It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Most of the electronic resources available at the library can be accessed by Penn students, faculty, and staff via the library's proxy server. Click this link for information on off-campus access.
In the health sciences, grey literature is vital for developing a more complete view of research on a particular topic and for producing systematic reviews and other rigorous approaches to evidence synthesis. For more information on grey literature, including tips on how to find grey literature, click here.
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
EMBASE provides current and comprehensive information on drugs and pharmacology, and all other aspects of human medicine and related disciplines. The database covers over 2,000 biomedical titles not currently offered by MEDLINE.
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
The premier database for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Resources in all languages are represented.
Bibliographic citations (1915-) with indexing on contemporary public affairs and policy issues worldwide related to a wide range of topics: agriculture, banking, finance, business, demographics, education, health, environment, planning, public administration, law and legislation, and international relations.
PubMed is a freely accessible bibliographic database that comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDNLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher websites.
The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. The PubMed version of MEDLINE includes the PREMEDLINE database, which provides very current basic citati on information and abstracts before the full records are prepared and added to MEDLINE. New records are added to PREMEDLINE daily. In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE, PubMed includes all articles from that jo urnal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE. PubMed is also the literature component of the Entrez retrieval system for molecular biology information.
PubMed Plus is a bibliographic database that comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDNLINE and life science journals. Follow the PennText icons to access full-text articles that are part of UPenn's subscription.
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
SpringerProtocols is the largest subscription-based electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the life and biomedical sciences. SpringerProtocols compiles protocols from the Humana Press book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a large number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals, for laboratory usage.
Freely accessible toxicology, environmental health, and chemical databases and other information resources from the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program, National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.
The WHO Reproductive Health Library (RHL) is an electronic review journal published by the Department of Reproductive Health and Research at WHO.
Citing Your Work
Scholarly research incorporates ideas that are developed through the analysis of primary and secondary sources, and consequently all scholarly research builds on the works of others. Proper documentation allows you to ethically use the work of others while demonstrating your research abilities and command of the literature.
A citation manager helps you keep track of articles and books as you find them, tag and annotate them, and easily create citations and bibliographies in Microsoft Word. Each manager has options for group-based collaborative research, its own plug-in for Microsoft Word, built-in connections to Google Scholar, common library reference databases, and some have browser plug-ins for easy capture of web links.