Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Map Gallery has PDFs of maps for land use planning, open space, and trail network. Interactive Maps has traffic, environmental justice, and other mapping applications.
SEPTA Official Philadelphia Transit and Street Map
PDF from SEPTA. Print version available at Van Pelt Reference Desk.
Interactive web map of city facilities, parks, and service areas. Maps exportable to PDF.
Philadelphia neighborhoods are fluid entities without fixed boundaries. The resources below describe commonly accepted neighborhood boundaries. (For demographic or other data on neighborhoods, see Social & Cultural.)
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
The Sanborn Map Company helped fire insurance companies set rates in the late 19th and early 20th centuries with these detailed maps of each built structure, its use, dimensions, height, building material, and other relevant features (fire alarms, water mains and hydrants, for example).
Philadelphia Geohistory Network
Scanned historic maps from the Philadelphia Area Consortium of Special Collections Libraries.
Interactive map that recreates the survey W.E.B. Du Bois conducted of Philadelphia's Seventh Ward for his 1899 classic book, The Philadelphia Negro.
Mapping West Philadelphia 1777
Interactive map of parcels of land as they existed in 1777, along with parcel owner, area, and year acquired.
Fisher Fine Arts Library Collection
Ward atlases, Hexamer insurance maps.
Rare Book and Manuscript Library Collection
RBML's collection of print maps and atlases.
Philadelphia Historic Streets Index
Searchable database of street name changes within Philadelphia, compiled from original road records, docket books, jury decisions, and surveys held by the Philadelphia City Archives.
American Memory Map Collection
The Library of Congress' digitized map collection can be searched by location. Images can be downloaded in high-resolution MrSID or JPEG2000 format, which require separate applications to view.
NOAA Historical Map and Chart Collection
Search the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's collection of over 20,000 nautical charts, hydrographic surveys, topographic surveys, geodetic surveys, city plans and Civil War battle maps, including over 400 Philadelphia-area maps. In MrSID format.
1940 Census Enumeration District Maps
Boundaries of enumeration districts used to conduct the census, 1940. Downloadable as JPGs from NARA.