Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Under Browse by Subject, select Cinema & Media Studies. There are overviews here on such topics as Censorship, Film Theory Before 1945, and Women in Film.
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
Encyclopedia covers topics like production, national cinemas, studios, genres, theory and film history. A-Z index, short bios, and further recommended sources.
Oxford Dictionary of Film Studies
Defines terms and concepts in film theory and criticism, film movements and genres, film industry organizations, practices and technical terms.
Film and Person Search
Film Index International - Film info includes plot summaries, awards, recommended scholarly articles and reviews. Person info includes real names, age, awards, filmography. From the silent era to the present, including international films and personalities.
Cinema Studies Databases
Film & Television Literature Index
Covers film and television literature in all areas of film and television research: scholarly journals and industry publications, with selective coverage of other publications. Subjects covered include film and television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects of film and television, entertainment law, and film and television reviews. Index only.
Includes the sources: Animation (2005-); Cahiers du Cinéma (1987-); Film Comment (1984-); Screen (1971-); Sight & Sound (1987-)
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals is published by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) and contains several databases: the International Index to Film Periodicals, the International Index to Television Periodicals, the List of Periodicals Indexed, the Treasures from the Film Archives, the FIAF Affiliates Publications and the Film and TV Documentation Collections.
Film Index International
A reference work for films and biographical information about directors, producers, actors and more, from the British Film Institute (BFI). Unlike freely available resources such as the Internet Movie Database (IMDb), includes scholarly and academic work. Entries include credits, plot synopses, filmographies, important dates, citations of original reviews from the time of a film's release, interviews, and obituaries. More comprehensive coverage of international films than other indexes.
Tip: Use Advanced Search, scroll down, and check "Film Studies" only
New York Times and other major newspapers
CAIRN Bouquet Général
Film Literature Index (FLI)
Index only website from Indiana University. Last updated 2005.
Variety - A major Hollywood industry trade magazine, Variety includes box office statistics and more.
- To search for a film, use Franklin.
- Want us to buy a film? Email us with your suggestion.
To check out a DVD, write down the DVD number and take it to the staff at the Circulation Desk.