Guides: Veterinary Study Resources: Anatomy Books and Web Resources

Anatomy No-Cost Web Resources

Bovine and Equine Limb Anatomy Equine and bovine limb anatomy images by Dr. Alexander Zur Linden at the Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine
Domestic Animal Imaging Anatomy (Gerald J. Pijanowski, Illinois State University) The Imaging Anatomy web site is a basic atlas of normal imaging anatomy of domestic animals. It is designed as an aid for veterinary students beginning their study of diagnostic imaging. It is not meant to be a comprehensive reference of imaging anatomy.
Hill’s Atlas of Veterinary Clinical Anatomy From Hill's pet food company. This Atlas contains illustrations of the most common conditions seen in clinical practice. Each illustration in the Atlas has been drawn by professional medical illustrators. Generally, the left-hand page depicts normal anatomy, and the right-hand page a pathologic presentation. A brief outline of diagnostic, therapeutic, and dietary plans is included on the right-hand page.
Interactive Pig Anatomy (Murcia, Spain) (in Spanish) Shows skeleton, common integument, head and neck, thoracic cavity, abdominal cavity, pelvic cavity, and external genitalia
IVALA 3D Anatomy (VIN) - 3D anatomy for canine, feline, equine, farm and exotics.
Requires free VIN registration (limited to veterinary faculty, housestaff and students). You must use Firefox or Chrome and it may not run on devices older than two years.
Minnesota Veterinary Anatomy Courseware Web Site This Minnesota Veterinary Anatomy Courseware Web Site is an umbrella site that provides access to individual courseware web sites and other teaching resources. Subject matter includes carnivore (dog & cat) anatomy, ungulate anatomy, developmental anatomy (embryology), veterinary neuroanatomy, and medical imaging anatomy (MRI & CT). In addition to web site URLs, links to pertinent PDF files (gross anatomy terms; embryology class notes; neurobiology laboratory guide) are included. The PDF documents can be downloaded and viewed off-line. Although our courseware was developed initially for veterinary students at the University of Minnesota, others are free to use the materials for educational purposes. The Minnesota College of Veternary Medicine offers the courseware freely to the international community. We wish to promote inter-institutional sharing of veterinary instructional resources.
The Musculoskeletal System (Cornell) An online module that provides a thorough resource for the key musculoskeletal and nervous system structures essential for weight bearing and locomotion, allowing the student to learn fundamental anatomical details of bones, joints, muscles and innervation to muscle groups of the thoracic and pelvic limbs.
OVAM: Online Veterinary Anatomy Museum OVAM is a collection of anatomy resources organised into categories according to the species, system and region covered.
Real 3D Anatomy On this site you can currently view two 3D presentations of canine (dog) anatomy in your browser. The main presentation is a complete 3D dog bone set. This work was developed as a collaboration between Creative Dimension Software Ltd and the Centre for Comparative and Clinical Anatomy at the University of Bristol.
Rooney's Guide to the Dissection of the Horse, Image Collection (Cornell) This database of color images is designed to be a supplement to the text ROONEY'S GUIDE TO THE DISSECTION OF THE HORSE, 7th edition, Orsini and Sack. This site will provide users with a large number of images additional to those that appear in the book.
Visual Guides of Animal Reproduction The Visual Guides of Animal Reproduction, originally known as The Drost Project, began as a collection of images compiled by Maarten Drost over a period of 30+ years as a theriogenologist on the faculties of the University of California Davis and the University of Florida, as well as Utrecht University in The Netherlands and Colorado State University during sabbatical leaves. The foundation for this image atlas was laid during his stint as a visiting professor to Cornell University during the 1972/73 academic year, with numerous slides provided from the teaching collections of Dr. Stephen J. Roberts and Dr. Kenneth McEntee. Most of the images subsequently accumulated were generously contributed by friends and colleagues, and permission for their inclusion in this on-line guide has been granted. The images are categorized and each is given a title and an annotation and the original source of the image is acknowledged and referenced.

Free Apple Books from the University of Georgia

Other Anatomy Resources

The Glass Horse: Equine Colic, The Glass Horse: Elements of the Equine Distal Limb, and The Glass Dog: Thorax & Abdomen can be borrowed from the Veterinary Library.

The Glass Horse Equine Colic by Science in 3D "This program features a comprehensive exploration of the equine abdominal anatomy, the veterinarian's approach to diagnosis, and detailed 3-D animations depicting 28 diseases of the gastrointestinal tract."
Call Number: USB drive available at Veterinary Reserve and New Bolton Reserve
Glass Horse - Distal Limb by Science in 3D "An engaging interactive exploration of the equine distal limb that combines interactive models with narrations and highly informative animations. The interface allows manipulation of anatomical models in three dimensions.
Call Number: USB drive available at Veterinary Reserve and New Bolton Reserve
The Glass Dog: Thorax and Abdomen by Science in 3D
Call Number: USB drive available at Veterinary Reserve and New Bolton Reserve

Surgeries of the abomasum in cattle is an online resource. The link below will take you to a cover page with the current username and password.

Surgeries of the abomasum in cattle
Course Reserves item
by Montreal, Canada : LITIEM
Publication Date: 2015

Saunders Veterinary Anatomy Flash Cards and Dog Anatomy Flash Cards are available to use at the Veterinary Library

Saunders Veterinary Anatomy Flash Cards by Saunders Study anywhere, anytime and master veterinary anatomy with Saunders Veterinary Anatomy Flash Cards. Included in this set of 360 flash cards are approximately 400 full-color illustrations. The front of the card shows the anatomical drawing with numbered lead lines pointing to different anatomic structures, allowing you to quiz yourself on identification. The numeric answer key on the back of the card provides an easy comprehension check.
Call Number: SF761 .S385 2010
ISBN: 9781437714401
Publication Date: 2009
Dog Anatomy Flash Cards by Bryan Edwards Publishing The Dog Anatomy is a comprehensive reference tool covering the skeletal system, muscular system, joints & ligaments, and the 10 major organ systems of the dog. This set consists of 47 flash cards.
Call Number: Veterinary Library
ISBN: 1878576178
Publication Date: 1998