Guides: Grey Literature in the Health Sciences: Statistics and Datasets

Health Statistics and Datasets

These are some general sources for health data and statistics. Consider looking at specific associations or institutes if you are looking for statistics on a particular topic. For example, if you are looking for information on diabetes, you may want to consult the American Diabetes Association Web site.

National Center of Health Statistics
U.S. principal health statistics agency. Includes statistics by topic, surveys, publications and data sets.
HealthData.gov
Collects high value health data together and allows you to search or browse for datasets by topic.
CDC Data and Statistics
Provides access to data and statistics by topic and other CDC tools and resources related to data collection and statistics.
Health and Medical Care Archive
Data archive of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. Preserves and disseminates data collected by selected research projects funded by the Foundation and facilitates secondary analyses of the data.
HCUPnet
Allows querying of data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). Provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.
Canadian Institute for Health Information
Links to quick stats, statistical reports, interactive tools and databases. Some tools and databases require login.
Health Services and Sciences Research Resources
HSRR is a searchable database of information about research datasets, instruments/indices and software used in health services research
Database of Online Health Statistics
From the Institute of Health Economics (Canada). Can browse by geographic area or health topic.
Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems
CAHPS data is focused on consumer and patient evaluations of health care.
more...less...
The site provides access to the surveys and guidance as to their use. Researchers can request access to CAHPS survey results.
CANCERMondial
Cancer epidemiology from the International Agency for Research on Cancer.
more...less...
Provides access to databases containing information on the occurrence of cancer worldwide, including incidence and mortality data.
National Association of Health Data Organizations
National association dedicated to improving health care data collection and use.
more...less...
Site provides a list of State Data Agencies, although full profile information requires membership.

Other Statistics and Datasets

The resources listed here are not specifically focused on the health sciences, but may include this type of information or provide basic science data of interest.

Data.gov
U.S. federal government datasets can be searched or browsed by topic or agency. Site also includes links to apps and other open data sites.
DOE Data Explorer
Data generated in the course of DOE-sponsored research in various science disciplines.
more...less...
Includes computer simulations, numeric data files, figures and plots, interactive maps, multimedia, and scientific images.