It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biological or physical anthropology is concerned with the evolutionary biology and behavior of humans, non-human primates, and extinct hominids.
Find introduction to a topic
Biological Anthropology of the Human Skeleton by M. Anne Katzenberg (Editor); Shelley R. Saunders (Editor)The 2nd edition of a major reference and textbook on the scientific analysis of human skeletal remains recovered from archaeological sites is organized into five parts with contributing chapters written by experts in the field of human skeletal biology: Part One covers theory and application; Part Two discusses morphological analyses of bone, teeth, and age changes; Part Three reviews prehistoric health and disease; Part Four examines chemical and genetic analysis of hard tissues; and Part Five closes with coverage of quantitative methods and population studies. Each chapter includes a review of recent studies, descriptions of analytical techniques and underlying assumptions, theory, methodological advances, and speculation about future research.
Publication Date: 2008-03-03
A Companion to Biological Anthropology by Clark Spencer LarsenAn extensive overview of the rapidly growing field of biological anthropology; chapters are written by leading scholars who have themselves played a major role in shaping the direction and scope of the discipline. Extensive overview of the rapidly growing field of biological anthropology Larsen has created a who s who of biological anthropology, with contributions from the leading authorities in the field Contributing authors have played a major role in shaping the direction and scope of the topics they write about Offers discussions of current issues, controversies, and future directions within the area Presents coverage of the many recent innovations and discoveries that are transforming the subject
Publication Date: 2010-04-26
A Companion to Dental Anthropology by Joel D. Irish; G. Richard ScottCompanion to Dental Anthropology presents a collection of original readings addressing all aspects and sub-disciplines of the field of dental anthropology--from its origins and evolution through to the latest scientific research. Represents the most comprehensive coverage of all sub-disciplines of dental anthropology available today Features individual chapters written by experts in their specific area of dental research Includes authors who also present results from their research through case studies or voiced opinions about their work Offers extensive coverage of topics relating to dental evolution, morphometric variation, and pathology
Publication Date: 2015-10-21
A Companion to Forensic Anthropology by Dennis Dirkmaat (Editor)A Companion to Forensic Anthropology presents the most comprehensive assessment of the philosophy, goals, and practice of forensic anthropology currently available, with chapters by renowned international scholars and experts. Highlights the latest advances in forensic anthropology research, as well as the most effective practices and techniques used by professional forensic anthropologists in the field Illustrates the development of skeletal biological profiles and offers important new evidence on statistical validation of these analytical methods. Evaluates the goals and methods of forensic archaeology, including the preservation of context at surface-scattered remains, buried bodies and fatal fire scenes, and recovery and identification issues related to large-scale mass disaster scenes and mass grave excavation.
Publication Date: 2012-05-07
Forensic Approaches to Buried Remains by John Hunter; Barrie Simpson; Caroline Sturdy CollsThe field of forensic archaeology has developed over recent years from being a branch of conventional archaeology into a well-established discipline in its own right. Forensic Approaches to Buried Remains takes an innovative approach to the subject by placing the role of the forensic archaeologist within the wider forensic environment; it identifies new areas of interdisciplinary research and practice, and evaluates practical difficulties. The authors see this book as a reflection of the subject s development, and as a knowledge base for the next generation of forensic archaeologists. Areas covered include: Search logistics, integration and specialist search scenarios Levels of confidence in site search and elimination Urban and rural landscape reconstruction in both short and long term cases The integration of cadaver dogs and earth-moving machinery The recovery of multiple evidence types Sampling strategies, spatial relevance and dating Multiple burial scenarios As part of the Essential Forensic Science book series this book will provide students and practitioners alike with an invaluable resource outlining both the major developments in the discipline, as well as original approaches to the search for, and recovery of buried remains.
Publication Date: 2013-11-11
Handbook of Forensic Anthropology and Archaeology by Soren Blau (Editor); Douglas H. Ubelaker (Editor)With contributions from 70 experienced practitioners from around the world, this second edition of the authoritative Handbook of Forensic Archaeology and Anthropology provides a solid foundation in both the practical and ethical components of forensic work. The book weaves together the discipline's historical development; current field methods for analyzing crime, natural disasters, and human atrocities; an array of laboratory techniques; key case studies involving legal, professional, and ethical issues; and ideas about the future of forensic work--all from a global perspective. This fully revised second edition expands the geographic representation of the first edition by including chapters from practitioners in South Africa and Colombia, and adds exciting new chapters on the International Commission on Missing Persons and on forensic work being done to identify victims of the Battle of Fromelles during World War I. TheHandbook of Forensic Anthropology and Archaeology provides an updated perspective of the disciplines of forensic archaeology and anthropology.
Publication Date: 2016-07-28
Handbook of Paleoanthropology by Winfried Henke (Editor); Ian Tattersall (Editor)This three-volume handbook provides an overview to paleoanthropology. Each volume covers core constituents of the subject: basic principles and methods, primate evolution and human origins, and the phylogeny of hominins. The handbook's first volume includes phylogenetic analysis, paleoecology and evolutionary theory and philosophy. Volume II integrates primate fossil data with the vast amount that is now known of the behavior and ecology of living primates in natural environments. The third volume deals with the fossil and molecular evidence for the evolution of Homo sapiens and its fossil relatives.
Call Number: University Museum Library - Reference. GN281 .H35 2015
Publication Date: 2015
History of Physical Anthropology by Frank Spencer (Editor)From review by Library Journal: "For the present work, [Spencer] enlisted an international group of scholars and specialists to compose biographies on contributors to physical anthropology and essays on subjects such as subfields, national traditions, theories, controversies, sites, fossils, institutions, and museums. Entries include primary and secondary sources and, where applicable, location of archival materials. Cross references are provided."
Call Number: University Museum Library. GN50.3 .H57 1997
The International Encyclopedia of Biological Anthropology features over 450 entries contributed by an international team of scholars, and presents an extensive and invaluable survey of this fascinating field. The Encyclopedia: Represents the first comprehensive encyclopedic reference relating to biological anthropology Features more than 450 entries covering topics ranging from ongoing human evolution, paleoanthropology, and non-human primates to paleopathology, forensic anthropology, and bioarchaeology Includes interdisciplinary coverage of primatology, human biology, paleoanthropology, bioarchaeology, anthropological genetics, and the history of biological anthropology An indispensable resource for undergraduate students and scholars engaged in the study and practice of biological anthropology and interrelated fields and disciplines. This work is also available as an online resource at: www.encyclopediaofbiologicalanthropology.com.
Oxford handbook of economics and human biology by John Komlos and Inas R. KellyThe Oxford Handbook of Economics and Human Biology provides an extensive and insightful overview of how economic conditions affect human well-being and how human health influences economic outcomes. The book addresses both macro and micro factors, as well as their interaction, providing new understanding of complex relationships and developments in economic history and economic dynamics. Among the topics explored is how variation in height, whether over time, among different socioeconomic groups, or in different locations, is an important indicator of changes in economic growth and economic development, levels of economic inequality, and economic opportunities for individuals.
Publication Date: New York, NY : Oxford University Press, 2015-2016.
This series from the Cambridge University Press covers physical and biological anthropology, including evolutionary biology, animal behaviour, primatology, and ecology. The individual volumes can be found in the Museum Library, Veterinary Library, Biomedical Library, or Dental Library according to which library is most appropriate for the subject of the volume. PennKey holders can use the Request options in Franklin in order to pick up from another library location.
Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Human Evolution by Geoffrey Wood; Bernard Wood (Editor)This comprehensive A to Z encyclopedia provides extensive coverage of important scientific terms related to improving our understanding of how we evolved. Specifically, the 5,000 entries in this two-volume set cover evidence and methods used to investigate the relationships among the living great apes, evidence about what makes the behavior of modern humans distinctive, and evidence about the evolutionary history of that distinctiveness, as well as information about modern methods used to trace the recent evolutionary history of modern human populations.
Publication Date: 2011-05-31
Human Osteology and Skeletal Radiology by Evan W. Matshes; Bernard Juurlink
Publication Date: 2004-11-29
Human Osteology and Skeletal Radiology: An Atlas and Guide features nearly 700 photographs, line drawings, and radiographs demonstrating individual bones, or collections of bones, from both a distant perspective and more detailed angles. This atlas of skeletal anatomy covers general and specific anatomic terms, includes comparative images of bones in photographic and radiographic form to aid in recognition, and notes important comparisons among adult, juvenile, and fetal bones. It discusses each bone on an individual basis and describes how to "side" bones and identify fragments. Intended as a field guide for investigations and a lab guide in gross anatomy and skeletal specimen studies, this atlas provides easy and rapid identification of bone material. It takes you far beyond the bare bones of anatomy to aid in skeletal recognition in any situation.
Combines Anthropological Literature (based at Harvard University) and Anthropological Index (from Royal Anthropological Institute of the UK) into one database that provides worldwide indexing of most anthropological journals from the early 19th century to present.
ACCESS NOTE: 5 users. Combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute of the UK. Offers worldwide indexing of all core periodicals, in addition to lesser known journals, from the early 19th century to today. Broad geographical coverage emphasizes the Commonwealth and Africa and extends to Eastern Europe, the Americas, Asia, Australasia, and the Pacific. Covers fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
Searches multiple databases including AGRICOLA (for several fields within agricultural sciences, biology, and ecology), BIOSIS (for life sciences), CAB Abstracts (for agriculture and veterinary medicine), and Global Health.
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching. Includes Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work.