Philadelphia Studies: Archives

Provides centralized access for searching and retrieval of archival records and finding aids, including finding aids indexed centrally at RLG and others located on servers around the world and records in RLG's AMC (Archival and Mixed Collections) file. AMC provides researchers with timely and comprehensive access to brief, high-level information for nearly half a million collections of manuscripts and archives.

Database containing the records of all material cataloged by OCLC libraries, including hundreds in the United States and some major libraries in other countries. Manuscript collections that are cataloged by these libraries will appear in Worldcat.

Directory of Philadelphia archival resources, 1994.

Survey of special collections in the Philadelphia region relating to business and economic history.

A little dated, but still an extremely useful starting point for identifying Philadelphia-area special collections.

Union catalog, Finding aids, links to institutional catalogs, and other resources for searching special collections in the Philadelphia region.

Temple University’s Urban Archives document the social, economic, political, and physical development of the greater Philadelphia region throughout the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.

The archives' mission is to preserve all City records not in current use which possess historical, administrative, legal, research, cultural or other important value.

Maintains the historically significant records of the Federal Agencies and Courts, in Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia and West Virginia, 1789-present.

Records representative of important Zionist, cultural, educational, religious, beneficial and fraternal organizations, and synagogues.

Excellent collections on local and regional history, and a manuscript collection renowned for its 17th-, 18th-, and 19th-century holdings.