Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CINE 024: Hollywood Film Industry: Overview

Background Information

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Under Browse by Subject, select Cinema & Media Studies. There are overviews here on such topics as Censorship, Film Theory Before 1945, and Women in Film.

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
Encyclopedia covers topics like production, national cinemas, studios, genres, theory and film history. A-Z index, short bios, and further recommended sources.

Oxford Dictionary of Film Studies
Defines terms and concepts in film theory and criticism, film movements and genres, film industry organizations, practices and technical terms.

Film and Person Search

Film Index International - Film info includes plot summaries, awards, recommended scholarly articles and reviews. Person info includes real names, age, awards, filmography. From the silent era to the present, including international films and personalities.

Cinema Studies Databases

Primary Sources

Moving Picture World cover

Variety

Variety    

Variety - A major Hollywood industry trade magazine, Variety includes box office statistics and more.

Subject Guide

DVDs

  • To search for a film, use Franklin.
  • Want us to buy a film? Email us with your suggestion.


To check out a DVD, write down the DVD number and take it to the staff at the Circulation Desk.