Cultural anthropology, which is also known as social anthropology or ethnology, studies cultural processes and often relies on qualitative ethnographic field research. At Penn, the teaching of cultural anthropology is joined with linguistic anthropology, whose focus is language, sign systems, and discourse as part of culture.
Cross-Cultural Research by
Including both classic and contemporary readings, this four-volume Major Work evaluates, explains and highlights the key issues in multiple disciplines where the term "culture" has a partially unique and partially shared history. Further elaboration on the key ideas and debates in this is provided through the editor's original introduction, which guides the reader through issues and areas such as the potential for integration, paradigmatic nuances in the term "culture". Volume One: Cultural Anthropology: History, Controversy and Current Status Volume Two: Culture and Related Concepts in Sociology and Economics Volume Three: Cross Cultural Psychology and Communication: Value Dimensions and Cognition Volume Four: Culture in Organizational and Political Theory
Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology by
The Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology, now in its second edition, maintains a strong benchmark for understanding the scope of contemporary anthropological field methods. Avoiding divisive debates over science and humanism, the contributors draw upon both traditions to explore fieldwork in practice. The second edition also reflects major developments of the past decade, including: the rising prominence of mixed methods, the emergence of new technologies, and evolving views on ethnographic writing. Spanning the chain of research, from designing a project through methods of data collection and interpretive analysis, the Handbook features new chapters on ethnography of online communities, social survey research, and network and geospatial analysis. Considered discussion of ethics, epistemology, and the presentation of research results to diverse audiences round out the volume. The result is an essential guide for all scholars, professionals, and advanced students who employ fieldwork.
Perspectives : an open invitation to cultural anthropology by
"Different from other introductory textbooks, this book is an edited volume with each chapter written by a different author. Each author has written from their experiences working as an anthropologist and that personal touch makes for an accessible introduction to cultural anthropology. Our approach to cultural anthropology is holistic. We see the interconnectedness of cultural practices and, in all of the chapters, we emphasize the comparison of cultures and the ways of life of different peoples. We start with Laura Nader's observation that cultural differences need not be seen as a problem. In our complicated world of increasing migration, nationalism, and climate challenges, cultural diversity might actually be the source of conflict resolution and new approaches to ensuring a healthier world. Indeed, as Katie Nelson reminds us, anthropology exposes the familiarity in the ideas and practices of others that seem bizarre. Robert Borofsky advocates for anthropology's ability to empower people and facilitate good. Borofsky calls on anthropologists to engage with a wider public to bring our incredible stories and important insights to helping resolve the most critical issues we face in the world today. This book brings Nader, Nelson, Borofsky, and many others together to demonstrate that our anthropological understandings can help all of us to improve the lives of people the world over. We need you, as students, to see the possibilities. As instructors, we want to help you share anthropological knowledge and understanding easily. We want all readers to be inspired by the intensely personal writings of the anthropologists who contribute to this volume."--Open Textbook Library.
Small Places, Large Issues by
This introduction to social and cultural anthropology has become a modern classic, revealing the rich global variation in social life and culture across the world.Presenting a clear overview of anthropology, it focuses on central topics such as kinship, ethnicity, ritual and political systems, offering a wealth of examples that demonstrate the enormous scope of anthropology and the importance of a comparative perspective. Unlike other texts on the subject, Small Places, Large Issues incorporates the anthropology of complex modern societies. Using reviews of key works to illustrate his argument, Thomas Hylland Eriksen's lucid and accessible overview remains an established introductory text in anthropology.This fourth edition is updated throughout and increases the emphasis on the interdependence of human worlds. It incorporates recent debates and controversies, ranging from globalisation and migration research to problems of cultural translation, and discusses the challenges of interdisciplinarity in a lucid way.
Social and Cultural Anthropology: the Key Concepts by
Social and Cultural Anthropology: the Key Concepts is an easy to use A-Z guide to the central concepts that students are likely to encounter in this field. Now fully updated, this third edition includes entries on: Material Culture Environment Human Rights Hybridity Alterity Cosmopolitanism Ethnography Applied Anthropology Gender Cybernetics With full cross-referencing and revised further reading to point students towards the latest writings in Social and Cultural Anthropology, this is a superb reference resource for anyone studying or teaching in this area.
The Cambridge Handbook of Linguistic Anthropology by
The field of linguistic anthropology looks at human uniqueness and diversity through the lens of language, our species' special combination of art and instinct. Human language both shapes, and is shaped by, our minds, societies, and cultural worlds. This survey covers a wide range of topics, approaches and theories, such as the nature and function of language systems, the relationship between language and social interaction, and the place of language in the social life of communities. Promoting a broad vision of the subject, spanning a range of disciplines from linguistics to biology, from psychology to sociology and philosophy, this authoritative handbook is an essential reference guide for students and researchers working on language and culture across the social sciences.
Language, Culture, and Society: an introduction to linguistic anthropology by
Why should we study language? How do the ways in which we communicate define our identities? And how is this all changing in the digital world? Language, Culture, and Society offers comprehensive coverage of all critical aspects of linguistic anthropology, while addressing some of the newer pressing and exciting challenges of the 21st century, such as issues of language and power, language ideology, and linguistic diasporas. Chapters on gender, race, and class also examine how language helps create-and is created by-identity.
Living Language: an Introduction to Linguistic Anthropology by
Revised and updated, the 2nd edition of Living Language: An Introduction to Linguistic Anthropology presents an introduction to the study of language in real-life social contexts around the world through the contemporary theory and practice of linguistic anthropology.
The Routledge Handbook of Language and Culture by
The Routledge Handbook of Language and Culture presents the first comprehensive survey of research on the relationship between language and culture. It provides readers with a clear and accessible introduction to both interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary studies of language and culture, and addresses key issues of language and culturally based linguistic research from a variety of perspectives and theoretical frameworks. This Handbook features thirty-three newly commissioned chapters which cover key areas such as cognitive psychology, cognitive linguistics, cognitive anthropology, linguistic anthropology, cultural anthropology, and sociolinguistics offer insights into the historical development, contemporary theory, research, and practice of each topic, and explore the potential future directions of the field show readers how language and culture research can be of practical benefit to applied areas of research and practice, such as intercultural communication and second language teaching and learning. Written by a group of prominent scholars from around the globe, The Routledge Handbook of Language and Culture provides a vital resource for scholars and students working in this area.
For more video tutorials, see the HRAF channel on YouTube
Ethnographic Video for Instruction & Analysis (EVIA) is a digital archive of ethnographic field video specializing in the fields of ethnomusicology, folklore, anthropology, and dance ethnology.
