Guides: Digital Archives: Periodicals

17th and 18th Century Newspapers Online

America's Historical Newspapers
This collection of almost 1000 newspapers focuses on newspapers first published before the Civil War and newspapers from Pennsylvania.

Historical Newspapers Online
Listing of hundreds of publicly available historic newspapers from the 18th through the 20th centuries.

The Annotated Newspapers of Harbottle Dorr, Jr.
This collection is comprised of 805 newspaper issues primarily published between 1765 and 1776 in Boston and surrounding towns. High quality digital images of 3,969 newspaper and pamphlet pages are available.

Mainstream Newspapers

Proquest Historical Newspapers
Dozens of historical newspapers from the United States and other parts of the world. Includes major publications such as the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Boston Globe, as well as four major Jewish U.S. newspapers and many Black newspapers.
Newspapers.com
Runs of thousands of historic newspapers mainly published in the United States in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Access Newspaper Archive
Database of hundreds of newspapers from large and small cities, mainly in the United States and England.
Includes such newspapers as:
Arizona Republic (1891-1972)
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1924)
Boston Globe (1854-1922)
Dallas Times Herald (1920-1986)
Columbus Evening Dispatch (1877-1969)
Kingston Gleaner (1834-2016)
New York World (1860-1903)
Austin Daily Texan (1900-1977)
San Antonio Express (1865-1977)
Syracuse Post-Standard (1875-2017)
Miami Herald (1917-1959)
Chronicling America (1836-1922)
America's Historical Newspapers
International Herald Tribune, 1887-2013
The European edition of the Herald Tribune (later of the Washington Post and New York Times) with distribution across Europe and, later in its history, globally.
Service Newspapers of World War II
extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East.
Daily Worker Online (1922-1966)
"The Daily Worker was the official mouthpiece of the Communist Party of the United States of America (CPUSA) between 1924 and 1958. While performing this function, the newspaper represented nevertheless much more than just a tool of political propaganda. Its reports covered a wide range of subjects, from policy reforms to labor strikes, from civil rights to housing and urban planning, from foreign policy to sports, literature, and general culture."
San Francisco Chronicle, 1865-1984
New Orleans Times-Picayune, 1837-1988

Historical Newspapers Online
Listing of hundreds of publicly available historic newspapers from the 18th through the 20th centuries.

19th Century Newspapers Online

America's Historical Newspapers
This collection of almost 1000 newspapers focuses on newspapers first published before the Civil War and newspapers from Pennsylvania.
Chronicling America (1777-1963)
Over 3,400 newspapers from most states. Includes both major and local newspapers, with dozens of ethnic newspapers (Black, Irish, French, Latin American, Native American, etc.) and labor newspapers.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers

Proquest Historical Newspapers
-Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
-Chicago Tribune (1849-1989)‎
-The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)‎
-Los Angeles Times (1881-1989)‎
-American Israelite (1854-2000)
-Christian Science Monitor (1908-1999)
-The New York Times (1851-2009)‎
-The Wall Street Journal (1889-1995)‎
-The Washington Post (1877-1996)‎
-Norfolk Journal and Gudie (1916-2003)
-American Hebrew and Jewish Messenger (1857-1922)
-Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001)
-Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003)
Historical Newspapers Online
Listing of hundreds of publicly available historic newspapers from the 18th through the 20th centuries.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Database of documents relating slavery, including over 70 pro- and anti-slavery news publications from America, England, Spain and France.

Newspapers.com
Runs of thousands of historic newspapers mainly published in the United States in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Accessible Archives: 19th century african american newspapers
Includes eight African-American newspapers published between 1827 and 1902.
Access Newspaper Archive
Database of hundreds of newspapers from large and small cities, mainly in the United States and England.
Includes such newspapers as:
Arizona Republic (1891-1972)
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1924)
Boston Globe (1854-1922)
Dallas Times Herald (1920-1986)
Columbus Evening Dispatch (1877-1969)
Kingston Gleaner (1834-2016)
New York World (1860-1903)
Austin Daily Texan (1900-1977)
San Antonio Express (1865-1977)
Syracuse Post-Standard (1875-2017)
Miami Herald (1917-1959)
International Herald Tribune, 1887-2013
The European edition of the Herald Tribune (later of the Washington Post and New York Times) with distribution across Europe and, later in its history, globally.
Left of Liberalism: Marxist-Socialist Newspapers, 1900-2015
African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998
280 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.

Ethnic and Alternative Newspapers

Proquest Historical Newspapers
Dozens of historical newspapers from the United States and other parts of the world. Includes major publications such as the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Boston Globe, as well as four major Jewish U.S. newspapers and many Black newspapers.

Historical Newspapers Online
Listing of hundreds of publicly available historic newspapers from the 18th through the 20th centuries.

Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-
Provides access to more than 200 ethnic, minority and native press newspapers and magazines.
GenderWatch, 1970-
Includes more than 100 journals, magazines, newsletters, special reports, unpublished papers and conference proceedings devoted to gender and women's issues.
Alt-Press Watch, 1990-
Provides fulltext for U.S. alternative and independent newspapers, weeklies, and magazines.
Chronicling America (1777-1963)
Over 3,400 newspapers from most states. Includes both major and local newspapers, with dozens of ethnic newspapers (Black, Irish, French, Latin American, Native American, etc.) and labor newspapers.
Associated Negro Press News Releases 1928-1964
The ANP was the largest and longest-lived news service to supply black newspapers in the United States with news of interest to black citizens, opinion columns, reviews of books, movies, and records, and occasionally poetry, cartoons, and photographs. The ANP provided its member newspapers with professionally written, detailed coverage of activities within black communities across the country.
Indigenous Peoples: North America
Includes dozens of Native newspapers mostly spanning from 1900 through the 1970s.
Politics, Social Activism and Community Support: Selected Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newsletters
This collection of periodicals focuses on newsletters issued by gay and lesbian political and social activist organizations throughout the country and on periodicals devoted to gay and lesbian political and social activist agendas.
List of Jewish Historical Newspapers Online
Includes papers from: Atlanta, Cleveland, Detroit, Pittsburgh, Los Angeles, Miami, New York, etc.
American Indian Newspapers, 1828-2016
Periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.
Rafu Shimpo Digital Archive, 1914-2018
afu Shimpo is the longest running Japanese American newspaper in the United States. The paper began in 1903 supporting the small but growing Japanese community in the Little Tokyo area of Los Angeles, California. By the 1940s it was the most widely circulated paper in the region and included a weekly English section for second generation Japanese Americans.
Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals (1845-2015)
This continually growing collection contains over 140 newspapers and periodicals from the perspective of leftwing ideologies including socialism, communism and Marxism. Topics covered span workers’ rights and labor organizations, Nazi atrocities, the rise of McCarthyism, civil rights and modern-day class struggles. Content includes articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons and more." (from the landing page)
Documenting White Supremacy and Its Opponents in the 1920s.
The Documenting White Supremacy and Its Opponents collection includes papers promoting and opposing white supremacy, published mainly in the 1920s. It brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the US. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by American Black, Catholic, and Jewish communities.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998
280 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals (1845-2015)
This continually growing collection contains over 140 newspapers and periodicals from the perspective of leftwing ideologies including socialism, communism and Marxism. Topics covered span workers’ rights and labor organizations, Nazi atrocities, the rise of McCarthyism, civil rights and modern-day class struggles. Content includes articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons and more." (from the landing page)
Communist Historical Newspapers, 1919-2013
Includes papers such as the Daily Worker.

African-American Newspapers

Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Proquest Historical Newspapers

Chicago Defender (1905 - 1975), ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), ProQuest Historical Newspapers
At its height in the 1940s the Pittsburgh Courier was one of the most important african american newspapers in the country, had a national circulation of over 350,000 and was as widely read as the Chicago Defender and Baltimore Afro-American. It is famous for its coverage of racial stereotypes in popular media, segregation in the military, Jim Crow in the South and african american figures in sports, and is a vital source of information about the Great Migration.

Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), Proquest Historical Newspapers
Philadelphia's principal African American publication.

New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003), ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991), ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Indianapolis Recorder (1899-2005)
African American newspaper that "focused on local people and events in Indianapolis but also reported national events." Missing 1917-1925.
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Michigan Chronicle (Detroit, 1939-2010), ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Black Panther (1967-1980), Black Thought & Culture (ProQuest)
Muhammad Speaks (1961-1975), Reveal Digital
The official newspaper of the Nation of Islam. Digitized in Black American, an Independent Voices collection.

Newspaper Collections and Aggregators

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Combined searching for all "ProQuest Historical Newspapers" listed above and also for other newspapers, e.g., The New York Times.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Fulltext only - no page images - for 70 current African American newspapers. Most titles have fulltext starting c.1991, with some titles starting as early as the 1950s.
Library of Congress, Digitized Black Newspapers
More than 110 newspapers from the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
Black American.
Black Power newspapers from the latter half of the 20th century. Part of the Independent Voices digital collection produced by Reveal Digital.
Accessible Archives: 19th century African American newspapers
Nine African-American newspapers published between 1827 and 1902, including The Christian Recorder (1861–1902) The National Era (1847–1860) Provincial Freeman (1854–1857) .
Historic newspapers on the Web
Listing of freely available digitized African American Newspapers.

Newspaper Indexes

Alternative Press Index, 1991-
Indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals.
Alternative Press Archive, 1969-1990
Index of journals (1969-1990) covering cultural, economic, political & social change
Left Index, 19th century-
Bibliographic citations for the "literature on the left". Topics include anarchism, art and esthetics, community organizing, culture studies, ecology and environmental studies, economics, gay and lesbian studies, globalization, history, indigenous people's rights, labor, law, philosophy, politics, prisons and criminal justice, race and ethnicity, social theory and sociology, and women's studies and feminism. Focus on 1982-present.
Lesbian Periodicals Index, 1947-1986
Index to articles published in lesbian periodicals 1947-1986. Indexes authors, subjects, prose, poems, drawings, cartoons, etc.

Black Literature Index
This index allows users to search over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.

The performing arts in colonial American newspapers, 1690-1783 [electronic resource] : text database and index
Contains references to music, poetry, dance, and theater found in American newspapers published from 1690 through 1783, including those in French and German. Offers full text citations, indexes of names, genres, subjects, titles, and first-lines of lyrics, a bibliography of issues, and a graphic file of woodcuts.