Skip to main content

Finding Images : Find Images @ Penn

This guide will show you how to find images for coursework, teaching and/or publication.

ARTstor Digital Library

The Artstor Digital Library features a wide range of multidisciplinary content from some of the world’s top museums, artists, libraries, scholars, and photo archives, including rare collections not accessible anywhere else. With approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million images (and growing), scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single resource.  

Accessing ARTstor:  Navigate to the Franklin home page, look to the left, and click on Artstor collections plus Penn

 

Licensed Content @ Penn

Other Penn Collections

What's in "ARTstor collections plus Penn?"

ARTstor + Penn

The ARTstor Digital Library combines a variety of collections with a variety of access levels which can be crossed-search through the platform. 
 

ARTstor Collections: These collections are extensive and representative visual resources of images for teaching and research in the arts, humanities and social sciences. The collections are built through partnerships with museums, libraries, photographers, and photographic archives. These collections are available to Artstor partners and Artstor subscribers, like Penn Libraries.  Images in these collections carry an ARTstor label (see left-hand image).

 

 

 

Institutional Collections: Institutional Collections provide content available ‚Äčexclusively to Penn. Many of these collections are also available as Public Collections (see below).  The Fisher Fine Arts Library's Fine Arts Image Collection is restricted to only Penn. Penn's Institutional Collections include 22+ collections ranging from fine arts to Holy Land archival photography to medical devices. To access these collections, login to ARTstor with your ARTstor login or connect to the resource through Franklin and authenticate via Penn Login. Once logged in, click "Browse" and navigate to "Institutional Collections."
 

Public Collections: ARTstor provides hundreds of "Public Collections" which include many of Penn Libraries' collections such as the Materials Library Collection, the University Archives digital collection, the Marian Anderson Collection of Photographs, and many, many more. Public Collections images may be downloaded for research. Here, one can also access other collections from research libraries, universities, and scholarly organizations, e.g. Claire Holt Papers: Images of Indonesian Art, Architecture, and Culture, Yale University's Dura-Europos Collection, or Dartmouth's Portuguese-language Film Collection among so many rich offerings.

 

General Image Search Engines

Compfight - Image search engine that locates high-resolution images with Creative Commons licenses for use in presentations, blogs, etc. Also retrieves stock photos.
 
Fotolia - Fotolia is a world-leading image bank, providing instant access to over 42 million images, vectors, illustrations and video clips. It is powered by a diverse international community of artists, graphic designers and agencies who bring you tens of thousands of new and unique images, illustrations and videos every single day.
 
Google Image Search - Tip: Use advanced search or facets to limit by image size, images within a domain/site (e.g. site: getty.edu), and usage rights.

PicSearch -  An image search service with more than 3,000,000,000 pictures

TinEye Reverse Image Search - Submit an image to TinEye to find out where it came from, how it is being used, if modified versions of the image exist, or to find higher resolution versions.

 
Unsplash - Free high-resolution photos.10 new photos will be sent to your email address every 10 days if you subscribe.