Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GORAZD: The Old Church Slavonic Digital Hub
This site provides links to the most important collections of digitized Church Slavonic manuscripts and old prints. The project is the creation of a free electronic dictionary hub based on lexicographical material that has been collected by the Slavonic Institute of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic for the following works: The Dictionary of the Old Church Slavonic Language (Slovník jazyka staroslověnského), the Dictionary of the Oldest Old Church Slavonic texts (Slovník nejstarších staroslověnských památek) and the Greek-Old Church Slavonic Index (Řecko-staroslověnský index). Explore the site to learn more and take full advantage of the resources available.
Old Church Slavonic Online
This Base Form Dictionary index lists every unique base form underlying one or more surface (word) forms in lesson texts. For each base form a general meaning (if any) is shown, along with links to every usage, in every numbered lesson, of the associated surface forms. With this index, one may click on any link to perform a quick "usage look-up," and thereby study how surface forms in texts are constructed from base forms.
Resources for Church Slavic/Old Church Slavonic
From the website: "Reference works found on this page include works regardless of the language of publication about Old Church Slavic and Old Church Slavonic, which are two different names for the same entity. This language is sometimes referred to as Old Bulgarian as well. Publications on the later language of Church Slavic are also included here. Resources about Slavic linguistics, proto-Slavic/Common Slavic, or other Slavic languages will appear on the pages devoted to the individual languages or the General Resources for Slavic Linguistics page." See the website for more information and specific texts.
Манускриптъ: Славянское письменное наследие / Slavonic Written Heritage
The site comprises collections of ancient and medieval Slavonic and Russian texts; information on the developments in the field of electronic publication and methods of creation of full-text databases of hand-written treasures with complicated structure. It also includes tools and methods for contributing to and correcting text.
The following manuscripts are included (titles are translated here but in their original at the site):
- Glagolitic Manuscripts of the Xth-XIth centuries
- Slavonic Manuscripts of the XI century
- Slavonic Gospels of the XI-XIV centuries
- Slavonic Service Menaia of the XI-XIV centuries
- Old Russian translations
- Russian chronicles
- Russian hagiographies
- Works by M.V. Lomonosov
- Slavonic Triodia and Pentecostaria of the XI-XIV centuries
- Slavonic Patristic texts
REES Research Guides
Russian and East European Studies
A broad look at resources supporting research and course work in Russian and East European Studies
Resources in the Penn Libraries and beyond that support research and study into Russia's Medieval period.
Encyclopedias and Electronic Resources
The Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodox Christianity by
Call Number: Penn Libraries: Online encyclopedia
Publication Date: 2011
A comprehensive guide to the cultural and intellectual world of Eastern Orthodox Christianity. Provides information on key historical, liturgical, doctrinal features of Eastern Orthodoxy and explores the major traditions of Eastern Orthodoxy, including the Armenian, Byzantine, Coptic, Ethiopic, Slavic, Romanian, Syriac churches.
Historical Maps of Russia
A good website for historical maps provided by edmaps.com. These maps are fully protected by international laws and copyrights. All rights are reserved. You have permission to use these maps only for your own personal non-commercial purposes or benefit or for other non-commercial educational purposes provided that you mention the source as "Source: edmaps.com ". Beware of advertising and unrelated options for clicking!
Руниверс: Русский исторический атлас / Russian Historical Atlas
This Russian historical atlas was compiled by K.V. Kudryashov.