Guides: Hispanic Studies: Music and Film

Spanish Videos at the Penn Libraries

Aurora de esperanza (Sau, 1937)

Videos from Spain in VCAT
These are videos produced in Spain (as opposed to videos in the Spanish language). VCAT, has not been updated in the last five years, but it has features customized to searching film.
Spanish-language Video in the Franklin catalog
Using the catalog's limit feature to the "Format" Video and "Language" Spanish.

Film Scripts

Coleccion Ocho y Medio
Ebook collection of Spanish film scripts and critical works on film.

Databases and Article Indexes for Film

MLA International Bibliography
Covers literature, languages, film, folklore, and linguistics in English and foreign languages.
EBSCO MegaFILE
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources.
Film Literature Index (FLI)
Contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews on film, tv, and video published between 1976-2001. Last updated 2005.

Cinema & Media Studies Databases & Article Indexes

Databases and Article Indexes for Music

Andrés Segovia

International Index to Music Periodicals, Full Text Edition (IIMP)
IIMP Full Text is a music information resource with indexing, abstracts and selected full text from many sources, covering the scholarly to the popular. Offering the widest span of scholarship available, IIMP Full Text ranges from 1874 to the most recent issues. IIMP draws its current content from more than 360 international music periodicals from over 20 countries
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Covers all aspects of music from journal articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, films and videos, conference proceedings and more. 1969 to the present.
Music Index Online
Data from more than 690 international music periodicals are reviewed for inclusion. Covers the classical and popular world of music and includes book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.
The editor-librarians at Harmonie Park Press survey data from more than 690 international music periodicals and review new journals for possible inclusion. Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are carefully categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject List. A broad range of subjects are indexed, covering musicological or organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries. (from Music Index website)

The Otto E. Albrecht Music Library
Web page of the Penn Music Library.

Reference Works for Film and Music

Black and white photo of Camaron de la Isla singing into microphone

Camaron de la Isla

Diccionario de la música española e hispanoamericana by director y coordinador general, Emilio Casares Rodicio
Call Number: Van Pelt Marian Anderson Music Study Center ML101.S7 D53 1999
ISBN: 8480483032
Publication Date: 1999-
10 volumes.
Historia de la Música en España E Hispanoamérica by Fondo de Cultura Económica
Call Number: Van Pelt Library ML315.H57 2009
ISBN: 8437506352
Publication Date: 2009-
Projected eight-volume set.
Diccionario Espasa cine español by Augusto M. Torres
Call Number: Van Pelt Library PN1993.5.S7 T67 1996
ISBN: 8423992411
Publication Date: 1996
Guía del cine español by Carlos Aguilar
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference PN1993.5.S7 A38 2007
ISBN: 8437624193
Publication Date: 2007
"Includes all Spanish films from 1897 to 2007."
Directory of Spanish and Portuguese Film-Makers and Films by Rafael De Espana (Editor)
Call Number: Van Pelt PN1993.5.S7 E83 1994
ISBN: 0313294593
Publication Date: 1994
"There are three indexes: Country Index, Film Title Index, and General Index. The index of film titles lists over 3,000 entries, including the original languages and their English language and aka equivalents."
Diccionario del cine iberoamericano : España, Portugal y América by editor y coordinador: Emilio Casares Rodicio
Call Number: Van Pelt Library PN1993.45 .D528 2011
ISBN: 8480488212
Publication Date: 2011
8 volumes.
Diccionario del cine español by dirigido por José Luis Borau
Call Number: Van Pelt Library PN1993.5.S7 D53 1998
ISBN: 8420652571
Publication Date: 1998

Spanish Film Sites

Cine y Audiovisuales
Web page of the Ministerio de Educación, Cultura y Deporte.
Filmoteca Española
PLAT Plataforma de Difusión e Investigación Audiovisual
Archive of free Spanish films.
Historia y crítica del cine español