It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The resources listed here provide indexing to publications from broad disciplines such as engineering, medicine, chemistry and physics. They employ controlled vocabularies, or subject headings, to organize the material. To learn about how to search using keywords, controlled vocabularies, and subject headings, check out this 6-minute video.
The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented. Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.
Chemical information: bibliographic, compound and reaction information. Accessed via a Mac or Windows client (SciFinder Scholar) which can be downloaded to any campus workstation. The database can only be accessed from University-originating network addresses, with 5 simultaneous users permitted.
SciFinder Scholar can access:
Bibliographic information from Chemical Abstracts (CAPlus). Over 14 million citations to the literature of chemistry and its applications. The database includes the basic bibliographic information appearing in the print Chemical Abstracts, including abstracts and index terms.
Compound information from the Registry file. Over 18 million substances indexed by Chemical Abstracts. Can be searched using chemical name, molecular formula and structure.
Reaction information from the CASREACT file. Over 1.2 million single-step and 1.7 million multi-step reactions. Contains information on reactions of organic substances, including organometallics and biomolecules. Searchable by structure.
Covers agriculture, agronomy, animal science, breeding, dairy science, farm management, food and nutrition, and zoology.
Major Engineering Content Collections
Here is a sample list of major content providers for Engineering that Penn Libraries subscribes to. It is by no means a comprehensive list, but these do provide a significant amount of relevant material for NBIC projects. Please see the Engineering Library website for access to additional collections.
The SPIE Digital Library provides access to the full text of more than 200,000 technical papers from International Society for Optical Engineering journals and conference proceedings from 1990 to the present. It covers topics such as optics, photonics, electronic and biomedical imaging, sensing, communications and fiber optics, and micro- and nano-technology.
These resources index literature from a broad range of disciplines but do not employ controlled vocabularies. They do, however, track citations to and from publications that may be used to find relationships in the literature and as an indicator of a publication's relative importance in a field. To learn more about citation chasing, check out this 4-minute video.
Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching. Includes Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work.
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
So, you've found an article in a database and now you want to read the full text. Look for the PennText link or button in the article's detailed record.
Click on PennText to open a page with options for obtaining the full-text (see below for a screen capture).
If it is available online, there will be a link you can follow to the journal.
If it's not available online, follow the second link to check the Franklin Catalog to see if it is available in print.
If it's not found in Franklin, use the third option to submit a request for the item through Interlibrary Loan.