Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Printed Reference Sources
Reference works make excellent starting points for research; they provide concise articles on key topics by scholars of the field, often accompanied by suggestions for further reading. The sources listed below are print volumes usually shelved in Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks, on the first floor of Van Pelt. Often, those books for which there is an online version are housed in LIBRA, the offsite storage annex. To search for more reference works on Latino Studies in the collections try this subject search: Hispanic American* Encyclopedias (the asterisk is used for truncation).
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by
Call Number: Research Annex E184.S75 O97 2005
Publication Date: 2005-08-25
"[T]he Encyclopediadraws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Over 900 A to Z articles ranging in length from 500 words to 7,500 words written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history. Each entry has its own bibliography and cross-references and is signed by its author." See the link to the online version at the left.
Encyclopedia Latina by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference E184.S75 E587 2005
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
An interdisciplinary reference work in four volumes and 650 entries. It seeks to cover all aspects of Latino life including the arts, media, politics, science and technology, business, health, sports, etc.
Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference E184.S75 E59 2004
Publication Date: 2004-10-30
"The wide range of entries with many areas of unique coverage will meet the high demand for multidisciplinary use. Students and other readers will appreciate the inclusiveness of cultural groups, the gender sensitivity, and the heavy contextual grounding of the topics."
Latino History and Culture by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference E184.S75 L3622 2010
Publication Date: 2009-10-07
"This two-volume encyclopedia traces the history of Latinos in the United States from colonial times to the present...[and] explores issues such as labor, legal and illegal immigration, traditional and immigrant culture, health, education, political activism, art, literature, and family, as well as historical events and developments. A-Z entries...[include] cross references and bibliographic citations."
Latino America: A State-by-State Encyclopedia by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference E184.S75 L35555 200
Publication Date: 2008-10-30
"The overlooked history and the debates over new immigration from Mexico and Central America are illuminated by this first state-by-state history of people termed Latinos or Hispanics. Much of this information is hard to find and has never been researched before. Students and other readers will be able to trace the Latino presence through time per state through a chronology and historical overview and read about noteworthy Latinos in the state and the cultural contributions Latinos have made to communities in that state."
A Companion to Latina/o Studies by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference E184.S75 C648 2007
Publication Date: 2007
"...collection of 40 original essays ...[brings] together in one volume a diverse range of original essays by established and emerging scholars in the field of Latina/o Studies."
Reference Sources Online
Reference works make excellent starting points for research; they provide concise articles on key topics by scholars of the field, often accompanied by suggestions for further reading.The following are available online through the Penn Library website.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Over 900 A to Z articles on identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, history, etc. Entries include bibliography and cross-references.
The Afro-Latin@ Reader: History and Culture in the United States
“The collected works in The Afro-Latin@ Reader broaden definitions of blackness and latinidad and reveal the multiple ways in which Afro-Latino/as navigate national and cultural histories that have consistently denigrated or dismissed their African heritage and challenge US racial classifications that dismiss their cultural background and linguistic difference." Paper copy at Van Pelt Library E185.615 .A37 2010.
Testimonio: a Documentary History of the Mexican American Struggle for Civil Rights
Rosales collects illuminating documents from the early 1800s to the modern era that shed light on the Mexican-American quest for life, liberty, and justice. Documents include petitions, correspondence, government reports, political proclamations, newspaper items, congressional testimony, memoirs, and even international treaties.
Subject-specific reference sources