Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General overviews of doing ethnography
How to do ethnographic research: a simplified guide / Barbara Hall
(n.d. Center for Public Interest Anthropology, Univ of Pennsylvania. Retrieved from Internet Archive, 14 August 2011) A series of brief articles providing general, simplified information about doing ethnography.
Research methods in anthropology: qualitative and quantitative approaches / H Russell Bernard.
(5th ed. Altamira, 2011) The standard handbook for the topic. Offers individual chapters on specific techniques, e.g., participant observation, direct or indirect observation, text analysis, unstructured/semistructured/questionnaire interviewing, and more.
(5 vols. Altamira, 2010) Individual volumes cover ethnographic research design, specific techniques, analysis, and reporting through a mixed methods perspective.
Doing ethnography today: theories, methods, exercises / Elizabeth Campbell and Luke E Lassiter
(Wiley-Blackwell, 2015) A well-written exposition of ethnographic techniques with case studies and other aids for appreciating their application.
Ethnography: step-by-step / David M Fetterman
(4th ed. SAGE, 2020 and earlier editions).
SAGE handbook of fieldwork
(SAGE, 2006) Not really a "how to" handbook, but a discussion of the intertwining of specific techniques and specific fieldwork settings.
Guide to qualitative field research / Carol A Bailey
(print only : 3rd ed. SAGE, 2018.
ebook : 2nd ed. Pine Forge Press, 2007)
Handbook of methods in cultural anthropology / H Russell Bernard and Clarence C Gravlee
(2nd ed. Rowman & Littlefield, 2014)
More broad than Bernard's Research methods and more contemporary in the cultural domains it covers. Includes chapters on geospatical analysis, social network analysis, ethnography of online cultures, and a useful section on applying and presenting information.
Systematic fieldwork / Oswald Werner
(2 vols. SAGE, 1987)
Van Pelt stacks, Museum Library GN346 .W47 1987
Applied ethnography : guidelines for field research / Pertti Pelto
(Left Coast Press, 2013)
Print only: Museum Library GN397.5 .P45 2013
A great survey of recent developments in ethnographic techniques, with examples.
Interpretive description / Sally Thorne
(Left Coast Press, 2008)
Print only: Biomedical Library Q180.55.M4 T46 2008
Provides guidance in working through the difference between conjecture and fact in ethnographic analysis.
Chicago guide to collaborative ethnography / Luke E Lassiter
(Univ of Chicago Press, 2005)
Discusses the relationship between ethnographer and the study community.
(4 vols. SAGE, 2005)
Classic article reprints describing and illustrating the origins and definitions of fieldwork, the fieldwork experience, methods and methodology, ethics and politics in fieldwork, and analysis, outcomes, and reflections. The format can be difficult to use. See also:
• Approaches to fieldwork
(4 vols. SAGE, 2015).
Specific varieties of ethnography
Penn Libraries help for doing ethnography
Specific tasks in ethnography
Community oral history toolkit / Nancy MacKay et al.
(5 vols. Left Coast Press, 2013) Planning, managing, interviewing, processing, and analyzing interviews.
Participant observation / James P Spradley
(Holt Rinehart & Winston, 1980)
Print only. Many locations.
A good collection of article reprints, albeit difficult to use, is:
• Observation methods
(4 vols. SAGE, 2013).
Participatory visual and digital methods / Aline Gubrium and Krista Harper
(Left Coast Press, 2013)
Print only: Museum Library GN347 .G84 2013
Presents examples and practices in photovoice, film and video, GIS, and digital storytelling as ethnography. See also:
• Handbook of participatory video
/ Elisabeth-Jane Milne et al., eds. (Rowman & Littlefield, 2012)
Urban youth and photovoice : visual ethnography in action / Melvin Delgado
(Oxford Univ Press, 2015)
Describes informant-created photography as an ethnographic tool.
Doing visual research / Claudia Mitchell.
Print only: Van Pelt stacks HM500 .M57 2011 .
Presents methods for community-based visual data collection and analysis. Also covers community-made video.
SAGE handbook of visual research methods
(2nd ed. SAGE, 2020)
Surveys many different methods, including participatory video/photography, photoelicitation, child-produced drawings, photo diaries, repeat photography, etc. See also:
• Doing visual ethnography
/ Sarah Pink. (3rd ed. SAGE, 2013 and earlier eds.)