Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 200.303: Trauma & Literature (Then and Now): Finding Secondary Resources

Databases for Field-Specific Secondary Sources

What's in the Franklin Catalog?

Franklin Catalog contains:

Searchable, descriptive records of the holdings of all the Penn Libraries, excluding the Biddle Law Library, which has a separate Catalog called LOLA.  Types of content includes

  • books
  • ebooks
  • journals by journal title
  • newspapers by newspaper name
  • videos (both DVDs and streaming)
  • sound recordings
  • subscription databases
  • manuscripts
  • datafiles
  • and other resources owned and/or subscribed to by the Penn Libraries.
  • HathiTrust public domain records are also included.

Location information for print works and links to available full-text are provided. The catalog includes materials that have been order or received, but not yet cataloged.


Franklin Catalog does not contain:

  • Individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. To search for individual articles, use Franklin Articles+ and other databases available through the Penn Libraries.
  • Individual chapters, essays, and papers within edited works, collections of essays, and conference proceedings.

Locating books

If your citation is a book, you will search Franklin from the Penn Libraries homepage

Franklin will help you find the library in which the book is located, and the call number. You can search for a specific book by title, author, or ISBN. You can also do a keyword or subject keyword search to find books on a particular topic.

Library homepage Franklin search box

 

On the next page, click Catalog to limit your search results to eBooks, books, and other print material. 

Franklin results page with cursor on "catalog"

Other important resources for finding books:

Articles+

If you have a complete article citation, search Franklin from the Penn Libraries homepage to find the full text of your article.

Library homepage Franklin search box

 

On the next page, click Articles+ to limit your search results to articles. 

Franklin results page with cursor on "Articles+"

No luck? That doesn't mean we don't have access to the article - it could be available in print! Try searching the Catalog for the journal name as a next step.

Franklin results page with cursor on "catalog"

Select Catalog and search using the journal name. If the library owns the journal, click on the journal name and confirm that they have the proper issue/volume/date by examining the item record page. If they do, you can request a scan of the article by selecting Digital Delivery (under locations where the journal is held). 

Resources