Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The ARTFL Project (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) consists of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.
A digitization project of the Bibliotheque nationale de France Gallica includes nearly two million documents, including books, manuscripts, periodicals, newspapers, scores, images, sound recordings, etc.
Corpus de la litterature narrative du Moyen age au 20e siecle
Base Internationale de Lettres Electroniques du Moyen Age au XX siecle. A digital library of about 1000 narrative works (novels, tales, short stories). The database is a virtual library that covers all the French programs from grammar school to university level. The specialist and the researcher will also find texts that were indexed and referenced according to the rules of scholarly editing.
Renaissance in Print: Sixteenth-Century French Books
Digital facsimiles of sixteenth-century printed books in the University of Virginia's Douglas H. Gordon Collection and an on-line network of resources designed to situate the books within the rich context of the French Renaissance.
Rare Book & Manuscript Collections
The Penn Library Rare Book & Manuscript Library possesses a deep and diverse range of French language materials, much of it divided into separate collections. The French Culture Class Collection documents print culture from the early Renaissance to the end of the nineteenth century. The Pamphlets of the French Revolution contains over 1,000 items. The Lorraine Beitler Collection of the Dreyfus Affair is described on its own web page and includes online video and audio features. The Maclure Collection contains some 20,000 pamphlets published in France between approximately 1788 and 1802 and is also available in a microfilm set of 371 reels at Microfilm 1927. Among individual titles is a nearly complete run of Illustration (1843-1944).