Guides: Clinical Rotation Resources: Research

Overview

In addition to the resources located in the Point-of-Care category, the titles below can be essential when attempting to answer a complex clinical question. RefWorks is a bilbiographic management software program that facilitates the management of your search results.

Key Resources

Cochrane Library (All Databases)
A collection of evidence resources to inform healthcare decision-making from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.
more...less...
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes
 Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
 Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
 Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
And other more databases

PubMed
Mobile version is available. PubMed is the public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature (from PubMed Central). PubMed is the public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature. PubMedPlus is an enhanced version with links to full-text journals that the Penn Library subscribes to. The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature.

Structured search can obtain more relevant search results than keyword search. Contact us to learn how to build structured search.

MEDLINE (Ovid)
MEDLINE is a premier database for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature.
more...less...
MEDLINE is a premier database for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Resources in all languages are represented.

Structured search can obtain more relevant search results than keyword search. Contact us to learn how to build structured search.
EMBASE (Ovid)
A database that identifies articles from the worldwide literature on biomedical and pharmaceutical sciences.
more...less...
EMBASE provides current and comprehensive information on drugs and pharmacology, and all other aspects of human medicine and related disciplines. The database covers over 2,000 biomedical titles not currently offered by MEDLINE.

Structured search can obtain more relevant search results than keyword search. Contact us to learn how to build structured search.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Government information on healthcare effectiveness and guidelines
more...less...
AHRQ is the lead Federal agency charged with supporting research designed to improve the quality of healthcare, reduce its cost, improve patient safety, decrease medical errors and broaden access to evidence-based information on healthcare outcomes.

Scopus
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
RefWorks
RefWorks allows users to create personal citation databases by importing references from online databases. o RefWorks allows users to create personal citation databases by importing references from online databases. RefWorks features also facilitate manuscript preparation, allowing for automatic formatting of the paper and the bibliography. RefWorks is similar in function to bibliographic management software products such as EndNote, Reference Manager, and ProCite, and citations from these programs can be easily imported into RefWorks. RefWorks differs in that personal databases are stored on the RefWorks server and can be accessed through the Penn Library institutional account from wherever the user happens to be

Clinical Rotation Resources: Research

Table of Contents

Overview

Key Resources