Russian, Slavic, East European, Eurasian Studies: Rare Slavic & Baltic Works at Kislak Special Collections

• The Soviet Russian Children's Picture Book Collection contains masterworks by Samuil Marshak, Vladimir Lebedev, Vladimir Konashevich, Vera Yermolaeva, Evgeniya Evenbakh, Mikhail Tsekhanovsky, and many others.
• Read a more detailed overview of this collection and the significance of Soviet picture books at this recently posted Notable Collection page.
• Digital Facsimiles of selected works from the collection can be found in Colenda.

• Soviet student schoolwork, 1928-1950. Gift of Thomas Woody. A unique collection of unpublished student drawings and school notebooks. Detailed descriptions of each item is in this Finding Aid.
• Read more about this collection in this Unique at Penn blog post by Laura Auketayeva (2019).

• Early Soviet posters: 48 color posters, circa 1920s-1930s. Gift of Thomas Woody. Described in detail in this Finding Aid.
• Digitized versions are in Colenda.

• Georgij Sanji Zagadinow Collection of Kalmyk Materials, 1834-1999. Zagadinow (1925-1999) was a Kalmyk immigrant to Philadelphia who spent much of his life working on a Kalmyk-English dictionary. The collection includes documents from both Soviet Kalmykia, and Kalmyk communities in the US. Read more information on this collection at this Notable Collection page. 
• Ненецкие сказки [Nenets Tales]. Text by Viacheslav Tonkov (1903–74). Illus. O. Fursei. 1936, first edition. Earliest Soviet collection of the folklore of the Nenets people of the Far North. Tonkov collected the traditional stories and reshaped them with a revolutionary undertone. Includes texts in Nenets. 
• Следопыты далекого Севера [Trackers of the Far North]. Text by El-Registan, with photos by Dmitry Debabov. 1937. Photobook for children depicting Evenks hunting in the Far North. The author and photographer travelled there on an expedition by dog-sleigh. El-Registan (Gabriel Ureklyan) was a Soviet Armenian poet and journalist, who, in collaboration with Sergei Mikhalkov, wrote the lyrics to the Soviet National Anthem.
  
  
   

Complete List of Russian-Related Archival Finding Aids for Resources at the Kislak Center for Special Collections, Rare Books and Manuscripts, University of Pennsylvania

• Lithuanian materials at Penn include:
• Jurgis Šaulys papers, 1896-1950. Šaulys (1879-1948) was a diplomat, economist, and signatory of the Lithuanian Declaration of Independence in 1918.
• Vincas Maciunas collection of Lithuanian authors' manuscripts, circa 1970s. This collection contains manuscripts of prose and poetry which Vincas Maciunas (1909-2003) collected from numerous twentieth century Lithuanian authors.
• Juozas Prunskis letters of Lithuanian political and literary figures, 1941-1966. Prunskis (1907-2003) was a Lithuanian priest, journalist, and scholar.
• Vanda Sruoga collection of Balys Sruoga and Vincas Kreve materials, 1919-1969. Balys Sruoga (1896-1947) was a poet, playwright, and literary theorist, who was sent to Stutthof Concentration Camp in 1943. His wife, Vanda Sruoga, collected his letters from the camp, as well as additional writing by him and Vincas Kreve.
• Finding Aid to all Lithuanian Archives