Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Sources for Grey Literature
Here are listed some general sources of grey literature. Some focus on the health sciences, while others are more general in scope.
A search engine for evidence-based clinical information. Results are sorted by type of evidence including: evidence-based synopses, systematic reviews, guidelines, primary research, textbooks and information for patients.
National Technical Information Service
U.S. Government Documents
In-depth guide to U.S. Government document resources at the University of Pennsylvania
DocuTicker collects abstracts from 'grey literature': PDF reports published by government agencies, think tanks, NGOs, research institutes and other public interest groups.
Searching Databases for Grey Literature
The following databases include various types of grey literature along with publisher-controlled literature. If you are interested in searching only for grey literature, consider restricting the "publication type" in your search. These types can include: technical report, dissertation, patent, meeting paper, annual report or government publication, among others.
Coverage of over 1,800 biomedical titles not offered by Medline/PubMed
The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields. Coverage is worldwide. Sources are in English and over thirty languages.
USDA database covering a wide variety of topics including physiology, nutrition, food science and microbiology.
Regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases.
Web of Science
Citation index - a great place to review reference list for studies and reports not found elsewhere.