Guides: Hispanic Studies: Reference: General, History, Literature

Online Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Histories

Encyclopedias

Gran Enciclopedia Planeta by Editorial Planeta
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference AE61 .G74 2006
ISBN: 8408466577
Publication Date: 2006
"This comprehensive Spanish-Language encyclopedia contains over 135,000 entries on a broad array of topics with a special emphasis on science, technology, geography, history, and art. Articles are simply organized with extensive cross-referencing, making this an excellent learning tool for bilingual students, native Spanish speakers, or students learning Spanish."
Enciclopedia universal ilustrada europeo-americana
Call Number: Van Pelt Library AE61 .E6
Publication Date: [1907?]-c1930
The most prestigious Spanish-language encyclopedia is 70 volumes plus appendices added after 1930. The appendices were brought together in a 2004 update Apéndice 1934-2004 (see below).
Enciclopedia universal ilustrada europeo-americana. Apéndice 1934-2004.
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference Van Pelt Reference AE61 .E6 Suppl. 2004
ISBN: 8467005327
Publication Date: 2004
8 volumes. An update of the 70 volume 1930 "Espasa-Calpe" (see above).
Enciclopedia hispánica
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference AE61 .E53 1991
ISBN: 0852295553
Publication Date: 1991
Published by Britannica.

History and Society

Reference works make excellent starting points for research; they provide concise articles on key topics by scholars of the field, often accompanied by suggestions for further reading. Many of the sources listed below are print volumes shelved in Van Pelt Library Stacks.

Felipe II de España (Anton Masson, Historia General de España, Tomo II, p. 1, Montaner y Simon Editores, 1879)

Historical Dictionary of Spain by Angel Smith
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference DP12 .S59 1996
ISBN: 0810830809
Publication Date: 1996
Historical Dictionary of Modern Spain, 1700-1988 by Robert W. Kern (Editor); Meredith D. Dodge (Editor)
Call Number: Van Pelt DP192 .H57 1990
ISBN: 0313259712
Publication Date: 1990
Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Empire, 1402-1975 by James S. Olson (Editor)
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference DP56 .H57 1992
ISBN: 0313264139
Publication Date: 1992
Enciclopedia de historia de España by dirigida por Miguel Artola
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference DP56 .E63 1988
ISBN: 8420652946
Publication Date: 1988-
Contents:
1. Economía. Sociedad
2. Instituciones politicas. Imperio
3. Iglesia. Pensamiento. Cultura
4. Diccionario biográfico
5. Diccionario temático
6. Cronología. Mapas. Estadísticas
7. Fuentes. Indice.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture by Eamonn Rodgers (Editor)
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference & University Museum Library Reference DP233.5 .E63 1999
ISBN: 0415131871
Publication Date: 1999
"Some 750 alphabetically-arranged entries... Coverage spans from the end of the Civil War in 1939 to the present day, with emphasis on the changes following the demise of the Franco dictatorship in 1975. Entries range from shorter, factual articles to longer overview essays offering in-depth treatment of major issues. Culture is defined in its broadest sense."
Spanish Culture and Society by Barry Jordan
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference DP233.5 .S73 2002
ISBN: 0340763418
Publication Date: 2002
"Designed specifically with undergraduates in mind, it contains around 400 short and accessible explanations of the key workds, events, figures, and concepts in Spain since 1939."