Old Church Slavonic : Overview

This site provides links to the most important collections of digitized Church Slavonic manuscripts and old prints. The project is the creation of a free electronic dictionary hub based on lexicographical material that has been collected by the Slavonic Institute of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic for the following works: The Dictionary of the Old Church Slavonic Language (Slovník jazyka staroslověnského), the Dictionary of the Oldest Old Church Slavonic texts (Slovník nejstarších staroslověnských památek) and the Greek-Old Church Slavonic Index (Řecko-staroslověnský index). Explore the site to learn more and take full advantage of the resources available.

This Base Form Dictionary index lists every unique base form underlying one or more surface (word) forms in lesson texts. For each base form a general meaning (if any) is shown, along with links to every usage, in every numbered lesson, of the associated surface forms. With this index, one may click on any link to perform a quick "usage look-up," and thereby study how surface forms in texts are constructed from base forms.

From the website: "Reference works found on this page include works regardless of the language of publication about Old Church Slavic and Old Church Slavonic, which are two different names for the same entity. This language is sometimes referred to as Old Bulgarian as well. Publications on the later language of Church Slavic are also included here. Resources about Slavic linguistics, proto-Slavic/Common Slavic, or other Slavic languages will appear on the pages devoted to the individual languages or the General Resources for Slavic Linguistics page." See the website for more information and specific texts.

This site appears to be unavailable as of 6/19/23
The electronic library on paleoslavistics contains descriptions of manuscript collections, dictionaries, encyclopedias, editions of ancient Slavic texts and fundamental research of the founders of paleoslavistics.
The library consists of five sections:
1. Descriptions of handwritten collections
2. Dictionaries
3.Editions of monuments of writing<
4. Reference books, monographs, encyclopedias
5. Links to Internet resources
Be sure to explore everything to take full advantage of resources available on this site.

The site comprises collections of ancient and medieval Slavonic and Russian texts; information on the developments in the field of electronic publication and methods of creation of full-text databases of hand-written treasures with complicated structure. It also includes tools and methods for contributing to and correcting text.

Includes access to etymological texts, dictionaries, and materials for the study of language.

Bibliography of works on Old Russian Literature, which consists of works written in Old East Slavic or Kieven Rus'. The bibliography references monographs and articles from the history of culture of feudal Russia, works on paleography and epigraphy, studies on the origin of Russian writing and printing, archeography and textology, essays on the life and work of specialists who have contributed to the study of the history of Russian medieval literature.

The Institute of Slavic Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences (ISL RAS), part of the Department of Historical and Philological Sciences of the Russian Academy of Sciences, is the only scientific institution in Russia to undertake the comprehensive study of the history, culture, literature and languages of foreign Slavic peoples.

This bibliography is made available by the Russian Philosophy division of the Institute of Philosophy of the Russian Academy of Sciences. The institute's website also provides PDF-full text access to its journals and books (check for both Russian and English language materials, including the series: памятники древнерусской мысли / Monuments of Ancient Russian Thought , some volumes of which are also available at the Penn Libraries .

Project Chronos provides a bibliographic list of sources on Ancient Russia--with some full text available.

Provides digitized primary sources on medieval Russian history (documents are wide ranging). All sources are in the original languages.

A good website for historical maps provided by edmaps.com. These maps are fully protected by international laws and copyrights. All rights are reserved. You have permission to use these maps only for your own personal non-commercial purposes or benefit or for other non-commercial educational purposes provided that you mention the source as "Source: edmaps.com ". Beware of advertising and unrelated options for clicking!

This Russian historical atlas was compiled by K.V. Kudryashov.