It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Limit the Google Book search to 'magazines.' Full page color images for the included magazines are provided: Baseball digest, 1940-; Black World/Negro Digest, Nov 1961 - Apr 1976; Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, Dec 1945 - Nov 1998; Ebony, Mar 1962-; Jet, Nov 1951-; New York magazine, Apr 29, 1968 - Dec 22, 1997; Popular mechanics, Jan 1905 - Dec 2005; Popular science, May 1872 - Feb 2008; Boy's Life, 1930-
A semimonthly magazine founded by author William F. Buckley, Jr., in 1955 and based in New York City. It describes itself as "America's most widely read and influential magazine and web site for conservative news, commentary, and opinion."
Not to be confused with the New York Times Review of Books, the New York Review of Books has served the dual function of reviewing books and providing an outlet for the views of primarily liberal intellectuals. It has featured public intellectuals such as Noam Chomsky and Hannah Arendt.
Weekly magazine offering a signature mix of reporting and commentary on politics, international affairs, popular culture and the arts, science and technology, and business, along with fiction, poetry, humor, and cartoons.
"Over 24,000 CLASSIC ARTICLES on artists from Aaliyah to ZZ Top, on all genres from rockabilly to hip hop, by the finest music writers of the last 50 years.Rock reviews, articles and interviews from the late 1950s to the present day."
Founded, published and maintained by Jesuits, this magazine has covered a wide range of issues of interest to the Catholic Church in the broadest sense. It has tended to be a relatively liberal publication.
Unparalleled assemblage of newsletters, newspapers, and periodicals by, for, and about gays and lesbians. Includes materials from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Historical Society and the Lesbian Herstory Archives include mainstream and alternative publications from 1970 to 2008.
Widely considered the ‘Wall St Journal’ of the fashion industry. From the first issue in 1910 to the present year, Women’s Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the industry’s most influential reads, tracing day-to-day news, opinion, and socio-economic trends, from runway reports to beauty product reviews. WWD is a unique record of the twentieth century US and international fashion and beauty business. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record.
Each genre-based collection unites every page and every issue of a diverse and influential group of magazines. These publications uniquely capture the social and historical context of each genre, and together support scholarly research areas such as race, class, gender, American studies, youth culture, and more across some of the most progressive decades of the 20th and 21st centuries.
more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
This database, once completed, will offer online access to the fulltext of the Shanghai Librarys entire holdings of periodicals, over 20,000 titles, for the period 1911-1949. This is a period is receiving rapidly growing attention from scholars, and the flourishing of periodicals during this period provides scholars with a body of sources unprecedented for Chinese studies up to that time.
Church Missionary Society Periodicals features publications from the Church Missionary Society (CMS), the South American Missionary Society and the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society (CEZMS) between 1804 and 2009.
The Listener was a weekly publication, established by the BBC in 1929 as the medium for reproducing radio - and later, television - programmes in print. It is our only record and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts. As well as expanding on the intellectual broadcasts of the week, The Listener also discussed major literary and musical programmes. 10% of its content was not connected to broadcasting at all, and it regularly reviewed new books.
19th Century UK Periodicals: Part I: New Readerships: Women’s, Children’s, Humour, and Leisure/Sport covers British life in the Victorian age and the events, lifestyles, values, and ideas that shaped the world during this milestone period. This collection marks the advent of commercial lifestyle publishing in Britain and charts the rapid rise of modern magazine culture.
This collection of European women’s periodicals contains publications from Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Switzerland, and Dutch Indonesia. Although the collection includes material dating from around 1830, most documents are from 1880 to 1940.
This collection, based on The Warwick Guide to British Labour Periodicals, 1790–1970 (Royden Harrison, Gillian B. Woolven, and Robert Duncan, comps., 1977), comprises more than 100 periodicals, many of which are rare and or difficult to obtain, including:
-Cobbett's Evening Post
-Labour League Examiner
-Robert Owen's Millennial Gazette
-Voice of the People
The collection spans the 1830s to the early twentieth century and is particularly strong in the boys' adventure stories of the 1880s and 1890s and also in the early gruesome penny “bloods” that inspired them, written by authors such as Thomas Peckett Prest. The collection includes titles published by major firms that specialized in the genre, such as Edward Lloyd and Hogarth House, as well as those of more obscure printers and publishers.
The ORIENTAL ECONOMIST was a monthly English magazine launched in 1934 (Showa 9) to commemorate the fortieth year of the founding of Toyo Keizai Inc. (Toyo Keizai Shimposha)… This new digital archive consists of 874 issues covering the 51 years from 1934 to 1985, all 43,861 pages of which are searchable. The archive contains not only articles from the Toyo Keizai Shimpo/Weekly Toyo Keizai translated into English but also many original articles, which are of special interest as articles for the domestic magazine and The ORIENTAL ECONOMIST, intended for the overseas readership, were composed differently under the intense suppression of journalism that occurred during the war years. A rare English-language magazine that continued without interruption from pre-war to post-war Japan, this archive represents a valuable academic research tool.