This page covers full books that deal with mental health and problem solving techniques. It includes resources discussing widespread issues and practitioners discussing there own mental health issues. It is divided into physical books and E books, with the physical books further subdivided into articles published before and after the year 2000.
Workbook and Laboratory Manual for Dental Radiography by
Reinforce your understanding of dental radiography with this practical workbook and lab manual! The ideal companion to Iannucci and Howerton's bestselling Dental Radiography, 6th Edition textbook, this review helps you master need-to-know imaging principles and techniques. Workbook modules correspond to the content in the textbook, and use engaging exercises to help you learn, review, and apply imaging concepts. Modules in the lab manual section provide a how-to guide to performing key imaging procedures and techniques. Bridging theory and practice, this study tool provides everything you need to master dental imaging skills! Case studies and critical thinking questions allow you to practice the application of your skills to dental practice. Written exercises include objective-style questions to assess your understanding of important content. Hands-on clinical laboratory activities include self-, peer-, and instructor-assessment forms. Illustrations, technique photos, and radiographs make concepts and procedures easier to understand. Comprehensive coverage includes all areas of study for the dental radiography laboratory. Chapter-by-chapter correlation to the textbook makes the workbook easy to use. NEW! Expanded content addresses the areas of digital imaging, radiographic interpretation, dental materials, and dental X-ray equipment. NEW! Updated illustrations include detailed photos of equipment and supplies as well as new photos of techniques. NEW lab activities, assessments, case studies, and critical thinking questions are added.
Connecting Healthcare Worker Well-Being, Patient Safety and Organisational Change by
This volume delineates the ways in which key areas of healthcare, well-being, patient safety and organisational change overlap with and contribute to unhealthy workplaces for healthcare professionals. There is a growing realisation within healthcare that healthcare worker well-being, patient outcomes and organisational change are symbiotically linked. Burnout and stress in healthcare workers and toxic organisational cultures can lead to a cycle of patient neglect, medical errors, sub-optimal care and further stress. This topical volume therefore outlines the ways in which worker well-being, patient outcomes and organisational change can be aligned to contribute to a healthy workplace and therefore better medical care. The volume includes an array of authors from different disciplines including primary care, clinical medicine, psychology, sociology, management, clinical governance, health policy and health services research. It succeeds in integrating different voices and reaches meaningful conclusions to address the challenges facing the healthcare workforce.
Improv to Improve Healthcare by
Healthcare organizations cry out for a toll to decrease untoward events and bridge the communication gap between professional clinical teams and clients. Discover how to guide your team to creatively problem-solve, build emotional and social intelligence, increase workplace safety and employee retention, and guarantee client satisfaction with the results-don't-lie Improv to Improve Healthcare system.
The Mental Health and Wellbeing of Healthcare Practitioners by
THE MENTAL HEALTH AND WELLBEING OF HEALTHCARE PRACTITIONERS Explore this innovative new volume covering the growing mental health crisis amongst healthcare practitioners In The Mental Health and Wellbeing of Healthcare Practitioners, accomplished researchers and authors Esther Murray and Jo Brown deliver an insightful exploration of the theoretical and practical aspects of implementing mental health improvement within the healthcare system through a range of practical examples and cases. The book also explores the possibilities available to professionals to talk about their mental health using "borrowed" words and concepts, and uncovers structural and social concerns that prevent practitioners from accessing the time and space they need to address their mental health concerns. Readers will also benefit from the inclusion of topics such as: Borrowed words in emergency medicine and how moral injury makes spaces for talking Finding a voice through medical student engagement in creative enquiry Using language and discourse to explore queer identities in medicine Stress and mental wellbeing in emergency medical dispatchers and paramedics Perfect for healthcare students, professionals, and researchers in the fields of medicine, medical education, psychology, and sociology, The Mental Health and Wellbeing of Healthcare Practitioners will also earn a place in the libraries of healthcare management professionals and regulators.
Exploring the Pressures of Medical Education from a Mental Health and Wellness Perspective by
Discussions surrounding mental health are becoming more prominent and these conditions are becoming less stigmatized. Studying the effects that mental wellness has on students within the medical field can provide an insider perspective on this critical topic. Exploring the Pressures of Medical Education from a Mental Health and Wellness Perspective is a critical reference source that examines the mental and emotional problems that arise with students practicing in the medical field. Featuring relevant topics such as student burnout, cognitive learning, graduate education, and curriculum development, this scholarly publication is ideal for medical practitioners, academicians, students, and researchers that are interested in staying apprised of the latest trends and developments relating to mental wellness.
Clinical Problem Solving in Dentistry by
This book is designed to explain to dental students the processes of diagnosis and treatment planning, through consideration of clinical cases and problems associated with aspects of all dental specialties. It presents a series of case histories from all the major areas of dentistry, and uses a question-and-answer format to guide readers through the process of examination, differential diagnosis, investigations, diagnosis and treatment. It prepares readers for the wide variety of problems likely to be encountered in clinical practice. 56 cases in clinical dentistry are presented in a practical, problem-based approach, leading the reader toward the correct diagnosis and treatment plan. Treatment alternatives are explored and evaluated in terms of their advantages and disadvantages. Material from all the dental specialties is integrated in the cases presented, in order to cover the full range of real-world clinical problems. Color illustrations throughout bring the cases to life and clarify important concepts. All cases from the first edition have been updated, and 13 new cases have been added to this edition. Additional information is provided on behavioral management of nervous or difficult patients. More content on pediatric dentistry has been added.
Faculty Health in Academic Medicine by
In the 21st century, academic medical centers across the United States continue to make scientific breakthroughs, to make improvements in patient care, and to p- vide the most advanced information and guidance in matters affecting public health. The signs of growth are everywhere--in new research buildings, new pa- nerships with industry, new forms of molecular medicine, and new sensitivity to the role of the human spirit in healing. This growth is due in large part to the dedication and productivity of our faculty, who are providing more patient care, more research, more teaching, and more community service than ever before. Today, there are roughly 135,000 physicians, scientists, and other faculty wo- ing at approximately 125 academic medical centers around the country. Increasingly, they are asked to do more with less. Since the 1990s, academic medical centers in the United States have lost the financial margin they once enjoyed, thereby putting new pressures on research, education, and clinical care. Medical school faculty, previously given funded time for teaching and research, are increasingly drafted to bring in clinical revenues to cover their salaries. Dedicated to the missions of research, teaching, and care, our faculty have responded well to these challenges and perform at a very high level. However, we are beginning to see the results of ongoing stress.
Team-Based Learning for Health Professions Education by
Education in the health professions is placing greater emphasis on active learning learning that requires applying knowledge to authentic problems; and that teaches students to engage in the kind of collaboration that is expected in today 's clinical practice. Team-Based Learning (TBL) is a strategy that accomplishes these goals. It transforms passive, lecture-based coursework into an environment that promotes more self-directed learning and teamwork, and makes the classroom come alive. This book is an introduction to TBL for health profession educators. It outlines the theory, structure, and process of TBL, explains how TBL promotes problem solving and critical thinking skills, aligns with the goals of science and health courses, improves knowledge retention and application, and develops students as professional practitioners. The book provides readers with models and guidance on everything they need to know about team formation and maintenance; peer feedback and evaluation processes, and facilitation; and includes a directory of tools and resources.The book includes chapters in which instructors describe how they apply TBL in their courses. The examples range across undergraduate science courses, basic and clinical sciences courses in medical, sports medicine and nursing education, residencies, and graduate nursing programs. The book concludes with a review and critique of the current scholarship on TBL in the health professions, and charts the needs for future research.
Psychology and Dentistry by
Learn to build successful working relationships with your patients Psychology and Dentistry: Mental Health Aspects of Patient Care is a practical guide to an often-neglected aspect of dentistry-the contributions of the behavioral sciences to dental research and practice. Dr. William A. Ayer, Professor of Behavioral Sciences at Nova Southeastern University College of Dental Medicine in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, presents a comprehensive textbook that's an essential study aid for students preparing for their National Dental Board Examinations and a valuable classroom resource for dental school faculty. This unique book identifies the everyday concerns of dentists, dental students, and dental hygienists, offering proven strategies for patient management and for building--and maintaining--a successful dentist-patient relationship. Psychology and Dentistry examines the contributions of the behavioral sciences to the practice of dentistry, drawing subject matter from a wide range of disciplines that include psychology, sociology, education, anthropology, economics, epidemiology, health services, and public health. The book is a practical guide to developing the necessary skills to conduct effective patient interviews, for teaching patients to manage their dental fears and anxieties, and for dealing with patients who need counseling from mental health professionals. It also addresses special issues that have become relevant to dentists and their staffs in recent years, including child abuse and neglect, spousal violence, elder abuse, aging and changes associated with age, death and dying, and bereavement. Psychology and Dentistry examines: behavior therapies behavioral interventions management techniques for patients with acute and/or chronic pain how to train patients to manage their oral habits how to get patients to comply with health care recommendations pain perception and pain expression the therapeutic use of hypnosis how to make psychological referrals for patients the effect of stress on dentists and dental students and much more! Psychology and Dentistry: Mental Health Aspects of Patient Care is an essential resource for anyone working in the dental field. The book's practical approach and unique insights are invaluable for helping you develop healthy relationships with your patients.
Adverse Events, Stress, and Litigation by
What is it like to be sued for medical malpractice? Bad medical outcomes traumatize patients but they also traumatize physicians. The litigation that often follows is a profoundly human, rather than just a legal experience. Although every physician's case is different, this book shows howeach case goes through the same judicial stages of complaint, discovery, depositions, motions, and delays that lead to trial, settlement, or being dropped. It also gives doctors an understanding of how lawyers think and work to help defendants. Written by a physician and a lawyer, the book provides unique insights - through real-life stories - into the personal experience of litigation as well as recommendations for dealing with each of the legal process. It also includes up-to-date reviews of HIPAA legislation, the controversial subject of disclosure, and recent developments in the law affecting medical practitioners. Only about thirty percent of plaintiffs win their cases against doctors, but the journey from bedside to witness stand tests both the personal character and the professional skills of those accused. This well-documented book will help doctors understand and navigate the legal system while honoring their own ideals and emerging changed but stronger from the experience.
When Helping Starts to Hurt by
"A career in mental health can be rewarding and deeply satisfying. Yet, when clinicians fail to maintain balance between work, family, and leisure, they are vulnerable to burnout. At a time when mental health dollars are being stretched to the limit and practitioners in both the public and private sectors are facing increased caseloads, professional burnout is becoming more prevalent and troublesome." "Integrating Kohut's self psychology and Bowenian family systems theory, this book takes a systematic look at the roots of burnout. These go deep into the narcissistic vulnerability of the individual therapist, family-of-origin dynamics that are played out in the workplace, and stresses within and between current family and work systems that leave the therapist trying - and failing - to gain the appreciation that comes from pleasing everyone. When environmental demands increase and are prolonged, the boredom, exhaustion, despair, and poor judgment characteristic of burnout flourish." "In addition to offering advice on preventing burnout, the book presents a model for treatment. This is illustrated in short vignettes and one extended case study." "The authors share their optimism that burnout is not a given and that, through the use of professional peer group support, supervision, and individual therapy, it can be avoided or overcome."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Beating Burnout, Finding Balance by
INTERNATIONAL WINNER: best WELLBEING and best WORK-LIFE BALANCE book at the Goody Business Book Awards FINALIST in the award for HEALTH & WELLBEING at the Australian Business Book Awards Manage overwhelm and find renewed passion in your life and work Never-ending to-do lists, constant deadlines, intense workloads and the guilty feeling you're not doing enough--does this sound all too familiar? If so, it's time to take a step back and find a better balance for your work and life. In this book, you'll discover the simple practices that will help you create a healthy mindset, boost your wellbeing and prevent overwhelm. So say goodbye to fatigue: with Beating Burnout, Finding Balance, you'll rediscover the energy you need to thrive. Mindfulness and performance coach Melo Calarco shares the secrets to flourishing as a high achiever and an effective leader. In this book, he combines science, practical knowledge and mindfulness techniques with the incredible life lessons he has learned as he cycled and trekked his way around the world. You'll learn how you can apply the strategies that top performers--from surgeons to CEOs to Olympic athletes--use to conquer burnout and surpass their goals. Use simple but highly effective strategies to improve your productivity and happiness Develop your self-awareness so you can better balance your energy Build resilience and manage stress so you can perform in high-stakes or unpredictable situations Find your focus and live with purpose, passion, and drive Through inspirational stories and proven techniques, from mountaintop monasteries to executive boardrooms, Beating Burnout, Finding Balance gives you the tools to achieve your goals and live more meaningfully and mindfully.
Combatting Burnout by
This timely aid, filled with 'down to earth' advice, provides invaluable guidance on avoiding burnout and on how to combat it should it occur. The book offers innovative ways to change working practices, shares advice on building protective mechanisms into daily working life and explores the diverse array of career options that are available to doctors. Key features: The first practical guide to help medical students and junior doctors identify, combat and avoid burnout Recognises and describes the impact that burnout has on the ability of doctors to work safely and of students to study effectively, and the impact burnout has on the wider healthcare system Discusses the factors that affect resilience and how this can be nurtured, and where help can be found for those who feel they are experiencing burnout Enhanced by 'real life' examples throughout Addressing the growing body of evidence that highlights burnout as an increasing problem among medical students and junior doctors worldwide, with a lasting impact on those directly affected, on the wider workforce and entire healthcare systems, this book will enable readers to identify and address problems quickly and see how they can build careers that are personally satisfying.
The Complete Dentist by
The Complete Dentist: Positive Leadership and Communication Skills for Success is a one-of-a-kind guide to starting and running an effective and successful dental practice. Presents tried-and-true ideas and methods for effective communication, blending positive psychology with leadership in dentistry Describes the five elements of success and happiness, offering pathways to a flourishing dental practice Considers the reasons why communication and leadership skills are important for dentists
Delivering compassionate care : a mindfulness curriculum for interdisciplinary healthcare professionals by 
Depression, Burnout and Suicide in Physicians by
This book provides a reference and contextual basis for depression, burnout and suicide among oncology and other medical professionals. Oncology as a medical subspecialty is at a unique apex of this crisis. While the same pressures in medicine certainly apply to oncologists, oncology is particularly stressful as a changing field with diverse patient and societal expectations for outcomes. In addition to experiencing the stress of caring for patients that could succumb to their cancer diagnoses, these professionals are regularly confronted with an onslaught of new medical information and a landscape that is changing at a breakneck pace. These are just a few factors involved in the increasing rates of burnout among oncologists as well as other medcial professionals. By addressing a gap in identifying mental health problems among health care professionals, this book sheds light on mental health problems and suicide among physicians. Importantly, this book is a call to action of the professional and administrative organizations to work on improving mental health of physicians. Anxiety and depression affect not only the individual doctor but also patient care. Given the increasing attention to these issues along with limited yet applicable data regarding how to address these issues, the text aims to bring the latest data face to face with consensus opinion and can be used to ultimately enhance oncologic and psychiatric practices. Written by experts in the field, Depression, Burnout and Suicide in Physicians: Insights from Oncology and Other Medical Professions aims to significantly increase awareness and contribute to understanding the necessity of preventive measures on individual, family, and care givers levels.
First Do No Self Harm by
Keeping doctors happy and productive requires a thorough understanding of the systemic causes and consequences of physician stress, as well as the role of resilience in maintaining a healthy mental state. The pressure of making life-or-death decisions along with those associated with theday-to-day challenges of doctoring can lead to poor patient care and communication, patient dissatisfaction, absenteeism, reductions in productivity, job dissatisfaction, and lowered retention.This edited volume will provide a comprehensive tool for understanding and promoting physician stress resilience. Specifically, the book has six interrelated objectives that, collectively, would advance the evidence-based understanding of (1) the extent to which physicians experience and suffer fromwork-related stress; (2) the various manifestations, syndromes, and reaction patterns directly caused by work-related stress; (3) the degree to which physicians are resilient in that they are successful or not successful in coping with these stressors; (4) the theories and direct evidence thataccount for the resilience; (5) the programs during and following medical school which help to promote resilience; and (6) the agenda for future theory, research, and intervention efforts for the next generation of physicians.
Heroes Are Human by
In Heroes are Human: Lessons in Resilience, Courage and Wisdom from the COVID Front Lines, we read gripping first-hand accounts by those thrust into the depths of the crisis. This book is a must-read for health care workers who have been besieged by the ongoing pandemic, for those who love them, and for any reader wanting to gain a deeper understanding of their immense sacrifices and struggles. Heroes are Human also offers invaluable self-care insights in the face of trauma. The book's central voice and guide, Bob Delaney, is an internationally respected and experienced figure in the field of post-traumatic stress. His powerful message to front-line caregivers is that they are not alone. Delaney, along with co-author and award-winning journalist Dave Scheiber, published Covert: My Years Infiltrating the Mob (Sterling Publishing, 978-1-4027-5442-2, Hardcover, 2008; 978-1-4027-6714-2, trade paper, 2009) and Surviving the Shadows: A Journey of Hope into Post-traumatic Stress (Sourcebooks, 978-1-4022-6355-2, 2011). Covert is the true story of Delaney's undercover life in a landmark 1970s Mafia investigation, dubbed "Project Alpha," for which he risked his life wearing a wire as a young New Jersey State Trooper, taking on a new identity as a mob associate. He also writes about his overcoming PTSD through the sport of basketball, and career as an elite NBA referee. Surviving the Shadows tells the stories of brave men and women whose lives were plunged into despair by post-traumatic stress but who learned to cope, with Delaney's help, by sharing their struggles with others who underwent similar trauma. For more than a quarter of a century, Delaney was a fixture as a referee on the hardwood courts of the National Basketball Association (NBA). But what Delaney did--and has done--off the courts defines his true legacy: It is his less visible, life-saving work of the last four decades, helping active members and veterans of the U.S. armed forces, law enforcement, fire fighters, and first responders--the often under-appreciated heroes who put their lives on the line for the rest of us every day--cope with the devastating effects of post-traumatic stress. Delaney comes by his healing wisdom from hard-won experience. He learned about PTSD first-hand, developing the condition after emerging from his grueling and prolonged undercover work. Helping others suffering from the debilitating effects of post-traumatic has been a driving force in his life. Former President Barack Obama and senior-ranking military leaders have honored Delaney for his contributions to PTSD awareness--stemming from his multiple visits with U.S. troops in Iraq and Afghanistan, and throughout Europe, Asia, and the United States. In addition, Delaney was twice awarded the U.S. Army Outstanding Civilian Service Medal, presented by General Raymond T. Odierno (retired U.S. Army Chief of Staff) and Four-Star General (ret.) Robert W. Cone. In 2020, the NCAA bestowed its highest honor on him: the Theodore Roosevelt Award, previously given four U.S. presidents (Dwight Eisenhower, Gerald Ford, George H.W. Bush and Ronald Reagan). More recently, Delaney has become deeply involved with the prestigious Harvard Global Mental Health initiative, which focuses on traumas and psychological burdens experienced throughout the world.
Mayo Clinic Strategies to Reduce Burnout by
Mayo Clinic Strategies to Reduce Burnout: 12 Actions to Create the Ideal Workplace tells the story of the evolving journey of those in the medical profession. It dwells not on the story of burnout, distress, compassion fatigue, moral injury, and cognitive dissonance but rather on a narrativeof hope for professional fulfillment, well-being, joy, and camaraderie. Achieving this aim requires health care professionals and administrative leaders working together to create the ideal workplace - through nurturing positivity and pushing negativity aside. The ultimate aspiration is esprit decorps - the common spirit existing in members of a group that inspires enthusiasm, devotion, loyalty, camaraderie, engagement, and strong regard for the welfare of the team and of common interests and responsibilities.Mayo Clinic Strategies to Reduce Burnout: 12 Actions to Create the Ideal Workplace provides a road map for you to create esprit de corps for your team and organization. The map is paved with information about reliable, patient-centered, and thoughtful systems embedded within psychologically safe andjust cultures. The authors drew on their extensive research on the well-being of health care professionals; from their experience in quality, department operations, leadership and organization development, management, safe havens, and care teams; and from their roles as president, chief wellnessofficer, chief quality officer, chair, principal investigator, senior fellow, and board director.
Oral health psychology : psychological aspects related to dentistry by 
Oral Psychophysiology by
First published in 1992. Oral Psychophysiology: Stress, Pain, and Behavior in Dental Care presents the many different behavioral aspects of dental treatment, including specific dento-related behavioral dysfunctions (fear, anxiety and phobia, excessive gagging reflex, orofacial pain). Special attention is given to the specific problems of elderly dental patients, including possible problems in adapting to dentures. The effects of stress on physiological conditions in the oral cavity and stress-related behavior, such as syncope or inability to achieve local anesthesia, are discussed. The book also summarizes possible treatment modalities for patients who find it difficult to cope with the various aspects of dental care, such as behavior modification, hypnosis, and pharmaceutical approaches. Oral Psychophysiology: Stress, Pain, and Behavior in Dental Care is an indispensable resource for dentists and dental students who occasionally encounter "problematic" patients. The handling of such patients requires more than the usual, familiar, manual skills and is often a source of stress and frustration to the dentist. By developing an understanding of the underlying principles of the behavior of these patients, a clinician will be able to create a better interpersonal relationship with his/her patients, prevent some of the potential problems, and solve others.
Preventing Burnout and Building Engagement in the Healthcare Workplace by
Healthcare workers have been experiencing the ripple effects of increasing strain, staffing shortages, and anxiety since early 2020. Undoubtedly, stress and burnout are having substantial systemic, financial, and human impact on healthcare organizations. Preventing Burnout and Building Engagement in the Healthcare Workplace addresses these concerns and offers ways to foster your employees' engagement in their work. The book describes how to identify common underlying stressors that lead to employee burnout, tactics for shifting the attention away from individuals and toward improving the stressful environment in which they work, and techniques for evaluating interventions. Healthcare leaders can use this practical guide to help their staff recover from burnout and regain a sense of passion for their work. This new edition comes at a time when the pandemic has worsened the most severe strain drivers in healthcare organizations while also bringing a slew of new stressors. The author distills lessons learned from both research and personal experience to help healthcare leaders prepare for the next disruption.
Preventing Burnout and Building Engagement in the Healthcare Workplace by
Healthcare workers have been experiencing the ripple effects of increasing strain, staffing shortages, and anxiety since early 2020. Undoubtedly, stress and burnout are having substantial systemic, financial, and human impact on healthcare organizations. Preventing Burnout and Building Engagement in the Healthcare Workplace addresses these concerns and offers ways to foster your employees' engagement in their work. The book describes how to identify common underlying stressors that lead to employee burnout, tactics for shifting the attention away from individuals and toward improving the stressful environment in which they work, and techniques for evaluating interventions. Healthcare leaders can use this practical guide to help their staff recover from burnout and regain a sense of passion for their work. This new edition comes at a time when the pandemic has worsened the most severe strain drivers in healthcare organizations while also bringing a slew of new stressors. The author distills lessons learned from both research and personal experience to help healthcare leaders prepare for the next disruption.
Resilience and Well-Being for Dental Professionals by
Resilience and Well-being for Dental Professionals Essential reading for dental professionals and other healthcare workers wanting to build emotional resilience and positive mental health Dentistry is a high-stress profession with elevated rates of anxiety, depression, burnout, suicidal thoughts and self-harm. Chronic workplace stress is a growing concern as it can severely damage the mental health of dental professionals and negatively impact their ability to provide appropriate care. Psychological interventions have been shown to greatly benefit the well-being and emotional resilience of the medical and healthcare community, yet resources that provide preventative tools are limited. Resilience and Well-being for Dental Professionals, is designed not only to combat occupational hazards in Dentistry, such as burnout and compassion fatigue, but also to build resilience, engagement at work and nurture positive mental health through a variety of evidence-based tools. This invaluable guide helps readers utilise tools from the science of well-being (Positive Psychology, Mindfulness, Cognitive Behavioural Therapy and Acceptance and Commitment Therapy), to create happier, thriving careers. It includes: Tools from resilience interventions to help dental professionals implement preventative habits and take steps towards positive mental health Focus on self awareness in recognizing burnout early Positive psychology and well-being exercises, customised for dental professionals, to help you meld together research and application: from journaling and creative exercises to nature-based and activities at work Measure and track well-being using psychological scales Manage difficult emotions, practice mindfulness and self-compassion, develop a culture of kindness and gratitude at work, utilise a growth mindset when upskilling, harness positive leadership and use strengths, with patients and at home Create habits that stick through applying the psychology of goal setting, behaviour change, motivation psychology, work-life harmony and happiness Written by a Positive Psychologist, and Dentist, with more than 12 years' clinical dentistry experience within a stressful NHS environment, Resilience and Well-being for Dental Professionals is a must-have resource for all dental students, hygienists, therapists, dentists, dental nurses, dental technicians, specialists and allied healthcare workers.
Resilience and Well-Being for Dental Professionals by
Resilience and Well-being for Dental Professionals Essential reading for dental professionals and other healthcare workers wanting to build emotional resilience and positive mental health Dentistry is a high-stress profession with elevated rates of anxiety, depression, burnout, suicidal thoughts and self-harm. Chronic workplace stress is a growing concern as it can severely damage the mental health of dental professionals and negatively impact their ability to provide appropriate care. Psychological interventions have been shown to greatly benefit the well-being and emotional resilience of the medical and healthcare community, yet resources that provide preventative tools are limited. Resilience and Well-being for Dental Professionals, is designed not only to combat occupational hazards in Dentistry, such as burnout and compassion fatigue, but also to build resilience, engagement at work and nurture positive mental health through a variety of evidence-based tools. This invaluable guide helps readers utilise tools from the science of well-being (Positive Psychology, Mindfulness, Cognitive Behavioural Therapy and Acceptance and Commitment Therapy), to create happier, thriving careers. It includes: Tools from resilience interventions to help dental professionals implement preventative habits and take steps towards positive mental health Focus on self awareness in recognizing burnout early Positive psychology and well-being exercises, customised for dental professionals, to help you meld together research and application: from journaling and creative exercises to nature-based and activities at work Measure and track well-being using psychological scales Manage difficult emotions, practice mindfulness and self-compassion, develop a culture of kindness and gratitude at work, utilise a growth mindset when upskilling, harness positive leadership and use strengths, with patients and at home Create habits that stick through applying the psychology of goal setting, behaviour change, motivation psychology, work-life harmony and happiness Written by a Positive Psychologist, and Dentist, with more than 12 years' clinical dentistry experience within a stressful NHS environment, Resilience and Well-being for Dental Professionals is a must-have resource for all dental students, hygienists, therapists, dentists, dental nurses, dental technicians, specialists and allied healthcare workers.
The Resilient Healthcare Organization by
Professional burnout is an epidemic in America. Approximately half of physicians and nurses are affected and at risk for themselves and their patients. Much has been written about professional burnout. The term was originally coined in the 1970s by American psychologist Herbert Freudenberger to describe the consequences of severe stress and high ideals experienced by people working in "helping" professions. Since then, many books have been written to address this looming national public health crisis. But, unfortunately, there has been much less written from a solution standpoint: getting to the root cause of why this is occurring now more than ever. The Resilient Healthcare Organization engages readers focusing on physicians and healthcare professionals and their experiences and how they overcame a loss of enthusiasm for work, feelings of cynicism, and a low sense of personal accomplishment. The feelings of emotional exhaustion are characterized by depersonalization and perceived ineffectiveness. These are the cardinal features that define "burnout" and affect almost 50% of physicians and 30-70% of nurses. This book addresses why burnout is viewed as a threat and how it can be fought. The author discusses the contributing factors and solutions at the health system and societal level. Additionally, this book explores the current and future etiology and impacts on physicians and healthcare professionals, with a significant emphasis on solutions at both the individual level and the system level. Contributors: Patricia S. Normand MD, Bruce Flareau, MD, Kathleen Ferket, MSN, APRN, Daniel Edelman, DO, and Peter B. Angood, MD.
Surviving fears in health and social care : the terrors of night and the arrows of day by 
Workplace Wellness from Resiliency to Suicide Prevention and Grief Management by
This book uniquely provides actionable strategies along the wellness continuum in multiple dimensions: personal, institutional and professional; while applicable across disciplines: nursing and allied health, advanced practice providers and physicians. Further, the content is presented in a manner that can be taught to those entering the workforce, or serve as a primer for Wellness Officers. Most mental health texts focus on the needs of patients and ignore the mental health needs of clinicians. This book fills that gap embracing wellness initiatives as a matter of mental health. Wellness strategies for Inclusion Diversity and Equity are presented. The often ignored subject of suicide is approached head-on with evidence-based strategies for prevention. At the far end of the continuum of wellness, grief management after losing a colleague to death and/or suicide will be addressed. Each chapter includes learning objectives, a brief presentation of the science, application of principles into wellness practice, opportunities for future research and discussion questions. Artwork created by healthcare workers are included to augment transfer of knowledge through art as a way of knowing. Videos are offered to demonstrate through simulation lessons taught through the book.
