and the print resources at the University of Pennsylvania.

Aldrich/Sigma/Fluka Combined Catalog

The Aldrich/Sigma/Fluka Catalog offers five types of searching, by Sigma-Aldrich Documents keyword, Data specific, Structure search, Certificate of Analysis by Lot Number, or Safety Data Sheet by Product Number

Structure search Show me how 

Properties Covered

  • Melting and Boiling Points
  • Density
  • Vapor Pressure and Density
  • Upper and Lower Explosion Limits
  • Auto Ignition Temperature

Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry via Reaxys

Beilstein handbook of organic chemistry is also available is book format

Categories of Properties Covered

  • Structure and Energy Parameters
  • Physical State
  • Transport Phenomena
  • Thermochemical Data
  • Optical Properties
  • Spectroscopic Information
  • Magnetic Properties
  • Electrical Properties
  • Electrochemical Behaviour
  • Solution Behavior
  • Liquid/Vapour, Liquid/Liquid, and Liquid/Solid Systems
  • Mechanical & Physical Properties
  • Energy Data
  • Boundary Surface Phenomena
  • Adsorption
  • Association

Parameters of searches available 

  • Reactions
  • Substances, Names, Formulas
  • Literature
  • Reaxys tree
  • Property groups
    • Physical
    • Spectra
    • Natural Product

 

ChemExper Chemical Dictionary

ChemExper Chemical Dictionary contains basic properties and spectra, as well as materials safety data sheets. The goal of this project is to create a common and freely accessible database of chemicals over the internet. Everybody can submit chemical information using Expereact Web and retrieve information with a Web browser. ChemExper contains over 40,000 chemical structures, 16,000 MSDS and more than 100,000 products. It is searchable by molecular formula, IUPAC or common names, CAS number, catalogue number, substructure, and physical characteristics. Data is supplied by users, so, exercise caution when using.

Properties Covered

  • Melting and Boiling Points
  • Density
  • Sublimation
  • Decomposition

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a classic resource containing critically evaluated data in all areas of chemistry and physics.  Penn has access to this work in print at several libraries, as well as online.  To locate the most recent print editions, please visit https://franklin.library.upenn.edu/catalog/FRANKLIN_99999753503681.