Guides: Clinical Rotation Resources: Point of Care Resources

Subjects

CEBM Journal Watch

Overview

Resources listed below allow for a quick search to find evidence-based clinical information to answer your clinical questions. Keyword search is appropriate for most of the resources listed.

Key Resources

Dynamed Plus
Mobile version is available. Dynamed is a clinical reference tool with clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics.
more...less...
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the point-of-care. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics. Updated daily.

UpToDate
Mobile version is available. UpToDate covers topic reviews involving all of the major aspects of a particular condition, including symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options. UpToDate covers over 9,000 topics across 19 medical specialties. Over 4,800 physician authors and editors , all experts in their respective fields, write topic reviews that cover all of the major aspects of a particular condition, including symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options. All topics are also subjected to rigorous peer review.
ClinicalKey
Access over 2 million journal articles, over 1,100 e-books, and hundreds of procedures and point of care references. You can find drug monographs, practice guidelines, images, and patient education material.
PubMed
Mobile version is available. PubMed is the public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature (from PubMed Central). PubMed is the public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature. PubMedPlus is an enhanced version with links to full-text journals that the Penn Library subscribes to. The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature.
Structured search can obtain more relevant search results than keyword search. Contact us to learn how to build structured search.
Ucentral / Unbound Medicine
Unbound Medicine is a portal to medical information including Medline, journal table of contents, e-book content (Clinical Evidence, Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests). It is accessible in three ways: web, handheld device and wireless.

More Resources

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
more...less...
o Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: 1) Complete reviews - Regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups 2) Protocols - Protocols for reviews currently being prepared (all include an expected date of completion). Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation.
ACP Journal Club
Published by American College of Physicians on a monthly basis in Annals of Internal Medicine.
more...less...
The American College of Physicians publishes ACP Journal Club, under the editorship of R. Brian Haynes, MD, PhD, at McMaster University, on a monthly basis in Annals of Internal Medicine. More than 100 journals in biomedical field are reviewed. Original studies and systematic reviews are summarized in value-added abstracts and commented by clinical experts.

Ucentral / Unbound Medicine
Mobile version is available. Unbound Medicine is a portal to medical information including Medline, journal table of contents, and e-book content (Clinical Evidence, Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests).

CINAHL
This database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.
more...less...
Material from over 950 journals are included in CINAHL; online abstracts are available for more than 150 of these titles. Publications from the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing are indexed. The database also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing.

APA PsycInfo
The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields. The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields. Coverage is worldwide. Sources are in English and over thirty languages. Updated monthly.

Subject Guide

Sherry Morgan

Email Me

Subjects: Nursing

Clinical Rotation Resources: Point of Care Resources

Table of Contents