Guides: Philadelphia Studies: Secondary Sources

Books

Franklin is your guide to books here at Penn Libraries. Searching by subject heading (the topic of the book) will yield the best results, once you have identified the subject heading of interest. Some useful subject headings include:

WorldCat is a valuable resource for searching the catalogs of other libraries. WorldCat can be searched using the same subject headings you used in Franklin. If you find something not held at Penn, you may request it via BorrowDirect, EZBorrow, or Interlibrary Loan.

Article Databases

Urban Studies Abstracts
Covers scholarly literature in urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Covers architecture, architectural design, archeology, furniture and decoration, historic preservation, the history of architecture, interior design, landscape architecture, urban planning.
America: History and Life
A bibliographic database indexing books, book chapters, and over 1,800 journals relating to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Sociological Abstracts
Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs.

Dissertations

Proquest Dissertations and Theses Fulltext (formerly Dissertation Abstracts)
Indexing (since 1861) and abstracting (since 1980) for doctoral-level dissertations completed at North American universities. Fulltext of all available dissertations from 1997 to present, with some earlier dissertations. Search for Philadelphia as a Subject.