Guides: Social Policy & Practice: Evidence-Based Practice

Evidence-Based Practice

EBP Resources | EBP Books

EBP Resources

Agency for Healthcare and Research & Quality (AHRQ)
Locate evidence based practice reports from AHRQ a site supported by the US Dept of Health and Human Services. The topics focus on costly medical conditions and new health care technologies
SAMHSA Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center
The US Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration provides this collection of scientifically-based resources for a range of audiences. Topics include: Opioid-Specific Resources; Substance Use Prevention; Substance Use Treatment and Recovery; Mental Health
Trip: Turning Research into Practice
A search aggregate, combining searches for evidence-based literature across 60 different databases
Department of Education: What Works Clearinghouse
Reviews the existing research on different programs, products, practices, and policies in education
Department of Justice: Model Programs Guide
Contains information about evidence-based juvenile justice and youth prevention, intervention, and reentry programs
Evidence-Based Behavioral Practice (EBBP): Links to Searching for Evidence
Use this page to find recommended links for evidence, synthesized evidence, primary research literature, guidelines and empirically supported practices
OVID Evidence-Based Health Collection
Includes the following databases:
- The KSR Evidence database includes systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and certain health technology assessment (HTA) reports published since 2015 and currently contains over 25,000 critical appraisals and over 200,000 systematic reviews
- EGT is a comprehensive collection of evidence-based clinical practice guideline content, providing summaries and appraisals (TRUST Scorecards) of guidelines developed from systematic reviews.
- ECRI’s TRUST Scorecards identify how the guidelines adhere to the National Academy of Medicine (Institute of Medicine) standards for trustworthiness.
- Evidence-Based Practice, a monthly journal focused on providing answers to some of the most important and common questions derived from patient care experiences and the newest practice changing medical literature. Lippincott Solution’s team of clinical experts have reviewed, condensed, and extracted key information from lengthy practice guidelines and put them into streamlined, comprehensive guideline summaries.

EBP Books

Evidence-based practices for social workers: an interdisciplinary approach, 3rd ed. by O'Hare
Publication Date: 2021
"Teaches readers to 1) conduct clinical assessments informed by current human behaviour science; 2) implement interventions supported by current outcome research; and 3) engage in evaluation as part of daily practice to ensure effective implementation of evidence-based practices."
Behavioral intervention research: designing, evaluating, and implementing by Gitlin & Czaja
Publication Date: 2015
"Tackling numerous topics that have been neglected in traditional randomized trial handbooks, methodology texts, and books on dissemination and implementation science, the book addresses: ways to develop and advance an intervention, emerging hybrid trial designs - theories and new models for integrating behavioral interventions with implementation science - - recruitment and retention strategies for inclusion of diverse samples - research designs for different stages of intervention development - treatment fidelity models and measures - novel measurement and analytic strategies - cost analyses - selection of control groups - use of mixed methodology - ethics and informed consent - technology-based intervention approaches - professional considerations."
Evidence-Based Practice in Clinical Social Work, 2nd ed. by Drisko & Grady
Publication Date: 2019
"Using their breadth of multidisciplinary experience as practitioners, researchers, and educators, the authors guide readers through the EBP decision-making process in assessment, treatment planning, and evaluation, providing guidelines for making relevant use of research findings. The book places special emphasis on balancing clinical expertise and client needs, and analyzes both the strengths and limitations of the EBP model in order to give readers a fuller idea of how the method will shape their own practice."
Randomized controlled trials: Design and implementation for community-based psychosocial interventions by Solomon, Cavanaugh, & Draine
Publication Date: 2009
"A practical and accessible guide to RCTs in community-based practice settings. While providing a detailed, common-sense manual, the authors address numerous design and implementation challenges that are unique to practice settings, which are less-controlled environments than the typical clinic or consultation room."