Guides: Digital Archives: Finding Digital Archives

At Penn

To locate archival databases relating to a specific subject, begin by entering some relevant keywords into Franklin. The example below searches for archival databases related to children's literature:
After you click 'Search,' notice that your search results are divided across several fields: Catalog, Articles+, Databases, Colenda, and Website (the last two are cropped out of the image below). For digital archives/online databases, results should appear under Databases**, so click to expand this field and view all results.
**Note, however, that your keywords may not always produce database matches. The Database field will remain empty whenever this is the case. In such instances, consider revising your keywords: use synonyms, think of alternative ways of expressing your research terms, and/or implement advanced searching techniques.
The expanded results page will display all relevant databases along with with links for access. Depending on the number of results, you can further filter databases (by format, subject, type, etc.) to arrive at the most relevant for your particular needs.
[For the most comprehensive list of all digital resources at Penn classified under particular research interests, click here to consult the E-Resources index]

ArchiveGrid
Provides centralized access for searching and retrieval of archival records and finding aids, including finding aids indexed centrally at RLG and others located on servers around the world and records in RLG's AMC (Archival and Mixed Collections) file. AMC provides researchers with timely and comprehensive access to brief, high-level information for nearly half a million collections of manuscripts and archives.
Digital Public Library of America
U.S project that compiles digital holdings from America's public libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Expansive set of collections from the Library of Congress' holdings, focused on Americqan history from 1400 to the present.
National Archives
Independent agency of the U.S. government that preserves and documents government and historical records.
Open Education Database: Digital Libraries and Archives
Directory to over 200 open access digital libraries organized by state.
SNAC (Social Networks and Archival Context)
SNAC (Social Networks and Archival Context) is a free, online resource that helps users discover biographical and historical information about persons, families, and organizations that created or are documented in historical resources (primary source documents) and their connections to one another. Users can locate archival collections and related resources held at cultural heritage institutions around the world.