It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Ashgate research companion to the globalization of health by Ted SchreckerGlobal health has emerged as a distinct field of academic research and professional activity. Over the last decade, health has become an important element of many nations' foreign policies, a routine agenda item for the G8 and a rapidly expanding focus of bilateral and multilateral development assistance. Some aspects of health, like the spread of easily transmitted communicable diseases, are self-evidently global in an age of rapid, low-cost air travel. Many more reflect the influence of transnational economic integration ('globalization') and its effects on national economies, societies and health systems. In still other cases, like non-communicable diseases in most low- and middle-income countries, the lack of impact on the interests of more powerful actors outside the borders of the affected areas makes it difficult to generate the concern and action on the part of the global community that may be imperative for ethical reasons. This multinational volume of original contributed papers simultaneously provides an overview of the state of current global health scholarship, reflects the multidisciplinary nature of the field, and highlights the most significant issues for research and policy.
Publication Date: London ; New York : Routledge, 2016
Call Number: University Museum Library. GN296 .C68 2011
Publication Date: 2011
A Companion to the Anthropology of Environmental Health by Merrill Singer (Editor)A Companion to the Anthropology of Environmental Health presents a collection of readings that utilize a medical anthropological approach to explore the interface of humans and the environment in the shaping of health and illness around the world. Features the latest ethnographic research from around the world related to the multiple impacts of the environment on health and of societies on their environments Includes contributions from international medical anthropologists, conservationists, environmental experts, public health professionals, health clinicians, and other social scientists Analyzes the conditions of cultural and social transformation that accompany environmental and ecological impacts in all areas of the world Offers critical perspectives on theoretical and methodological advancements in the anthropology of environmental health, along with future directions in the field
Publication Date: 2016-04-05
Exploring Medical Anthropology by Donald JoralemonThis text presents competing theoretical perspectives, highlighting points of conflict and convergence. Concrete cases and the author's personal research experiences are utilized to explain some of the discipline's most important insights; such as that biology and culture matter equally in the human experience of disease and that medical anthropology can help to alleviate human suffering. An extensive glossary facilitates student learning of concepts and terms, while a list of suggested readings at the end of each chapter and an extensive bibliography encourage further exploration.
Call Number: University Museum Library. GN296 .J65 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Global Health by Merrill Singer; Pamela I. Erickson
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Medical Anthropology: a Biocultural Approach by John S. Allen; Andrea S. WileyIntended as a text for introductory courses, Medical Anthropology: A Biocultural Approach, 2nd edition, considers how a bio-cultural approach can be applied to more effective prevention and treatment efforts and underscores medical anthropology's potential to improve health around the world. For each health issue examined in the text, the authors first present basic biological information on specific conditions and then expand their analysis to include evolutionary, historical, and cross-cultural perspectives on how these issues are understood.
Call Number: University Museum Library. GN296 .W55 2013
Multicultural Handbook of Food, Nutrition and Dietetics by Arlene Barton (Editor); Aruna Thaker (Editor)Written by a team of authors drawn from the British Dietetic Association's Specialist Multicultural Nutrition Group, the book provides in-depth information to equip the reader in the provision of nutrition advice to minority groups. Spanning a broad range of cultural groups, the book seeks to consider religious and cultural requirements in relation to traditional diets; research on migration studies and chronic disease states; and nutrition and dietetic treatment in relation to key chronic diseases.
Publication Date: 2012
Oxford handbook of economics and human biology by John Komlos and Inas R. KellyThe Oxford Handbook of Economics and Human Biology provides an overview of how economic conditions affect human well-being and how human health influences economic outcomes. The book addresses both macro and micro factors, as well as their interaction, providing new understanding of complex relationships and developments in economic history and economic dynamics. Among the topics explored is how variation in height, whether over time, among different socioeconomic groups, or in different locations, is an important indicator of changes in economic growth and economic development, levels of economic inequality, and economic opportunities for individuals.
Publication Date: New York, NY : Oxford University Press, 2015-2016.
The Palgrave Handbook of Sociocultural Perspectives in Global Mental Health by Ross White (Editor); Sumeet Jain (Editor); David M. R. Orr (Editor); Ursula Read (Editor)This handbook incisively explores challenges and opportunities that exist in efforts aimed at addressing inequities in mental health provision across the globe. Drawing on various disciplines across the humanities, psychology, and social sciences it charts the emergence of Global Mental Health as a field of study. It critically reflects on efforts and interventions being made to globalize mental health policies, and discusses key themes relevant for understanding and supporting the mental health needs of people living in diverse socio-economical and cultural environments. Over three rich sections, the handbook critically engages with Global Mental Health discourses. To help guide future efforts to support mental health and wellbeing in different parts of the world, the third section of the handbook consists of case studies of innovative mental health policy and practice, which are presented from a variety of different perspectives. This seminal handbook will appeal to a transnational community of post-graduate students, academics and practitioners, from global health to transcultural psychiatry and medical anthropology. It will be also of interest to researchers and clinical practitioners, policy makers and non-governmental organisations involved in cross-cultural mental health work.
Publication Date: 2017-02-13
The Routledge Handbook of Medical Anthropology by Lenore Manderson (Editor); Elizabeth Cartwright (Editor); Anita Hardon (Editor)The Routledge Handbook of Medical Anthropology provides a contemporary overview of the key themes in medical anthropology. The three editors have written the core chapters of the volume and invite the reader to reflect on the ethnographic richness and theoretical contributions of research on the clinic and the field, bioscience and medical research, infectious and non-communicable diseases, biomedicine, complementary and alternative modalities, structural violence and vulnerability, gender and ageing, reproduction and sexuality. As a way of illustrating the themes, a rich variety of case studies are included, presented by over 60 authors from around the world, reflecting the diverse cultural contexts in which people experience health, illness, and healing. Each chapter and its case studies are introduced by a photograph, reflecting medical and visual anthropological responses to inequality and vulnerability.
Publication Date: 2016-05-12
Understanding and Applying Medical Anthropology by Peter Brown; Ron BarrettThis collection of 49 readings with extensive background description exposes students to the breadth of theoretical perspectives and issues in the field of medical anthropology. The text provides specific examples and case studies of research as it is applied to a range of health settings: from cross-cultural clinical encounters to cultural analysis of new biomedical technologies to the implementation of programs in global health settings.
Call Number: University Museum Library. GN296 .U54 2010
Combines Anthropological Literature (based at Harvard University) and Anthropological Index (from Royal Anthropological Institute of the UK) into one database that provides worldwide indexing of most anthropological journals from the early 19th century to present.
ACCESS NOTE: 5 users. Combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute of the UK. Offers worldwide indexing of all core periodicals, in addition to lesser known journals, from the early 19th century to today. Broad geographical coverage emphasizes the Commonwealth and Africa and extends to Eastern Europe, the Americas, Asia, Australasia, and the Pacific. Covers fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
Bibliographic citations and subject indexing for the international journal article and book literature in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology. Produced by British Library of Political and Economic Science, London School of Economics and Political Science, with the support and assistance of International Committee for Social Science Information and Documentation and UNESCO.
Abstracting and indexing coverage 1971-present pulled from international English language journals, books, guidelines and grey literature relating to the midwifery profession, pregnancy, labor, birth, postnatal care, infant feeding and neonatal care up to the second year of an infant's life, and the transition to parenthood.
Find primary sources
Penn Libraries maintains a list of health statistics datasets and databases, as well as other useful resources, at these research guides: