Russian, Slavic, East European, Eurasian Studies: Other Databases at Penn

• East View: The vast majority of Slavic databases are on the East View Platform. See the East View Page of this Guide for a detailed listing of periodicals available there.
• ABSEES. American Bibliography of Slavic & East European Studies
• Stalin Digital Archive. A collaboration between the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI) and Yale University Press. Provides access to RGASPI primary source materials from Stalin's personal papers, as well as the Annals of Communism series, which contains monographs on communism.
• Gale Archives Unbound. A database of digitized primary source documents. It includes a few Russian resources, such as: Great Patriotic War of the Soviet Union, 1941–45; World War I and Revolution in Russia, 1914–18; and Alexander III and the Policy of Russification, 1883–86. You can also search the entire platform of Gale Primary Sources.
• U.S.-Russia Relations: From the Fall of the Soviet Union to the Rise of Putin, 1991-2000. ProQuest Digital National Security Archive. Includes 2,465 declassified documents from major U.S. government agencies along with translated documents from the Russian archives.
• Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan, 1834-1922: From Silk Road to Soviet Rule. Archives Direct (UK National Archives). This collection of British Foreign Office files includes intelligence reports, agents’ diaries, minutes, maps, and other materials.
• Historical Abstracts, EBSCO. Covers world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. It includes over 2000 peer-reviewed indexed and abstracted journals. Penn does not subscribe to the “full text” version, but if you find an article you would like to access, many of these are available to Penn users: select the PennText link.
• The Cambridge History of Russia. Three volumes cover early Rus’ to the present day. Visit the Cambridge Histories Online to access all 400 volumes of the History series.
• IBSS–International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, ProQuest. 1951–present. Broad coverage of international and interdisciplinary topics, including anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology. Includes content in over 40 languages, including Russian, Polish, Czech, Hungarian, and many other Slavic and East European languages.

• Articles Plus. Excellent starting point for any search. It includes most of Penn's subject databases and covers all disciplines, providing access to ebooks, book chapters, journal articles, newspaper articles, government publications, and more.
• Google Scholar. Provides links to books and journal articles from scholarly publishers and from educational institutions. Connecting to Google Scholar via Penn’s Library site will take you through the Penn Libraries proxy, unlocking the paywalls to some of the articles. You can also find out which articles have cited any given article you find here.
• Hathitrust. Digitized holdings from many libraries.

• EBSCO MegaFile. Multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
• EBSCO Academic Search Premier. Provides access to more than 8,000 scholarly journals and related periodicals in all scholarly disciplines.
• ProQuest. Multidisciplinary database with thousands of titles in full-text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered.
• ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT), Full Text. Comprehensive collection of multidisciplinary dissertations and theses from more than 70 countries.
• JSTOR. Scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, as well as books and primary source documents.
• Project Muse. Full-text access to high-quality scholarly journals and articles from the humanities, arts, and social sciences.
• Web of Science. An index of over 8,500 academic journals. The citation databases provide access to an article's cited references.

These bibliographic guides can be a good place to start your research: they provide a brief overview of the topic, followed by annotated bibliographies of recommended journals and books on the topic. The guides typically don't provide full text access (with some exceptions), but you can use these recommendations to get ideas for useful resources you might locate in the Penn Libraries' collection.