Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Properties for Pseudopotentials: Magnetic Data

This guide teaches researchers how to locate some basic physical properties of elements and oxides, specifically required for generating and testing pseudopotentials.

Magnetic Data in the CRC Handbook

Section 4 of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics deals with properties of the elements and inorganic substances and includes a section entitled, "Magnetic Susceptibility of the Elements and Inorganic Compounds," beginning on p.4-131  You can access the CRC Handbook either in print in the Chemistry Library Reading Room on online.  If you want to use the online version, please follow these steps to zoom directly to the table in question.

  1. Visit http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6933, which will take you to the main page of the CRC Handbook.
  2. In the Table of Contents, at the left, click on the + sign beside Section 4: Properties of the Elements and Inorganic Compounds.
  3. Click the link to the subsection Magnetic Susceptibility of the Elements and Inorganic Compounds, and browse to find the substance or element that interests you.
  4. If you prefer, there is an interactive table, linked directly below this subsection, that you can use to find the magnetic susceptibility that you need.

Finding Magnetic Data in Knovel

Knovel is a collection of more than one thousand online reference books and monographs in all areas of science and engineering.  Its data search allows you to find property information, while the keyword search helps you to search the full text of the works included.

Finding Magnetic Data in Reaxys

Reaxys contains the properties and reactions of more than 22 million organic, inorganic, and organometallic substances, including elements, diatomic gases, and metal oxides.  You can link to Reaxys by visiting http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/76928.  

Finding Magnetic Data in SciFinder

The CAS Registry contains almost 70 million substances and over 60 million sequences, providing seamless linking from substance records into the primary literature.  To use SciFinder, follow this link: http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/7033.