Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If an article is not available at/through Penn Libraries
Print Article Indexes
Bibliographie der französischen Literaturwissenschaft. Frankfurt am Main : V. Klostermann, 1960- . Location: [LIBRA and Van Pelt PQ3 .B426]. Last five years held in Reference. See Franklin record for full holdings information.
French XX bibliography. New York : French Institute-Alliance Française, 1969- . Location: [Van Pelt PQ306 .F735]. Last five years held in Reference. See Franklin record for full holdings information.
JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database.
Penn's subscription currently includes all the available collections:
- the Arts & Sciences Collection I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII and the Complement
- the Business II & III Collection
- the Biological Sciences Collection
- the Health & General Science Collection
- the Language and Literature Collection
- the Music Collection
- the 19th Century British Pamphlets
Access to journals from JSTOR is restricted to current Penn faculty, staff and students.
Printing from the JSTOR database requires downloading a helper application called JPrint.
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index: A&HCI
On the Web of Science platform. Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching.
Periodicals Index Online
Humanities and social sciences. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
Covers a broad range of humanities and social sciences periodicals, with a primary focus on German titles, but it includes publications from over 40 countries and more than 40 languages.
This is a documentary portal of French social and human science journals, created by the education nationale. Users must register before accessing this resource. Provides partial fulltext for Annales, Bibliotheque de l'Ecole des chartes, L'Homme, Materiaux pour l'histoire de notre temps, Revue de l'Art, Revue economique, Revue francaise de science politique.
Somrev: Sommaires de revues
Indexes tables of contents to 70 French-language journals, primarily in history and the social sciences.
Provides full-text access to French journals in social and human sciences. Complete list of journals is available on the home page. Some of the journals are complete full text and some are partial full text. The project is an Open Access partnership between: Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, Ministère délégué à la recherche, École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, and Université d'Avignon.
Literature Resource Center
Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Literature Criticism Online
Literary reference work from Gale combining several literary commentary series, including Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, and others.
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
Medieval (400-1500) and Renaissance (1300-1700) studies
International Medieval Bibliography
You will need to click on the "enter database" button to get to IMB. The International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), the world's leading bibliography of Medieval Studies and an essential tool for research and teaching on the Middle Ages, covers Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. The database comprises over 300,000 articles derived from regular coverage of some 4,500 periodicals and thousands of volumes of conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogs.